We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Apartment!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Quito, Pichincha Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Jeann57_1...
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic Apartment!”
Reviewed July 18, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Casa de Pilar was an oasis of comfort for our right day trip to Quito. Clean, comfortable beds and lovely decor with all the modern kitchen conveniences. The location is right in between old and new town and walking distance to Plaza Foch. Pilar is easy to communicate with through email and text which increased our comfort level. I recommend renting from Pilar

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 7, 2017
I'm so glad you had a fantastic time in Quito and you enjoy the Apartment
Thanks
Pilar
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy B
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great apartment, large and comfy in a great location”
Reviewed January 29, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
3
people found this review helpful

The apartment is a haven in the city and away from all the action. It was lovely to have all the modern conveniences, and be able to cook in when we wanted to, and have a modern washer dryer. We were planning to stay for 1 month and expanded to 2 months, and did not want to leave.
Quito is a big city with a lot to offer, and Casa de Pillar is a great place to be based, better for Spanish speakers. Don't expect much English, although there is a hotel around the corner 'Hotel Plaza,' where they speak English and can plan tours for you. We did all of our own planning (I learned Spanish while in Quito, at a school the owner recommended).
Casa de Pilar is close to many attractions and you can walk most places. The cabs are plentiful in the area, but make sure you take a safe one that says 'Seguro' and has a green box with white numbers. There are 3 major bus lines near the apartment that run north south and cost $.25 pp, but watch out for pick pockets.
When there was an issue with the cleanliness of the apartment when we arrived (the cleaning person did not do a good job), this was addressed and the apartment was thoroughly cleaned for us.
The apartment is a couple blocks from main streets on all sides, so it is not as busy in the immediate area as it is 2 blocks away. There is little traffic on the streets around the apartment. However, you are in the city and will still have city noises, in the morning, during the day and at night until midnight. There are guards 24/7 for the building, and they are helpful, but Spanish speaking only; the building is gated; the elevator keyed, so we felt very safe in this big capital city.
While we never watched television, we did use the Netflix which is nice when you want to relax inside at night.
The master bedroom has a king size bed, and an office attached. the office was great for me, as I worked part time and remotely during our trip.
The apartment is close to the supermarket; we walked regularly, and there is small tienda next door sells 5 & 6 gallon jugs of drinking water, so you don't have to go all the way to the market for them.
All in all, it was a great experience!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, Modern comforts, safety and security, responsiveness of owner
Liked least: There are no English speakers on site, so until I learned Spanish communication was difficult at the building
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 11, 2016
Im glad you had a great experience, please come back and visit us again.
thanks
Pilar
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BikeArlin...
Washington DC
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Saved our vacation in Quito”
Reviewed September 6, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

This review is going to be a little biased, because Casa de Pilar saved our trip. We had 9 days in Quito, and we started out the first 2 nights in another location in the Old City. That place was charming and nice enough, well located near historic sights, but way too noisy (stupid dogs, traffic, overlooking a park with drumming/music -- no joke -- performances throughout the day and into night) and the bed was not comfortable. We were hardly getting any sleep. To save my marriage and vacation, I found Casa de Pilar online and, thanks to quick response from Pilar, canceled previous unit and moved to Casa the same day.

Wow, what an oasis. Very nice, updated apartment with separate bedrooms. Much quieter (but still noisy sometimes, you can't escape noise in Quito, it seems), super beds, very comfortable sofa, lots of room, 3! bathrooms, and Netflix streaming video which pleased my 11 year old to no end. We all got a little sick for a few days, but being able to hang out at Casa de Pilar made it very bearable, even comfortable. Close to stores, banks, nice park, terrific crafts market, etc. Seriously, Casa de Pilar, saved our vacation. More expensive than other places, but worth every penny to us. Five stars.

Only nit was that caretaker did not leave keys as instructed when we arrived, so had to contact him and get him to come back. We also had some initial TV issues and he was not responsive to that either. However, landlord herself contacted us and we worked it out just fine.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very nice modern, large apartment
Liked least: Caretaker was not responsive sometimes
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 17, 2015
I'm so glad you enjoy it the apartment.
You are right, Quito is a very noisy and overwhelming city. One of the reason I purchase this apartment is the location, safe and quiet.
Thanks
Pilar
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
206mola
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A home away from home!”
Reviewed June 21, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The apartment is new and beautifully decorated.It has all the comforts of home. The location is perfect, close to shopping and dinning in the Mariscal district. Easy access to a taxi that can get you to the Centro Historico within 15 minutes.

Pilar was very attentive to our needs and kept in contact with us to make sure that all was well during our stay. The security guard at the main entrance was very friendly and helpful with any questions we had about Quito. Another plus is that there is a little store next to the apartment where we could by water,soda,beer and snacks. A large super market is within a walking distance of 10 blocks.

I would highly recommend Casa de Pilar to anyone looking for a place to stay while in Quito!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill5001
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peace and quiet in Quito”
Reviewed April 7, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This third floor apartment is located near Mariscal but separate,convenient but quieter. It's 2 bedrooms with 2 and1/2 baths are perfectly suited to the non South American traveler seeking refuge for their adventure. Let me count the ways; appliances and cooking ware you will recognize;beds you will fit into;toilets that flush toilet paper;hot water when you turn it on;Wi Fi that works;If you have stayed outside of modern hotels in SA, you know what I mean,if not, stay here and remain blissfully ignorant.
One word, outside of tourist hotels it is very uncommon to have central air in Quito. This apartment is like the rest of Quito no central heating or A/C. Most of the time Quito's climate makes these things unnecessary.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 12, 2015
Thank you, Im glad you enjoy it the apartment.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Therese P
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great location and well maintained”
Reviewed October 21, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Great location in the City and convenient to get around. Gated building which I appreciate. Beautiful decor and well maintained-definitely stay here!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 12, 2015
Thank you, I take pride of my apartment, I want you to feel at home with everything you may need.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soniavald...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stay in this apartment in April, we really enjoy our stay great location close to everything, super spacious and clean, this apartment will be my first choice

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 12, 2015
Thank you , Im glad you enjoy it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing