We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best we've stayed at in Ecuador”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hosteria San Carlos Tababela
Ranked #41 of 263 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Orlando
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best we've stayed at in Ecuador”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

This is definitely a gem and we were wonderfully surprised at the cuteness of the entire facility. It is very well kept and rivals some hotels we stayed at on the coast. The rooms were very clean and the bed was very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and is a great layover stop over for the new airport instead of trying to transport to and from downtown Quito. The only negative was the water pressure was quite low, but workable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DogBreath63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    59
    20
    7
    15
See reviews for
29
54
27
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Logan, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

If you're looking to be pampered and for a lot of amenities, you'd better keep looking. However, this hotel worked perfectly for what I needed - a cheap place to stay overnight after arriving very late from the US before starting my travels through the country. It's very close to the new airport and transportation to/from the airport was very reasonably priced ($5 each way) -- try getting a taxi anywhere else for even close to that!

The grounds are nice and the hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood which is nice, in a gated and enclosed grounds. The rooms are very basic but on-par with other budget hotels throughout most of Latin America. You have your own small bathroom with hot water (this isn't a guarantee in many places throughout the warmer portions of Latin America) and everything was clean and orderly. In my estimation, the hotel is a great place to rest overnight but is not, in itself, a destination. The rooms are very basic (not quite Spartan, though, as another reviewer said) but perfectly fine for overnight and the price was definitely a plus. I paid $35 for the room for my 1-night stay which was a deal compared to other options.

Overall I recommend this as a good place to stay that is close to the airport when you are between trips or coming in late or leaving early for the airport.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ManiacCoder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Region Metropolitana, Chile
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Basically sums it up. Great service and clean and pretty. Shurttle to airport $5 pp. Good for layover but to stay here the night before your flight can be tricky. To get here from Quito cost us $30 for a cab (from Quitumbe bus terminal in middle of Quito). I believe there may be city busses to tababela, where it is located, but it is a bit outside the town (old hacienda) and thus would involve a walk. Also it was after 7pm when we arrived to bus terminal and thus the city bus wasn't even an option. Had a good stay once we got there but unless you have a red eye flight I'd suggest just staying in Quito and get the shuttle day of. That said this is the closest hotel to airport and value is good if the situation is right.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Only a few minutes from the new airport this hacienda style hostel is convenient for a night of sleep between two flights, but nothing more. Rooms are clean but basic. Airport pickup service worked fairly smoothly, but overall staff was pretty unwelcoming and treated us not like welcome guests but rather liking walking wallets. Pickup service for example is 5$ per person, not per pickup, which is really steep if you consider that its only a few minutes from the airport. Worst thing was the two drivers of the pickup service showing off bikini photos of a guest that they had snatched the day before when she was lying by the pool...

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thepilsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Very close to the new Quito airport. Stayed 1 night each way to Galapagos. Basic room, clean, comfortable beds and hot water. Good hospitality. Gave us sandwiches even though we reached past 10 pm at night. They arranged transportation to and from airport and were prompt and reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

This is a very convenient place to stay if you are flying out of the airport early in the morning or late at night. The shuttle service to the airport is excellent and quick. The beds are very comfortable, the grounds are very nice, and the neighbourhood is pleasant and quiet. one of the best sleeps we had while in Ecuador.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tclwtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We needed a place to stay overnight close to the airport. After arriving in Mariscal Sucre at 7:35 and needing to fly out again at 8 AM, amenities were unimportant. I made the reservation on line and had email confirmation. The room was very small but the grounds are very pretty. We we're picked up at the airport and taken back the next morning. Total cost for room and transport was $60. If you are on a budget and only need a short stay, you can't beat this.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quito
0.6 mi away
San Jose de Puembo - Quito Airport, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
1.9 mi away
Hosteria Rosa Blanca
Hosteria Rosa Blanca
#2 of 6 in Puembo
14 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hosteria Airport Garden
Hosteria Airport Garden
#3 of 14 in Tababela
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Casa Yaruqui
Casa Yaruqui
#2 of 14 in Tababela
90 reviews
4.6 mi away
Quinta La Constanza
Quinta La Constanza
#1 of 4 in Tababela
23 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Tababela Resort
Hotel Tababela Resort
#102 of 263 in Quito
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria San Carlos Tababela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria San Carlos Tababela

Property: Hosteria San Carlos Tababela
Address: Justo Cuello y Vicente Maldonado, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 263 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hosteria San Carlos Tababela 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a hotel that is located just five minutes from the new airport in Quito, we have very comfortable and cozy bedrooms into a land of peace and tranquility in the midst of nature and the environment, we have a pool and green spaces so you can enjoy stay in Tababela , we opened our doors while the new Quito airport we will be waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hosteria San Carlos Tababela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing