We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home in Quito”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal de La Rabida
Ranked #6 of 112 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Quito proved to be full of surprises - like getting my wallet stolen on a bus (that cost about US$100 in phone calls home to stop all my cards) and getting a really nasty cold that kept me in bed for a lot of one day. And Hostal de la Rabida which is a place to feel at home. Location wise it is in between the old town and the new town and buses are not advised :-( so it is either a long walk or a taxi ride to anywhere. The hotel is based on an old building with newer rooms facing onto the garden at the rear (where the rabbit lives - when he's not wandering round the hotel). The owners (he Italian, she British) don't live on the premises but turn up to supervise and talk to the guests.
We had a garden room on the one night we stayed before going to the Galapagos - that was a bit small. On our return for 4 nights we were given a bigger room in the main building. There is a comfortable sitting room on the ground floor which has a fireplace, and often a fire! And a restaurant area which is also used for breakfast. Dinners are available and there is a wide range of restaurants within easy walking distance.
All the staff were helpful, they all spoke English (not necessarily a given!) and were happy to provide advice and suggestions and look after luggage and anything else required.
The hotel is very secure (if that kind of thing bothers you) with guiarded entrance from the street which involves you pressing a buzzer and being inspected on CCTV.
KInd of spooked when we paid the bill to discover the breakfasts we had been eating (and which we enjoyed) were not included in the room rate. A bit unusual for a small hotel in South America.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedHeadPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (541)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 541 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

It was a real pleasure to stay at the Rabida. We originally chose it for the great central location but discovered that there was a lot more to the hotel than that. Everybody we met, including the owner, was welcoming and helpful and many spoke English, a boon to those of us with limited Spanish. The restaurant was delightful, with beautifully prepared breakfasts and dinners. Our room, although small, was immaculately clean and had its own private patio. The bathroom could have done with a little refurbishment / re-decoration. The Rabida's star of the show is Brownie the rabbit, who happily mingles with guests, and enjoyed relaxing in front of the open fire as much as we did.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Villabloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostalrabida, Owner at Hostal de La Rabida, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

We many thanks for your comments regarding your stay with us - we really appreciate your kindness and are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
I just wanted to mention that we are , in fact, in the process of renovating all our bathrooms - 5 are already done and just today we have started work on the bathroom in the room with the patio. I am sorry we did not have time to get it done before your stay!

Our very best wishes to you from all the staff and, of course, from Brownie!
Judy Chiesa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel was a pleasure to stay at! Great location for visitors to Quito and as a female travelling alone I felt very secure in the hotel. My room was a sweet and comfortable single with a door opening onto the garden (which contains a giant brown rabbit)! The staff went out of their way to be helpful and the food was great too. Cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LucyAnneG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The Rabid is a Hacienda that is now a hotel. It is VERY clean and well maintained. It has a security guard and a wall that surrounds it. It has a small bar and it serves breakfast and dinner. The people who work there are very kind and helpful. The owners are on the premise and also are kind and helpful. It is modestly priced and we were able to walk to almost every place in Quito. (We walk a lot). I would say that the three rooms that we were in....rooms two, three and four....they were very nice.

Room Tip: Room two is very nice...it has a veranda.... problem is that it can be noisy. Room four is the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

While the hotel itself is charming, it is the staff that makes this hotel wonderful! They are so helpful! One person in our party was sick with a bad cold, and they went out of their way to provide food or tea if needed. Rooms were spotless and cozy, it a bit on the small side. The owner is very present in day to day operations and has thought of the smallest of details to make her guests comfortable. Probably the best asset of the hotel is the lobby which is more like a gathering place to chat and share events of the day and travel information.

Room Tip: We were in the front on the 2nd floor and had a nice view of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katiejune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely , little gem. Small, and intimate, but cosy and sparkling clean at the same time.

Wifi is so fast, room are comfortable and at european standards. The staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome.

I will definitely stay here again when I come back.

Did I mention how clean it is!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cautiousglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Charming, clean & well-run operation with very helpful staff. (Those at reception speak English.) The rooms we had were on the small size but comfortable enough. Meals very good. Not much in the immediate vicinity to recommend it; yes, the New Town bar & restaurant area is within walking distance, but we found the area rather drab and uninteresting. If we were to visit Quito again we'd opt for well-situated lodging in the Old Town if we got a good recommendation. Otherwise, no regrets about choosing this place for our first visit to Quito.

Room Tip: Our first night was in Room 1, which felt very cramped. Later nights we were in Room 11, which had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yujin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#17 of 112 in Quito
782 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vieja Cuba
Vieja Cuba
#20 of 112 in Quito
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Quito
Wyndham Garden Quito
#9 of 112 in Quito
400 reviews
1.8 mi away
Casa El Eden
Casa El Eden
#1 of 112 in Quito
300 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal de La Rabida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal de La Rabida

Address: La Rabida 227 y Santa Maria, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Quito
#9 Best Value Hotel in Quito
#15 Business Hotel in Quito
Price Range: $60 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hostal de La Rabida 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de La Rabida is an old traditional home recently restored into a first class, charming Quito hotel. We offer our guests the gracious atmosphere and style of a beautiful vacation home located in the heart of Quito, Ecuador near most places of historical and tourist interest as well as restaurants, banks, travel agencies and shops. With only 11 charming and tastefully decorated rooms, Hostal de la Rabida is a very special Quito hotel in which to enjoy your stay in our beautiful city. For those travelling in the company of their furry friends, you'll be happy to know that we are a pet-friendly hotel and will gladly accept any and all guests that plan to visit with their pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hostal de La Rabida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal De La Rabida Hotel Quito
Hostal De La Rabida Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing