We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little gem in Quito” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal de La Rabida

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal de La Rabida
Ranked #7 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great little gem in Quito”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is a great hotel. It's a charming old house that has been redone as a small hotel. The staff are all wonderful and very helpful. Gloria at the front desk made us feel like we were at our home away from home! The little garden courtyard is such a charming oasis in the middle of the city and Brownie, the rabbit, was a hit with myself and my husband! As with most hotels that aren't American chains, be sure to bring ear plugs because the walls of this charming old inn are thin.
I also have to make special mention of Guillermo, one of the drivers for La Rabida. He picked us up from the airport when we first arrived in Quito and also took us out to the airport at 4am for us to get an early flight to the Galapagos. He speaks great English, is passionate about his city and country, and is happy to answer any questions you may have. My husband dropped his iPhone in Guillermo's van the night we arrived in Quito, and Guillermo was there first thing in the morning with the phone. Although we did not do this, Guillermo also does day tours of Quito, Otavala, and surrounding areas and some other folks staying at La Rabida at the time did a day trip with him and said it was fantastic.

You should stay at this hotel when in Quito!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PCheramy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    139
    27
    5
    4
See reviews for
80
196
67
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed in Hostal La Rábida May 8 – May 10, 2013, for 2 days of exploring the Quito area before heading to the Galápagos for our 2nd trip there. All of the staff were very warm and welcoming, with special kudos to Gloria at the desk. The owners, Sergio and Judy, were very gracious and helpful whenever they were around. Sometimes the morning breakfast staff didn’t speak much English—so be prepared to order either huevos revueltos (scrambled eggs) or huevos fritos (fried eggs). The rest of the breakfast was self-serve—breads for toast, delicious yogurt drinks, fresh fruits and juices, plenty of really excellent, rich coffee. Breakfast was included in our price, although that may not always be the case. It was very convenient to have it available.

We stayed in Room #3 (a double). The room wasn't huge but was amply large. The mattress on the bed was very firm (good for us); by US standards, it was very wide but a bit short. (My husband is 6’ 2”.) The evenings were cool, so we appreciated the extra blankets in the armoire. The heater in the room was on a timer rather than a thermostat, so it turned itself off after an hour. But that worked fine for us since we were snugly ensconced under the extra blankets by then. The floor in the room had a number of small pieces of the wood flooring that were loose; if you walked around barefoot, they often stuck to your feet and you had to replace them. The wi-fi worked well and connected easily in the room as well as in the common areas on the first floor.

The bathroom was due for an update but nothing was a real problem. (Apparently, it was slated for some renovation shortly after we left.) The window there at first wouldn’t close; we mentioned it to Sergio and he instituted a temporary fix until they could get the window installer back out to make it right. The bathroom had a hairdryer in it, but it seemed to be held together with duct tape. Made me a bit nervous, so close to the sink. But I just noted it--I didn't use it.

Potable water (for those of us from outside the country) was available in a pitcher in the room and was refilled every day. If we needed more—either for the pitcher or for our water bottles—all we had to do was ask at the desk or the kitchen any time of the day or night.

The enclosed courtyard was small but a nice option--and a place to watch hummingbirds work the various flowers. A desktop computer for guests was available in the bar area, but it had a Spanish keyboard (of course!); we couldn’t figure out how to do an @ sign, so we didn’t use it. But others more knowledgeable than we were did use it successfully. We enjoyed the fire in the fireplace late each afternoon, where we relaxed in the living room area as we waited for dinner. We ate dinner at La Rábida both evenings we stayed there (available for guests only). The food was plentiful and very good (I had the corvina both nights, although prepared different ways—delicious!) and very reasonably priced (~$12). A glass of wine was also reasonably priced (~$5, as I recall). We had a 5:15 a.m. departure time to get to the airport on our last morning and the staff arranged the self-serve part of the typical breakfast for us at 4:30 a.m., which we really appreciated.

And as others have mentioned, Brownie the rabbit was a very fun house pet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ztsipapu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostalrabida, Owner at Hostal de La Rabida, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments - we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. I just wanted to mention that, as planned, the bathroom in Room 3 was renovated the week after your stay. the window was also fixed, as were the loose floor boards in the room. Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention.
Judy Chiesa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

I loved this hotel and wished I could have stayed longer than 3 nights! The courtyard-style design was very secure yet charming, and everything was very clean and comfortable. Loved the small touches like the friendly rabbit, fire going in the common room fireplace every night, pitcher of filtered water in my room, etc. My single room was small but had everything I needed. I slept well, breakfast was great, other guests were friendly, and the location was convenient for seeing everything I wanted to see in Quito. The hotel has a computer that you can use to get online, which was very helpful, and the staff helped me navigate the city and make some adjustments to my travel plans. Gloria in particular was wonderfully friendly and helpful, going out of her way to mark up a map for me, advise me on taxi costs, and make sure I saw everything I wanted to see.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Bookended our trip to Ecuador with stays at La Rabida. A great place to stay,especially for the English-speaker. Great for getting acclimated to Ecuador. The owners, Judy and Sergio could not have been more welcoming and the staff, especially Carlos and Gloria were cheerful, accommodating, and very helpful. The food was good, and even though the hostal operates a restaurant they owner and staff were very generous in offering suggestions for other restaurants to try. The rooms were clean and comfortable. 24-hour security with someone always on duty is a nice touch. And there's always Brownie to keep you in line and add a nice friendly touch.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank runwiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is great little hotel. It is charming, comfortable and very clean. All who work there are great at their jobs and so pleasant. The rooms are all lovely and the common spaces delightful. Relax and have a glass of wine in front of the fire before dinner.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gadsden alabama
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed at hotel de la rabida one night before our stay in the galapagos. The rooms was very nice and clean. They have a rabbit that lives in the courtyard. The rabbit greeted us upon arrival. He was so cute and friendly, our children loved it. The breakfast in the morning was nice and convenient. We were only at the hotel for about 6 hours due to a late flight and early departure but it was a very nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michael w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Hostal de La Rabida was exactly what I needed after a long overlanding trip. The room was a perfect size for me lovely naturally lit bathroom very comfortable bed and plenty of space for my luggage. The best thing about hostal de La Rabida is the wonderful service by the staff especially Gloria who is fantastic so helpful and friendly nothing is to much trouble and she makes you feel so at home. Brownie the rabbit is an adorable bonus to all of this :) loved my stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank selmorott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
9.9 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
0.4 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#13 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#8 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
2.4 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#2 of 114 in Quito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
2.5 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal de La Rabida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal de La Rabida

Property: Hostal de La Rabida
Address: La Rabida 227 y Santa Maria, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Quito
#6 Best Value Hotel in Quito
#9 Romantic Hotel in Quito
#15 Business Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hostal de La Rabida 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de La Rabida is an old traditional home recently restored into a first class, charming Quito hotel. We offer our guests the gracious atmosphere and style of a beautiful vacation home located in the heart of Quito, Ecuador near most places of historical and tourist interest as well as restaurants, banks, travel agencies and shops. With only 11 charming and tastefully decorated rooms, Hostal de la Rabida is a very special Quito hotel in which to enjoy your stay in our beautiful city. For those travelling in the company of their furry friends, you'll be happy to know that we are a pet-friendly hotel and will gladly accept any and all guests that plan to visit with their pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hostal de La Rabida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal De La Rabida Hotel Quito
Hostal De La Rabida Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing