We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crazy great french patisserie in unexpected location”
Review of Cyril

Cyril
Ranked #1 of 37 Dessert in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Crazy great french patisserie in unexpected location”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Never in a million years did we think that we would go to Quito and spend several snacks and meals at a great french patisserie. This was right up there with the patisseries in Paris and in Quito, was about half the price. Quiche was ok, macarons pretty good but their more lavish desserts were uniformly amazing. Great drinking chocolate as well (this is not your mainstream hot chocolate). Their sandwich macaron with creme/lychee/rasperries was a revelation. Best afternoon tea/espresso/chocolate break for sure.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kkrtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    490
    165
    36
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highland Village, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best chocolate creations”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This boutique chocolate, coffee shop is the best chocolate place I have ever seen, the baked goods are incredible not only in taste but visually they are a feast for the eyes. I had a great cup of coffee and ice cream. The ice cream was also the best I have ever had, they have everything from lavender to honey to saffron. The saffron is my favorite flavor. Highly recommend to visit this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katenvironment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil, Ecuador
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Too expensive for such a lousy service”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

They do not even clean the table nor pickup the tray (old napkins) form the floor. They need to work on the attitude before thinking the deserve charging so much for a cup of coffee or a peace of chocolate.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mario V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Reliably delicious bakery”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

CyRil is a haven in Quito for bakery lovers. There is a overabundance of baked goods here, not all of which are above the "Meh" rating. CyRil is a reliably consistent bakery. Their Almond croissants are delicious everyday….. believe me, I have sampled them plenty of times. Maybe too much. :) The coffee is terrific and the staff is always warm, helpful and efficient. Terrific bakery!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berne
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best pastries bad with bad service staff”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was regular consumer, but the staff is too unfriendly! They do not greet and never have a smile. I will not go more.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PoupeeBern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cyril also viewed

Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Cyril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing