We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, great vibes”
Review of The Secret Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Secret Garden
Ranked #17 of 271 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Socially this place is great, excellent roof terrace where you can get wifi and I found the set up really easy to meet other travellers and hang out with them, breakfasts were fine, dinners nice, staff helpful. Travel agent in the building is useful, I found the bedrooms fine, and the other areas of the hostel are very lovely with plants everywhere. The bathrooms are a bit rubbish, with way too few and not particularly nice. Queues in the morning and they try and clean them in the busiest periods too and then send you to the even worse ones when doing so. Otherwise recommend this hostel.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
Thank Little_alice-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (414)
There are newer reviews for The Secret Garden
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 414 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2014

This hostel is more expensive than the average for Quito. Yes, the building is beautiful and yes, it has an awesome open terrace with an incredible view, and is super close to the historical downtown and the touristic areas. But everything, from the room rates to the breakfast (not included) to the laundry to the drinks and food is highly overpriced for Quito standards. It is also VERY noisy, we were in the 1st floor and if it wasnt the guests traffic during the day, was the security guard snoring at night, but it was impossible to have some peace at any time. I was also very cold during our staying, since the building has rooms and hallways and bathrooms that are OPEN (it gets chilly in Quito), and the hot water wasn't working all the time. Staff is friendly and quite helpful, but I think you can get more comfort for less money in this city.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tazend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Rooms fine, definitely not a party hostel. At 10 the security guard closes the roof bar and common areas, no drinks at all on Sunday.
Staff were helpful, overall a bit expensive but not bad...
A nice feel in the hostel and quite social for meeting people.
Taxis that linked with secret garden are more expensive than normal taxis.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Ray112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Really loved the aesthetics and vibe at this place! It's cramped but beautifully decorated apartment building with bright skylight pockets and a rooftop bar/restaurant that is amazing! Unique touches like plants everywhere, lots of personalized and thoughtful things like book exchanges, couch/chilling areas, etc. Loved the location close to old town too.

The main downfalls: The price (too high for what you get); the lack of privacy (our private room was lit all night by the bathroom and we could hear people doing their bathroom business); and the general dank/dark/dirty nature of the room.

Big pros and big cons. Try it for a night to see if it's your thing - the roof top is worth the visit!

Room Tip: Don't get the room beside the bathrooms!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kari G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Great view! Only a bit expensive compared to other hostels.. A beer costs 3 dollar, in most bars 1,5:)

And my lonely planet was stolen in this hostel! I told it the staff and they said literally yeah that happens.. I would expect more support!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasper V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed 5 nights. At all, it was very nice. The view is awesome, and location is very good and safe. But when we checked out, the charged us way too much. At the check in they said, 11$ so 55$ for 5 nights. Plus 5$ for dinner. At the end they charged us for dessert extra 3$ And the dorm was plus 12% tax. And when we asked them why they didn't told us, they didn't even said sorry. Was quit a shame.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merlinzauberer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We arrived very late at night (2:00 AM) and they were ready for us. Our room was good, the shower and bathroom were shared and clean. The rooftop restaurant was charming and the food was good. The location was fantastic!! There were lovely common areas throughout the hostel. They had recommended CarpeDM tours to us while we were booking online, as they have an office in the hostel. That recommendation turned out to be the best thing for our trip! (Search CarpeDM separately.)

Our only complaint was it was a bit noisy, but that had more to do with the construction of the facility - sounds seemed to echo - but not enough to give them a bad rating.

Overall, a nice, clean place. Nothing super fantastic, but good value.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PydaGilmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
1.7 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#9 of 111 in Quito
520 reviews
0.4 mi away
Minka Hostel
Minka Hostel
#4 of 271 in Quito
250 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Revolution
Hostel Revolution
#9 of 271 in Quito
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Huasi Lodge - Bed & Breakfast
2.1 mi away
BoutiQuito Design Hostel
1.4 mi away
Blue House
Blue House
#15 of 271 in Quito
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Secret Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Secret Garden

Address: Calle Antepara E 4-60 los Rios | Sector San Blas, Quito, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 271 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Price Range: $18 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Secret Garden Quito is a friendly Australian/Ecuadorian/French family run hostel conveniently located in a quiet, authentic cobble-stone street in central Quito. Our 'barrio', or neighbourhood, is one of the few remaining Colonial districts and even our building is protected by a United Nations World Heritage listing. With a big improvement in security in the Old Town in recent years, plus 24 hour police patrols, our neighbourhood now enjoys a level of safety and security equal to (or often better than!!) most international capital cities.But there's more!!Our beautifully restored colonial building features a rooftop terrace/restaurant/bar with breathtaking views of the historical Old Town. Feel free to browse our hostal book exchange, chat with our friendly Ecuadorian and foreign staff, check your email (free use of computer and free Wifi), or just relax listening to any of our wide selection of music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your The Secret Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Secret Garden Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing