We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet in a middle of quito's 'craziness'”
Review of Sol de Quito Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sol de Quito Hotel
Ranked #89 of 112 Hotels in Quito
Reviewed May 19, 2011

very comfortable and clean hotel, traditional decor adds warmth, the bathroom is light and huge. this is not a new or modern hotel, itt may need small repairs here and there, but it's very clean. breakfest is served to your taste - juice, fruits, eggs, yougurt, and fresh bread. bottled water is in your room, and you may fill it in the cafeteria downstairs as many times as you need. there is free coffe and tea all day long...
location is a little away from historical center or from mariscal, but it's easy to get around. they will call a taxi for you, and it cost from $1.50 to $6 to go anywhere in the city (the price depends on distance and your negotiating skills). hotel staff is very attentive and helpful - thank you, Bayron, Ivan and Lyudmila!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexisNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
There are newer reviews for Sol de Quito Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 107 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2011

We spent 5 nights here and were delighted with it. Whilst the street may not be the poshest in Quito, once you enter the hotel, it's an oasis of peace and so different from the more expensive concrete blocks of chain hotels. Your plastic card is used for booking the first night, if you pay by cash there's 10% off the internet price (or 8% added for cards). Our duplex room with king size bed was delightful, each of the hotel's 3 floors has its own beautifully furnished lounge area. The staff were always very friendly and helpful. The only downside was the breakfast - whilst the basics were there, one morning they admitted they had no eggs or cheese! For a well located hotel with a completely different feel to it, then the Sol is for you.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirklycl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

This hotel is such a gem...in a large city like Quito it really feels like home. I stayed here for just over a week with a family member and the staff treated us like family. They were there for us every minute of the day and helped in some extreme circumstances...like when my credit card was stolen (not in the hotel).

They were also very accomodating with helping us to set up cultural/sightseeing activities and providing wonderful meals in the hotel and great dining suggestions outside of the hotel.

Some of my fellow travelers thought the beds were a bit hard but I found this comfortable and slept beautifully...the rooms were very clean and the hotel is in an extremely safe part of Quito. I love hotels with character and charm and this hotel had both!

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smae_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

The location is very good. It's close to two major shopping areas and surrounded by all the amenities. The restaurant provides an excellent breakfast with more than I would of expected to receive. The rooms can become a bit cool at night and the staff immediately provided an adequate heater for my room when I asked. Security is important and the hotel is staffed by a guard outside the entrance 24 hours a day. I walked to several restaurants and businesses and had no problems in this area of the city.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drylandr18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

Amazing experience at the very first hotel museum that I ever been, excellent crew that made my visit more delightfully interesting, totally Quito lifestyle!!!!!!

Ernesto C.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ernychava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

The people that work there are very friendly and helpful, we feel like been home.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vecos77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2010

The service that Hotel Sol the Quito offer is Amazing!!!. The rooms are always clean, all areas arround the hotel are really comfortable. The Hotel location is really convinient and close . If you want to go shopping to El Jardin Mall, you just can walk there . Another areas that I visited like a restaurant and bar are located in The Mariscal.I toked the taxi for a dollar ride,you don't need rent a car. The Sold de Quito hotel is different that any hotel arround the world thar I visited.The attention is personalize , every one who works there help you any time that you request. They are happy to plase you, that make you fell you are part of the big familly. And next time is my unique option in hotel. I personal recomend for any one who wanst to visit Quito-Ecuador go to Sol de Quito Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elimancheno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.1 mi away
La Carolina Inn
La Carolina Inn
#59 of 112 in Quito
28 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Boutique Plaza Sucre
0.6 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#9 of 112 in Quito
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Lugano Hotel
Lugano Hotel
#50 of 112 in Quito
150 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Q Hotel
Casa Q Hotel
#25 of 112 in Quito
86 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol de Quito Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol de Quito Hotel

Address: Alemania N 30-170 y Vancouver, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 112 Hotels in Quito
Price Range: $60 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol de Quito Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hotel is one of the most beautiful hotels of the city, very private and exclusive. It belongs to Santiago and Bernardo, who believe wholeheartedly in Ecuador who decided to remodel this building on December 2016. Today we operate a place of special charm full of quality service and personalized attention.The hotel is very quiet, confortable and very safe, and it's the only private and exclusive hotel in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sol de Quito Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing