We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Gringo personalized tour”

Happy Gringo Travel
Book In Advance
More Info
$469.00*
and up
Train of Liberty, Traditional Market and Cuicocha
Ranked #5 of 100 Outdoor Activities in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: It's all about passion. Happy Gringo is an Anglo-Dutch owned travel company run by passionate travellers for like-minded clients and offers an alternative to the typically frustrating Latin American travel agency experience. Our philosophy is simple: we aim to provide the ultimate travel experience in Ecuador and to bring an element of fun and smiles to your trip here! We offer trips to the Galapagos Islands, the Rainforest and tailor-made travel to all corners of mainland Ecuador. The most knowledgeable trip planners in the market* Personalised tour options and service that will really “wow” you* Quick answers when you most need them!* A simple and easy online booking process* International staff who speak your language (English, Dutch, French & Spanish)* Competitive prices to save your pennies* Full support from first point of contact up to the moment you finish your trip * 100% guaranteed satisfaction & fun!!! no hassles, no worries.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We used Happy Gringo to organize 9 days of travel in Ecuador after we had completed a week's cruise in the Galapagos. We told Evelyn where we wanted to go and she made it happen, even including 2 friends we met on our Galapagos cruise. The guides and drivers were excellent, always adapting to the travelers' desires (can't do that on a group tour). The accommodations were all lovely with the personal touch that comes with local arrangements. I would have no hesitation in recommending this company to a friend.

Thank Melody P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyGringoTeam, Sales person at Happy Gringo Travel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Thanks for such a useful feedback! I am really glad you enjoyed your time in Ecuador, and that you liked the hotels and drivers/guides. It is so useful to receive comments about these services so that I can keep offering these things to make future clients happy too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (395)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"galapagos cruise"
in 36 reviews
"maria cristina"
in 4 reviews
"the napo wildlife center"
in 6 reviews
"day tour"
in 28 reviews
"travel advisor"
in 6 reviews
"last minute"
in 23 reviews
"bank transfer"
in 5 reviews
"puerto lopez"
in 5 reviews
"wire transfer"
in 5 reviews
"arranged everything"
in 5 reviews
"detailed itinerary"
in 4 reviews
"great trip"
in 14 reviews
"highly recommend this company"
in 9 reviews
"helped us plan"
in 5 reviews
"answered all our questions"
in 5 reviews
"tour company"
in 11 reviews
"lago agrio"
in 5 reviews
Filter

318 - 322 of 398 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

My wife and I gave Eva a list of all the places we wanted to go in Ecuador, including the Galapagos Islands.We picked out hotels, haciendas, boats, a birding tour, etc. online and from guide books. She set up our whole three weeks. Besides activities, the important thing was having all transfers arranged, so that we never had to hassle getting from point A to B. We had really good guides who often drove us as well (we were the only passengers). Any time we wanted to stop for a photo, or change that day's itinerary, we could work it out with our guide. It all went quite well. If a road was closed, etc. they knew about it and made changes right away. We paid $12,000 for the two of us, excluding international travel, and we thought that price was very competitive (we had 5 nights on a boat in the Galapagos, and that alone was $5,000). We highly recommend Happy Gringo Travel, having an Ecuadorian agent is a real plus.

Thank Spoonbill42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyGringoTeam, Owner at Happy Gringo Travel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Thank you ever so much for your review. I can´t even begin to tell you how much of a pleasure it was to help organise such a wondeulf trip for you. We do always try to keep our prices as competitive as possible so I am pleased to hear that we were successful in your case. Thanks again, Eva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

A group of 7 of us did a 1 day tour of Cotopaxi National Park and hiked up to the glacier. All the pre-planning went off without a hitch with great communication. All our emails were promptly handled making it stress-free.

The actual tour went off without a hitch. Luis was our guide and Milton drove us on our adventure. Both were extremely professional, very knowledgeable and funny. I remember some of us in the van commenting that Milton was a very careful driver which we appreciated. :-)

We were glad we listen to other posters and had packed warmer clothing and rain gear as we totally needed it for the day trip. Cotopaxi had all the kinds of weather: sun, rain, clouds, wind, ice pellets etc. I'd add to what others have said about Cotopaxi about needing the layers, a good pair of boots and perseverance. We saw the locals throwing a random blanket around their shoulders and start hiking up the mountain from the main parking area. We were totally thinking "they are crazy!?" We started up the mountain in the driving rain but most of the group turned back at the ice pellets. Luis took the die-hard hikers up to 16K feet before they turned around and we learned that the weather broke a lot for them while we got the rain squalls battering us in the parking area while we waited. We did get a few pictures in between the weather while we waited and were glad we went.

On the way home Luis showed us the outdoor grills showing off the roasted guinea pig for sale in case we had any adventurous people.

We did get a snack pack/lunch bag for the day. I'd recommend you bring extra water (you only get 1 bottle) and altitude meds if that bothers you at all. You are really high that day! We were able to use the facilities and purchase water at 1 stop but there is nothing at the Lagoon or up the mountain so plan ahead or you will be looking for a rock.

2  Thank gr8grapes007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyGringoTeam, Owner at Happy Gringo Travel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

wow, that is a very comprehensive and interesting review of your Cotopaxi day tour, thanks for sharing all of these details with everyone! What a shame about the bad weather, but it is a credit to your group that you could enjoy the trip in spite of this! Thanks again, John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

We can only recommend Happy Gringo, they were very friendly and helpful with our Galapagos trip and they really know what they are selling. Definitely to recommend! Thanks for your help which has been very much appreciated

Thank d_bernet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyGringoTeam, Owner at Happy Gringo Travel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

We really appreciate your positive feedback, thank you! John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2014

When searching for some help in planning our six week Ecuador trip, Happy Gringo had a number of good reviews. My initial series of questions about Galapagos options were quickly and thoroughly answered with additional explanatory information. We chose to book a seven day trip on the Beluga through Happy Gringo and the deposit wire transfer from Canada went off without a hitch. From that point we continued to work with Eva with questions about various other areas of Ecuador. We ended up booking a stay the Napo Wildlife Center as well as an airport transfer to Otavalo. Eva continued to respond to questions about Ambato and Quilotoa, even though we ended up not using Happy Gringo's services for other parts of our trip.

I would highly recommend using Happy Gringo for the Galapagos and other parts of Ecuador.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Wetcoast_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyGringoTeam, Owner at Happy Gringo Travel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Thank you SO much for taking the time to write us such a nice review. It´s great to know that you found out about Happy Gringo after reading other reviews online! Our aim at Happy Gringo is not to just give information, but to also try to help out in case our clients need additional advice…even if you don´t buy with us, it´s a pleasure for us to help and make sure you have the best time of your life here in Ecuador! I know that there is SO MUCH to see and visit in Ecuador and sometimes hard to make the right decisions, and I´m glad that I was able to provide you with some additional information on Ambato and Quilotoa!
I hope that your visit of Galapagos Islands on board of Beluga was satisfying – isn´t the Galapagos a magical place? The Napo Wildlife Center is a real highlight too in our country – did you know that part of their profits go to educational projects for the surrounding communities in the Amazon? Thank you so much for being part of this!!!
Thanks again for recommending our company!
Eva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Gringo Travel also viewed

 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Happy Gringo Travel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing