We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ecuador adventure equals Quito's Carpe DM!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of CarpeDM Adventures - Day Tours

CarpeDM Adventures - Day Tours
Ranked #1 of 75 Outdoor Activities in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: New to the CarpeDM family in 2015 - Caiman Eco-lodge and Casa CarpeDM. Founded in 2007, we pride ourselves in providing great value in our programs ranging from: Galapagos Cruises & Island hopping, Amazon, daytours, climbing, biking, trekking, community projects and more. Our 3/3/3 program also ensures your time has a lasting impact. Located in the Heart of Historical Quito our passion for Adventure & Ecuador can found minutes away from Plaza San Blas. Our team looks forward to sharing the best of Ecuador with you!
Cape Town South Africa
1 review
“Ecuador adventure equals Quito's Carpe DM!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Wow! We've just returned from one of the best adventure travel experiences of our lives. Paul, Dorian and Gabby at Carpe DM are mature, competent, informed and fun(!) trip advisors that will help you see amazing Ecuador at whatever price and time point you require. We spent five days in the Amazon with amazing guides and fellow travellers - all thanks to these attentive and capable people. They've dedicated their lives to seeing that you experience amazing Ecuador on your own terms. Don't pass up this golden travel opportunity!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carpedm a, The CarpeDM Crew at CarpeDM Adventures - Day Tours, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Eric,

Happy to hear you and Lynn enjoyed your time in the Ecuador! Living in South Africa must present so much opportunity to see wildlife that we're delighted you enjoyed your time in the Amazon. Can't thank-you enough for all your great feedback, which I've passed on the lodge as well. Your idea of making CarpeDM T's are still top of mind, so send us your details so we can ship you one :)

Warmest Regards to you and Lynn,
The CarpeDM Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    9
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago IL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“so fun, well organized, informative guides, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

This tour company is great. We did 3 tours with them while in Quito. The guides are very interesting, fun, and speak very good english. The drivers are awesome too! It's very well organized and everything is run smoothly (this is rare in ecuador.....we ran into problems with other companies). The restaurants picked by the tour were excellent - the food was so good! We went to Mindo, Otavalo, and Cotopaxi. I got really bad altitude sickness at Cotopaxi and both our guide and the driver were so kind and patient. I still had a great time even though I could barely walk and was upset at not being able to reach the glacier.
I think it's pretty reasonably priced......if it's more expensive than other companies i think it's worth paying a bit more for the awesome guides and great food.

If you go to Cotopaxi, bring your passport - you can get a stamp in your passport there!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank IG11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carpedm a, The CarpeDM Crew at CarpeDM Adventures - Day Tours, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Sandy & Kelly,

It's always a pleasure to have a mother and daughter join us for adventure while in Ecuador. We're glad you had fun with us and challenged your limits and came away with a positive experiences. We hope the rest of your travels were just as fun and delighted you decided to share your time in Ecuador with us :)

Warmest Regards,
The CarpeDM Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
1 review
“My most memorable experience in Ecuador!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

My friend and I joined a group of 5 other travellers to visit Cotopaxi in August of 2013 and it was unreal! It took us about 3hrs to climb up to the glacier, going slowly because of the high elevation. It got farily cold when we took breaks (there was a little bit of freezing rain). The views and the experience were 100% worth it.
Our guide was Fernando and he was absolutely fantastic! He was very knowledgeable and kind, and our best interest was his priority. We had so much fun on our tour with CarpeDM and would recommend it to anyone with a sense of adventure.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BritShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carpedm a, The CarpeDM Crew at CarpeDM Adventures - Day Tours, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Brittany,

Great to hear we were able to make your time in Ecuador a special one. The trip up to the glacier of Cotopaxi isn't an easy one to say the least, even with good weather it can be challenging. Awesome that you pushed on and made the glacier :) Thanks for sharing your experience with us and enjoyed Fernando as your guide.

Happy travels,
The CarpeDM Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful day trip to Otavalo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

My girlfriend and I took a one day trip to Otavalo with CarpeDM. We had a bus of about 30 people going on this trip and CarpeDM had provided a tour guide that spoke wonderful English. The trip was marketed as an all day trip with stops at three different markets (animal, textile/local arts, leather) and a stop at a volcano crater lake. The three markets were great except my girlfriend didn't enjoy the animal market. They had a bull get away from one of the locals and it took like 4 locals to surround it before they could grab the rope the bull was on. To CarpeDM's credit, they told us not to get close to where this was happening and we were only at the market for like 15 minutes so my girlfriend didn't have to deal with it for long. I'm glad I saw a local market like this, but this isn't something I would want to see over and over. The other markets were wonderful. We enjoyed bartering for items and were able to really see how the locals sold some of their products. The trip to the volcano was just gorgeous and was also a great change of pace from the markets on this tour.

On our way back from Otavalo, we actually had some bus issues. I believe the tour guide called ahead to schedule another bus to pick us up. We actually didn't know there was an issue until we stopped. The guide then informed us that we were going to need to get another bus to pick us up where we were and it would most likely take 30 minutes. The guide even offered to get us back to Quito by taxi if anyone was in a rush. Within 10 minutes the new bus was picking us up and taking us to Quito. During our 10 minute stop our guide went and got soda and crackers. He then walked up and down the aisle serving us this as an apology. On top of that they handed out a rose to everyone as another sign of sincerity. Even though it was an annoyance and something you hope wouldn't happen on your trip, these things do happen and how a company handles a situation like this shows their true character. I would use CarpeDM again and actually followed up this trip the next day with a tour of Quilotoa.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carpedm a, The CarpeDM Crew at CarpeDM Adventures - Day Tours, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Daniel,

Great to hear you all enjoyed the day out to Otavalo. Sounds like the animal market was full of surprises - thankfully you all managed to walk away without and harm. Great to know that you managed to sort out a bargin or two while there and made the most of the visit to Cuicocha.

Especially pleased that you were happy with the way the CarpeDM staff was able to handle the inconvenience of the bus break down. Thanks for your understanding and delighted you enjoyed your day with us :)

warmest regards,
The CarpeDM Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best travel agency!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

I was really glad i booked my trip with Carpe Diem. I got sick the day before i was supposed to leave to the Galapagos, and Paul arranged at the last minute someone else that could take my trip. And he helped me alot with organizing the whole trip again and getting some refound.
They are very experienced, friendly and very helfpul!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MirjamFink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carpedm a, The CarpeDM Crew at CarpeDM Adventures - Day Tours, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Mirjam,

This was really something out of a movie :) The probability of it working out as it did was next to impossible but somehow it did. We guess it must have to do with the positive energy you possess and your smile. In the end, we are extremely happy you were able to enjoy the Galapagos even though you fell ill the day of your cruise the week before. Even more awesome was that there just magically happen to be someone their to fill your space the day you were sick. How we managed to wake her up on time and get her on a flight with 5 minutes before departure is another story :)

Muchas gracias and keep smiling,
The CarpeDM Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CarpeDM Adventures - Day Tours also viewed

Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to CarpeDM Adventures - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing