We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a place to go”
Review of The Secret Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Secret Garden
Ranked #17 of 272 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Went there with my mom. Florian was very helpful and friendly, like all the staff. We enjoy the breakfast and the terrace with a great view from the town. Meet a lot of nice people. Go there you will not regret it!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank driann4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (414)
There are newer reviews for The Secret Garden
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 414 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Great team running the place. it is clean and comfortable, the private rooms are good, we had b1 which shared a bathroom with one other room.
Food is great.
Staff super friendly and Florian always up for a chat.
There is a travel agency on the ground floot called CarpeDM who offer fantastic advice and trips.
Location is great and they have many suggestions on what to do.
Great chineese resto just outside too.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Secret Garden is located in the San Blas neighborhood of Quito. You're a short walk from all the wonderful destinations in old city. Also, they post trusted taxi drivers outside the door so you're always guaranteed a safe & fair cab ride. We booked here last minute. They were happy to store our luggage (even coming back from an overnight bus ride awaiting a flight!) & very helpful. The rooftop restaurant has fantastic views.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maiga_Milbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Key factors they need to improve urgently:
- Internet connection did not work in all levels of the building.
- The amazing terrace was restricted til 11pm. What a shame as it is a great place to hang out.
- One bathroom per floor is not enough and they need to be clean more often.
- The travel agency with just one staff member is not enough. Never got a chance to book a tour.

Things that worked well:
- Laudry service was good.
- Security is good with a guard 24 hours
- Location and terrace with the view was great.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MauricioMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Yeah was really great place with spectacular view. & Florian the owner / manager was always super helpful & informative about the area, what to do, where & etc. overall value were great too. & security excellent!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunchasersphotograph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here on two separate nights a week apart, before and after a trip to Galapagos. Florian, the manager (?) is very knowledgeable and competent. The rooftop terrace is lovely and a nice place to meet people. I wish I had booked all of my trips (including Galapagos) thru the travel agency on the ground floor. It is NOT luxurious by any means, but for ten bucks/night, what do you expect??? I think the electric showers are a bit annoying (cold and powerful or a hot trickle) as is the running up and down the stairs for everything...but again, it's not a luxury accommodation! Breakfast and dinner were (IMO) reasonably priced, tasty, and convenient. Oh, also...I left something there my first night and emailed them about it...it was waiting for me when I returned. Wi-fi needs major improvement...only worked 50% of the time.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

This hostel has a great atmosphere, located in old town Quito with views over the city from the rooftop deck. Staff were very friendly and accommodating, great adventure/day trip booking office on sight called Carpe Diem with good value trips.. Dorm rooms were ok, comfortable beds, showers toilet facilities were a little poor in some of the rooms. Great food & atmosphere. A good experience..

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinchpax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
1.7 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#9 of 112 in Quito
520 reviews
0.4 mi away
Minka Hostel
Minka Hostel
#4 of 272 in Quito
250 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Revolution
Hostel Revolution
#9 of 272 in Quito
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Huasi Lodge - Bed & Breakfast
2.1 mi away
BoutiQuito Design Hostel
1.4 mi away
Blue House
Blue House
#16 of 272 in Quito
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Secret Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Secret Garden

Address: Calle Antepara E 4-60 los Rios | Sector San Blas, Quito, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 272 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Price Range: $11 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Secret Garden Quito is a friendly Australian/Ecuadorian/French family run hostel conveniently located in a quiet, authentic cobble-stone street in central Quito. Our 'barrio', or neighbourhood, is one of the few remaining Colonial districts and even our building is protected by a United Nations World Heritage listing. With a big improvement in security in the Old Town in recent years, plus 24 hour police patrols, our neighbourhood now enjoys a level of safety and security equal to (or often better than!!) most international capital cities.But there's more!!Our beautifully restored colonial building features a rooftop terrace/restaurant/bar with breathtaking views of the historical Old Town. Feel free to browse our hostal book exchange, chat with our friendly Ecuadorian and foreign staff, check your email (free use of computer and free Wifi), or just relax listening to any of our wide selection of music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your The Secret Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Secret Garden Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing