We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chic new hotel in old town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Casa Gardenia
Ranked #5 of 228 Quito B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Chic new hotel in old town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Pros:
-Very chic room. loved the size and extremely comfortable bed.
-awesome water pressure in shower
-decent breakfast
-neat lounges with great city views
-friendly and helpful desk staff
-near plaza
Cons:
Area at night didn't feel safe to walk as female. Walked back alone from plaza and streets deserted except for males. Only take taxi back at dark.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Espressopillows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miguel e, Propietario at Hotel Casa Gardenia, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por sus importantes comentarios.
Con respecto al final de su comentario, consideramos que el Centro Histórico de Quito ha mejorado mucho en cuanto a seguridad y si bien las calles son un poco desoladas en la noche, son bastante seguras.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    72
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
33
146
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

If you're looking at places to stay in Quito, you probably already know that this is the coolest city in Latin America, if not the world. (Brooklyn, my home town, is a close second). The reasons it's the only place I want to travel when I think of traveling are endless. The unpretentious, genuine sophistication of the people. The diversity of cultures. The physical beauty of the landscape. The excitement of its political centrality and significance on many global issues. The architecture, design, food, music, etc etc etc.

And at the top of my list, because in some weird alignment of the stars, this secret little gem of a hotel which seems to encompass or at least touch on every aspect of the Quito experience. Go there; you'll get it immediately. And try to stay a little longer than you intend, so you make time to talk to Andres and REALLY get it. And then come back, as I intend to do this December. (Get ready for us, Andres).

I know this was a fairly general review. And boy, could I be specific about what makes this place so great. But if you really need that much convincing, you probably shouldn't come here; maybe you should just stay home. If you do go, you'll find your own personal reasons for loving this place - city and hotel. You won't need mine. And that's the best compliment I can give this place. It's personal and special.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonikaNorwid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miguel e, Propietario at Hotel Casa Gardenia, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Google Translation
Querida Monica,

Estamos muy contentos de que le haya gustado mucho nuestro país y siempre estaremos preparados para recibirlos con los brazos abiertos cuando deseen visitarnos. Les esperamos en Diciembre..!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We only stayed one night at this new hotel and wish we had known about it earlier when we planned out trip. Very nicely designed boutique hotel with a great view of the city. Good location too but room does vibrate slightly with passing traffic. The host Andres was very helpful and was up at 4.30 am to see us off. Would stay there again if we return to Quito.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miguel e, Gerente at Hotel Casa Gardenia, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Google Translation
Estimada Michelle, nos complace que les haya gustado el hotel y agradecemos sus amables comentarios, estamos siempre trabajando en mejorar la calidad de nuestro servicio y el confort de nuestras instalaciones. Con respecto a su comentario de la leve vibración, esto se da debido a la antigüedad de la construcción. En un futuro cercano el tráfico vehicular será restringido por la calle del hotel y la ciudad contará con un metro subterráneo.
Nos encantaría tenerlos nuevamente como huéspedes en el Hotel Casa Gardenia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed in Casa Gardenia several times between trips in and out of Quito. The hotel actually felt more like a second home, thanks to its charming and attentive owner! The rooms at the top have a fantastic view of Quito's old town, perfect to watch a sunrise or a sunset. Inside the hotel is full of character and charm, managing to combine the old and the modern.

Breakfast was served even at 5:30 am to accommodate our early departure. Overall, a gem to relax in the old town!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irinichka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miguel e, Gerente at Hotel Casa Gardenia, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Google Translation
Estimados Irina y Tom,
Estamos muy contentos de haber contribuido para que su estancia en Quito haya sido placentera, nos encanta que se hayan sentido como en casa y esperamos poder servirlos nuevamente en el futuro. Apreciamos enormemente sus amables comentarios.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
180 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

If you´re looking for a boutique hotel in Quito, look no further. The Hotel Casa Gardenia is an absolute gem.

Perfectly located - in the historic center, just a few blocks from the main square - this nine-room hotel is sleek and contemporary while respecting the original architecture of the area. The views from the hotel´s spacious living-room-style lounges - on several levels - are remarkable. The guest rooms are comfortable, clean, and well appointed - great beds, sheets, towels, toiletries, wifi - and there´s plenty of space to move around. Of note - if you´re staying in Quito on your return from the Galapagos, you will be pleased to find the water pressure tremendous, and the hot water in abundance.

If you really want a special treat - opt for one of the top-floor premium rooms. You´ll see.

The vibe here is easy and chic, and the service is friendly and attentive. English is widely spoken among the staff, and if you get a chance to speak to the owner, his concern for your well-being and positive guest experience is immediately apparent.

Hotel Casa Gardenia is the kind of place that makes one feel relaxed and at home. So much so, you might consider missing your flight out of town in order to spend a few more days at this particularly delightful haven.

Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miguel e, Propietario at Hotel Casa Gardenia, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear John
It is so kind from you such nice comments about Hotel Casa Gardenia.
It makes us very happy to let you have a nice stay in Quito and the Hotel.
We allready fix those Little but important details to improve
Hope to have you back some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

This hotel is like home away from home! I can only say good things. The proprietor is friendly, knowledgeable and obviously cares that his guests have a good experience. He and his assistant speak excellent English, so it is great if your Spanish is not yet up to speed! Everyone is friendly. The modern facilities are comfortable and stylish. All in all, a great place to stay in the older section of Quito. The hotel IS open 24 hours per day, so if you arrive late in the night like we did, you do not need to worry about getting in.

Room Tip: All rooms seem nice. if you want a larger room ask for one of the rooms upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miguel e, Propietario at Hotel Casa Gardenia, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Char $ Dan
It is so nice to know that you felt confortable and at home in Hotel Casa Gardenia.
We wish you the best in your travel arround South America.
You know we will be allways happy to assist you as a trudly friends
Thank you so much for your nice comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

The host of the hotel is very nice and likes to chat, he is very funny. The trips he sended me on where very cultural and rich in expirence, the thing I liked the most is the people there that were of a high class.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juanjoespinosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#8 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
1.6 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
0.5 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#2 of 114 in Quito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Gardenia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Gardenia

Property: Hotel Casa Gardenia
Address: Benalcazar n9-42 and Oriente, Quito 00000, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 228 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa Gardenia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa Gardenia is a Boutique Style B&B very well ubicated in the Historic Center of QuitoIt is a different Hotel concept, combining the old style (a 1700 colonial house) with modern concepts of architecture and decorationWe offer e very personalized service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Casa Gardenia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing