We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A phenomenal stay in Quito!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
Ranked #1 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A phenomenal stay in Quito!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Casa de Hacienda for a total of 4 nights, and still couldn't get enough. We originally were planning to stay only for one night before departing for Napo Wildlife Center, but had such a great experience that first night that we switched our travel plans to stay for longer after our return.

The hacienda is located in the outskirts of Quito near the new airport, but in no way should be thought of as an "airport hotel". The grounds are lush and beautifully landscaped and the hacienda itself is a gorgeous Spanish-style ranch house that was designed by the owners (who are both architects). We had the opportunity to stay in 3 different rooms throughout our stay, and while each one had its own character, all were incredibly spacious and elegantly decorated.

As beautiful as the setting was, our experience was made because of the exceptional service provided by the hosts. Diego and family went above and beyond in making us feel welcome and comfortable during our stay. The were kind enough to help us with airport transfers (always prompt and dependable), and even went to the length of helping us launder our clothing (which after a week in the jungle and the Galapagos was sorely needed!). Within a few hours of arrival, we felt like part of the family, and were greeted on each of our subsequent arrivals with a big hug (and a snuggle from their adorable french bulldog Farras).

We were treated each morning to delicious breakfast that was made to order and included amazingly fresh fruit. We ended up eating many of our lunches and dinners at the hacienda as well, and the food was solid and a great value. They also had wine on hand for purchase, and we became big fans of one of their mini-bottles of Chilean merlot (best enjoyed sitting near the large fireplace in the dining area).

All in all, our stay was phenomenal and could not have been any better. The only recommendation we could make for future travelers (as mentioned in other reviews) is that the hacienda is located "off-the-beaten-track", so if you plan on taking a taxi, make sure you bring a copy of the map from their website to show the driver, since s/he will likely not know where the hacienda is.

Thanks again for a wonderful stay; we are already planning our return!

-Kaylan & Andy, NYC

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaylan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    73
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
167
275
30
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
88 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stayed only one night at this Hotel, as we were on our way to the Galapagos. What a treat! Our room was luxurious - elegant furniture, wonderful linens, comfy bed and impressive bathroom. I would have expected to pay more to stay at this caliber of hotel. We had dinner in their restaurant (the location is down a dirt/gravel road with no other restaurants nearby). The food was simple and well-prepared. The menu is limited, but covers the main food groups: fowl, fish & beef. Breakfast was lovely, as well. As all others wrote, the grounds were fantastic and still a work in progress, as it was purchased less than a year ago by the current owner. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: I believe all rooms are lovely, and with the location off the beaten path, it's very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riffilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atuntaqui, Ecuador
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

We arrived in the evening and had a driver waiting for us. We needed to have an additional taxi due to the size of the luggage we had so our driver called a friend and we were on our way in short order. It was a short drive from the airport, maybe about 15-20 minutes. We were met on arrival at the Hacienda and promptly unloaded and in our room. The bed was luxurious and the room very large. There was a sitting area at one end with comfortable leather seating looking out into the courtyard. The shower was very large, all tiled with double glass doors leading in. In the morning we got to see the full splendor of the place. The grounds were beautiful with all kinds of flowers, birds, etc. We had a lovely breakfast consisting of fresh fruit, eggs, toast, coffee, and juice. Our friends arrived to pick us up at 9AM so we didn't have time to explore more of the grounds, but they were so impressed with the beauty and quality of the accommodations there they they took business cards to recommend it to friends flying into Quito.We will not hesitate to stay there again or to recommend it to others. They were very helpful, friendly and eager to please and we couldn't be more satisfied.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debrajdahlonegaGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

We found this place on the internet, we had stayed at an okay place last year but it had no vacancies this year. So being adventurous we thought we would try it. Using the google map and satellite view it was not too hard to find. We had called Diego from the airport as we were late arriving due to a car rental problem. He said you can't miss the massive wooden gates and to ring the bell when we arrived. He was right, the gates are massive and even though it was 1:30 in the morning Diego was the perfect host, getting us wine glasses and a much needed beer. The next morning we had a delicious breakfast with excellent service. After 15 hours of travelling we like to chill the first day and get acclimatized. This is the perfect place to do that. There are sunny patios to sit on, the grounds are beautiful and you can hike down the ravine which has wonderful views. We had a nice light lunch and the supper was excellent value for the money. We had lots of questions and Diego and his father Daniel gave us names of local restaurants, drew us maps and helped sort out our car rental problem. At meals they explained the different vegetables and fruits we were eating bringing the whole ones out of the kitchen so we would know what to look for in the stores. Their local knowledge and pride in their hotel and country was very evident. We left after 2 nights and 5 days later we were back for another couple of nights, why find another place when you already know where paradise is.

Room Tip: We travelled with an elderly person and the first night we stayed in a room where the bathroom was d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kimberly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

If you want to be in the middle of Quito then this place is not for you. However, if you want to be immersed in nature, walks and history, all over-looking Quito within a 10minute drive from and to the airport then this is for you.

The staff are wonderful, extremely helpful with all requests. They helped sort out day trips for us and we managed to go to the Lattitude 0.0.0 park, the monument above the town and the old town and churches all in one day. We hired a taxi for the day and had a great time. The taxi driver is a friend of the owners and very trust worthy and helpful, we felt we really had a full day of sight-seeing and interesting experiences, all thanks to the two brothers that run the hotel.

If we are ever in Quito again we will definitely stay here. There is history at your fingertips - in the grounds they discovered under-ground tunnels built centuries ago that you can go on a tour of (for free) along with a tour of the grounds. The scenery is stunning and the rooms are big and spacious as well as being extremely comfortable and well appointed. No need for a tv - too much to do and see!

Breakfast was also excellent - included in the v.reasonable price and delicious :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Britishtraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

I wanted to spend my first night in equador near the airport since many flights arrive around midnight.I randomly picked the La Jienita and was so glad i did.Like others have said I was welcomed like a family member.the property was very nice,more like a family estate than a hotel.I asked the owners if they could arrange a trip to quito and they hooked me up with a great taxi driver who took me to the botanical gardens,and afterwords we both had lunch at the amazing four story mall in Pifo.Staying near the airport I was afraid there would be too much noise but I only heard a few planes and it was no issue.The big cites in Equador are bustling and busy and start really early so they can be noisy.Most of my trip was in Otavalo and everyone owns a dog and they all start barking before six,but this was not an issue at the Hacienda.I will stay there again when I return,which I surely will.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 42rockoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

My wife and I just wanted to find a decent place to stay near the new airport in Quito. (If you stay at the modern U.S. chain hotels downtown, you'll have a 45-60 minute cab ride to get to the airport). What we found was much more than that. The Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita was so nice, it's worth planning to spend a day or so there as part of your vacation.

As the other reviews indicate, the staff is all super-friendly, and you feel like you are spending time at the home of a friend or relative. When we were there, we found that the guests were all very out-going as well. The grounds and the views are beautiful, the rooms are large, clean and feel both rustic and modern at the same time. We had lunch, dinner and breakfast while we were there, and the food was delicious at every meal.

I mentioned that the other guests were outgoing. There are a lot of common spaces at the Hacienda where guests hang out. There is a lovely fireplace with couches around it, an area like a living room with couches around a big screen TV (with DirecTV and a lot of English channels), a pool table, a library area where people read and surf the web, a nice patio, etc. Something about the setting makes people more interested in talking to each other rather than spending most of their time in their rooms the way people often do at hotels.

It's worth noting that the rooms do not have TV, and the wifi can't be accessed from your room. I'm a bit of a junkie when it comes to TV and internet, so I thought that would bother me, but it didn't. I enjoyed hanging out in the common areas.

I will reiterate a comment I've seen noted in other reviews: This place is hard to find. We drove by the turnoff multiple times. I think they should make the directions on their website much more explicit, and they should give landmarks. There is a side street near a Primax gas station that is very easy to miss if you don't know where to look. You need to turn on that. Even when we found that road, it was still confusing to know how far to go before you would find the Hacienda. More prominent signs would help.

I'll save my final comment for Francois, the little French bulldog who belongs to Diego, the owner's son. Francois is adorable, and we fell in love with him. He loves people, and we enjoyed petting him and just watching him roam around like the king of the castle. In keeping with the theme that you feel like you're at home at Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita, Francois feels like the pet you had to leave behind when you left for vacation. I almost want to go back just to see him again.

We were glad we stayed here, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KALFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
10.1 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
11.5 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#2 of 114 in Quito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#8 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
10.5 mi away
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
9.9 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#7 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita

Property: Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
Address: Barrio Andrango Via Pifo, Quito 170175, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita is located 15 minutes from the airport of Quito. We offer personalized bilingual service, luxurious and comfortable rooms surrounded with nature, wifi internet in all rooms and social areas, on site Restaurant with organic meals & vegetarian dishes, shuttle service to the airport, tours, and family atmosphere. We also have a private botanical reserve for birdwatching and hiking. Come and enjoy a great stay for your trip in Ecuador. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing