We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Hostel for a few days in Quito” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Secret Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Secret Garden
Ranked #14 of 249 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect Hostel for a few days in Quito”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Aside from day trips to Cotopaxi, Pichincha, Otavalo or Old Town, Quito is not a city where I would spend too much time. But, If I ever go back I will absolutely stay at the secret garden. The hostel was social, enjoyable, clean, had good food and the VIEW IS AMAZING! The reception and restaraunt/bar is located on the 5th floor (narrow staircase, be careful) and has the most magnificent views of Quito, an aesthetically beautiful city. The prices are reasonable and staff is friendly enough. The Tour coordinator on the ground floor is really helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skiboy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    139
    90
    49
    29
See reviews for
17
142
101
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed three nights and I wish we could have stayed there longer. We had a private double, shared bathroom, at a very good price. They gave a sister hostel in Cotopaxi and I truly wish we had been able to visit it ($5 rides on Tuesdays). They arranged a tour to nearby villages or lakes every day and the travel agent downstairs could help you with Galapagos stuff. Omelette breakfast was $1.80, free water, tea, coffee each day, $5 dinners daily. A great view of the city and just outside of old town.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank deahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riobamba, Ecuador
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

I arrived from the airport quite late at midnight and the security guard out front let me in. The room was nice and clean. A little noisy but to be expected at a hostel. Wifi was fast. Rooftop breakfast was lovely. Very Reasonable. I had coffee, eggs and fruit for about $2. The view from the rooftop was what made the experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

Stayed in a private room with private bath, very well kept. Somewhat noisy but normal for most hostels. They have a very nice security guard out front that keeps your things safe and will even help you get a cab. Breakfast on the rooftop terrace is a great start to the day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

This was our first hostel in South America so it was a good start! We opted to stay in a private twin room which was nice and very clean. The views from the rooftop deck are spectacular and it's a great area to meet other travelers. Breakfast is also served up there in the morning for a reasonable price.

The location of the hostel itself is brilliant, the old town is only a short walk away. I'd definitely recommend the hostel for that reason alone. The Old Town is lovely to walk around during the day though a bit lacking in restaurants, but a taxi to the touristy area is cheap and the hostel will be able to help with it.

The staff in the hostel were really helpful and sorted us out with a taxi to take us the the Middle of the World (the real "sciencey" one - cheesy but worth it), as well as generally providing us with good advice.

The only problem I can think of is that the reception area on the 5th floor can be tough to get up to when you're struggling with altitude!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is a nice hostel, definitely above average, but the views from the rooftop deck are what make it. Stunning views of Quito by day and by night. Very clean, it is in the old part of Quito which is very nice, but short on decent restaurants etc. You might want to stay in the more touristy newer part if nightlife is your deal. It's only a few dollars away by cab though. Don't miss Secret Garden Cotapaxi, highlight of the trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fishbowl_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are nice and clean with plenty of space for the number of people. Lockers and storage space in the rooms.

The bar/reception area is on the 5th floor and is basically a big rooftop balcony with a really cool view over the city! Last orders by 10:30pm so not massively lively at night. Breakfast isn't included but the one I paid for was nice and not too expensive.

Tour operator was the most useful person we met in the whole of South America. He sorted a really cheap taxi to the equator for us and told him what stops to make for us (museum well worth visiting). He was also very helpful sorting our amazon trip.

Only slight downside of hostel is the shower wasn't great, and there are loads of stairs to keep going up and down.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
1.5 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#8 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
0.4 mi away
Minka Hostel
Minka Hostel
#2 of 249 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostel Revolution
Hostel Revolution
#9 of 249 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quito Backpacker Guest House
1.4 mi away
Blue House
Blue House
#13 of 249 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Secret Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Secret Garden

Property: The Secret Garden
Address: Calle Antepara E 4-60 los Rios | Sector San Blas, Quito, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 249 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Secret Garden Quito is a friendly Australian/Ecuadorian/French family run hostel conveniently located in a quiet, authentic cobble-stone street in central Quito. Our 'barrio', or neighbourhood, is one of the few remaining Colonial districts and even our building is protected by a United Nations World Heritage listing. With a big improvement in security in the Old Town in recent years, plus 24 hour police patrols, our neighbourhood now enjoys a level of safety and security equal to (or often better than!!) most international capital cities.But there's more!!Our beautifully restored colonial building features a rooftop terrace/restaurant/bar with breathtaking views of the historical Old Town. Feel free to browse our hostal book exchange, chat with our friendly Ecuadorian and foreign staff, check your email (free use of computer and free Wifi), or just relax listening to any of our wide selection of music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Secret Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Secret Garden Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing