We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT ECUADORIAN COFFEE - FANTASTIC ESPRESSO!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Coffee Academy

The Coffee Academy
Ranked #44 of 55 Coffee & Tea in Quito
Price range: $1 - $5
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating
Description: We are a specialized company for Barista Training to coffee shops, restaurants, hotels, etc.. and We have our own Coffee Shop.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GREAT ECUADORIAN COFFEE - FANTASTIC ESPRESSO!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

I stumbled across this coffee shop, only a couple of blocks from the foche...and WOW! The coffee is 100 times better, so much love and care taken into making every espresso, ristretto, cappucino, latte etc.

Andres really knows what hes talking about, from several visits I have learnt more about coffee than I could imagine.

Its not just a cup of coffee its an education!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hdog12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    2
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
86 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“This place knows coffee.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

When we first traveled to Ecuador I couldn't wait for some of the best, and most fresh coffee in the world. Unfortunately this was not the case at many shops. I take pride in coffee and have been a barista and a few upscale restaurants, so naturally when I order an espresso or restretto, I expect at least a little quality. Well a friend of mine told us about The Coffee Academy and how great it was. Figuring I had nothing to lose I tried it. This place is BY FAR the best place to get a cup of coffee in Quito, believe me on this. The owner's name is Andres and he is the man. The first time I walk in I chat with him about coffee and tell him I was a barista at some point. Now the cool part about The Coffee Academy is the name actually means something, Andres teaches people the fine art of barista training, and is very passionate and intelligent about the process. So if you're in Quito and want a great latte, cappuccino, or espresso GO here, you will thank Andres. If you're interested in classes inquire about them!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
138 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good coffee, nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

The title says it all: good coffee in a nice place. They have an Italian machine which makes good coffees. Lots of choice and there are snacks to go with it like brownies and apfelstrudel. Staff is friendly and speaks English

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank flipflopfiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trabuco Canyon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

The owner and his daughter were absolutely charming, and funny. The coffee was strong, which works for many people. The pastries could you some work. The building is fantastic - colorful and warm.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Arana3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A coffee lover's heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Drawn in by the sign that said "Barista training" I went in to expect to find a decent cup of coffee... I actually walked into a living room filled with people who are absolutely crazy about coffee. You get immersed in the world of coffee professionals who are more than glad to share their passion. Needless to say the coffee is delicious ;)
I ended up going for a training which is more than worth-wile!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoffrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coffee Academy also viewed

Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to The Coffee Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing