We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buena Vista”
Review of The Secret Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Secret Garden
Ranked #17 of 272 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful old building situated in the even more beautiful old town part of Quito. Having stayed one night in the new town it's safe to say the old town is the place to go.

This hostel has won so many awards that it seemed the obvious best place to go and I did enjoy the 2 nights I spent here. That said I do feel it was overpriced for what you got.
The view from the top floor of the hostel (where inconveniently you'll also eventually find reception) is the best part of the hostel. You can buy meals and drinks to enjoy here if you want or just chill on the wifi. However the meals and drinks where too expensive for me. I also felt the staff could be a bit friendlier, the hot showers were pretty rubbish and no cooking facilities was frustrating.
I also think it would be so much better if rather than having to get the man at reception to come down 5 floors to open the bag storage room each time you wanted to get something, the security guard could open it. If he can be trusted to protect the hostel he should be trusted to open and lock the storage room. Also not having a key to lock your dorm with was very odd!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElJamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (414)
There are newer reviews for The Secret Garden
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 414 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

I only stayed one night here because I did not like it at all. I felt more like I was in a factory than a hostel.
Upon arriving I had to walk up like 5 flights of stairs to get to reception, this made no sense as there is plenty of room for reception at the entrance. It was breakfast time so the guy at reception was busy which I appreciate however his attitude was abrupt and unwelcoming. I heard another employee tell a 12 year old girl that she would have to decide if they were going to stay another night if her parents did not get back soon because they needed the room and were going to charge them for it if there bags weren't out of it in 10 minutes. I thought that very rude to make a child responsible for this. Just wait until her parents come back. Plus this conversation took place in a common area with other guests and everyone was made uncomfortable by it.
The dorm room was not in good condition and it was difficult to get to the top bunk. The bathrooms were not in a clean or good condition, and the hot water was minimal. Plus there are not enough bathrooms for the many families that stay there. Yes there were families there, including kids, so if that is not your thing then not for you.
It has a travel agency which they promote heavily. I went on a free tour of the city with them. It was not very good. They sell tours to Galapagos and other places but you can get cheaper elsewhere. Yes it has a rooftop terrace with a great view but it is not comfortable to sit there.
And to make things worse it is overpriced, I have changed hostels and am staying at a better location, with better amenities with better employees for $5+ cheaper a night. I would definitely not stay here if you are coming to Quito there are many better options.

Room Tip: find a good room in another hostel.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband & I had a private room which was very large & comfortable. There is a security guard at the entrance 24/7 who can also arrange a taxi for you so it was very safe & convenient. The rooftop terrace was wonderful to sit & enjoy a beer whilst overlooking the old town of Quito, and we enjoyed the meals for purchase. We found the staff to be very friendly & helpful also. Highly recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chazbangs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

This hostel is a great place for travellers. The roof top terrace is a super place to hang out and chat to fella travellers and the food is great. The travel agency in the hostel is superb and you can literally have secret garden as a great base whilst you bob here and there - jungle - Cotopaxi - Galapagos. The travel agency have some good deals. The rooms are fine and the laundry service very efficient. I really don't understand the other reviews but I certainly would recommend this place. I felt at home right away and got a great deal to Galapagos from here and there sister hostel is just beautiful

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moonbeam81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The rooms for 6 people are a real good price, but the food and drinks at the hostel are expensive. Supper is 5$ for a small plate of food, which is kind of pricey for Quito since right down the street you can get full meals (soup, drinks and main) for 2-3$. The drinks are expensive (3$ beers), the corner store at the top of the street sells the same beer for 0.90$....

Beautiful roof top view of the city.

Beds are comfortable and sheets are clean, but the lockers in rooms are very shabby and could easily be broken into. You cannot lock your door when out, which I really did not like, and a few people in our group did have some thefts while we stayed here (a camera and some money).

Overall, great location and comfortable rooms, but check out other options.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Audrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was the worst place i had seen in my 7 weeks of Ecuador travel. I simply had a look through the place and quickly exited. Rabbit warren comes to mind and the restaurant area at the top had some some very shady looking characters sitting there as well as many backpackers. Good meeting place though.
Great exercise climbing the steep stairs which is free.
This place is in contrast to their excellent other Secret Garden in Cotapaxi.
Shop around ...there are better places to be had.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gtirman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice place but its more suitable for couples or people travelling together as there isn't really any social areas only a restaurant on the rooftop . There is no kitchen which is really strange for a hostel , it's more of a cheaper hotel option. I didn't like that you couldn't lock your room either . there was a security guard but the hostel is so big I don't know how he knows who stays there. The location was great .

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly434434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
1.7 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#9 of 112 in Quito
520 reviews
0.4 mi away
Minka Hostel
Minka Hostel
#4 of 272 in Quito
250 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Revolution
Hostel Revolution
#8 of 272 in Quito
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Huasi Lodge - Bed & Breakfast
2.1 mi away
BoutiQuito Design Hostel
1.4 mi away
Blue House
Blue House
#16 of 272 in Quito
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Secret Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Secret Garden

Address: Calle Antepara E 4-60 los Rios | Sector San Blas, Quito, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 272 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Price Range: $10 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Secret Garden Quito is a friendly Australian/Ecuadorian/French family run hostel conveniently located in a quiet, authentic cobble-stone street in central Quito. Our 'barrio', or neighbourhood, is one of the few remaining Colonial districts and even our building is protected by a United Nations World Heritage listing. With a big improvement in security in the Old Town in recent years, plus 24 hour police patrols, our neighbourhood now enjoys a level of safety and security equal to (or often better than!!) most international capital cities.But there's more!!Our beautifully restored colonial building features a rooftop terrace/restaurant/bar with breathtaking views of the historical Old Town. Feel free to browse our hostal book exchange, chat with our friendly Ecuadorian and foreign staff, check your email (free use of computer and free Wifi), or just relax listening to any of our wide selection of music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your The Secret Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Secret Garden Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing