We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lua

Lua
Ranked #59 of 1,324 Restaurants in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Visiting Lua, was a magnificent experience, the chef organized our 8 course tasting menu, the stone crab cebiche with parmigiano sauce was to die for!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobertoMora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    41
    19
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Unforgetable experiece”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

I'm 67 travelled 53 countries...tonight I had the most incredible experience! To say it shortly great service and unforgetable food. The Stone Crab Claws were something you canno't find very easyly.Brazilia Chef Daniel Pillon , together with Chef Alexander are the pillars of the Restaurant opened one year ago. Do not miss it if you're in Quito!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IlcuocoSaoPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
89 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere,Really good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Last night in Quito after touring the countryside,coming back from our day in Otovalo shopping. Our guide says his son works at this restaurant right around the corner from our hotel. He gives the business card to us and says you won't be disappointed . We made a reservation through the concierge at our hotel.This place is in the middle of a residential area. They took a house and turned it into an airy restaurant. Big room complete with old Triumph motorcycle in glass case. The menu was all in
Spanish. The waiters knew a little English so we survived that part. We each ordered some kind of cervice which was excellent
We all had some kind of fish. Of course mine had to be the so called "frutti de mare". Everyone was satisfied even my 12 year
old daughter who is just trying out fish.Very accommodating.Dessert was awesome! That's where we find out that our guide's
son is the pastry chef. I had an apple tart with I think was cinnamon ice cream.Perfect!My wife and daughter share a warm chocolate concoction of cake and fudge and also cinnamon ice cream. Amazing! Would come back just for dessert!

Helpful?
Thank Parme1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great favors and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

We just got back from our dinner at Lua and it was memorable for a a reasons. First of all, the space is lovely - has a wonderful outdoor feel, even though you are indoors. Second, the service was great. My Spanish silvery limited, so many items on the menu were unintelligible to me. Our waiter spoke no English, but found someone who could. A very kind German man came over and discussed the menu with us. It seemed clear he was part of the restaurant, but not until we'd ordered did he reveal that he was the chef. His recommendations for food were excellent. We started with the tuna appetizer in soy ginger glaze. That may sound rather uninspired, but the carmelization and punch of the ginger were quite unexpected pleasures. The next course was ceviche Peruviana. It was graced with small cubes of sweet potato, which counterbalanced the acidity beautifully. Then we had two main courses: lamb and a fish dish in a lovely, rich, lobster sauce. Everything was cooked to perfection and seasoned well too. The dessert, the chocolate mousse with passion fruit sorbet was again delicious! A wonderful combination of textures and flavors which had our mouths very busy and happy. Throughout, the revive was attentive, despite our lack of Spanish. We are leaving Quito for a few days, but will be back and may just eat here again!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bobbsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent service and even better food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Lua is a Peruvian restaurant with great ambiance and excellent service.
Alex, the chef from Lima, Peru talks to his customers and gives his
recommendations for the menu. We just let him choose our food for the evening.
Ceviche was delicious and so was the very nicely presented tuna appetizer.
El pulpo was tender and served with a delicate sauce.
The service was very attentive and most importantly pisco sour was made from
the top quality Peruvian pisco. Overall it was the best place to eat
during our visit to Ecuador.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hugon20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lua also viewed

Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Lua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing