We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, nice staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Casa Sol Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Casa Sol Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #40 of 226 Quito B&B and Inns
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good location, nice staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2007

La Casa Sol is in a good location with a lot of restaurants nearby. We walked around the area in the evenings and felt safe. Some rooms are really small but the place is clean and breakfast in the morning is good (it includes brewed coffee which is a treat). The staff are friendly, speak some english and try to help you as much as possible with your plans.

Overall I would say this hotel is a good base in Quito but I am sure you can find something just as nice or nicer for the same amont of money or even less.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank agoraphobic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    42
    22
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
38
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
246 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2007

We stayed in this B&B on 4 seperate occasions during our recent trip to Peru & Ecuador. It turned out to be a great base for our side trips to Galapagos, Otavalo & Banos.

The room we stayed in had a twin bed & its own bathroom with hot water shower. Small but clean.

There were 2 seperate seating areas one of which had a nice fireplace. One internet unit & a lending library.

Breakfast of cereal, fruit, yogurt, bread, fresh juice & coffee was included in the price. Eggs were available for an extra price.

There is an in-house travel agent who was able to arrange day trips as well as a 2 day stay at their sister property in Otavalo.

The B&B is located in the popular tourist district of Marascal with lots of restaurants, bars, internet cafes & shops.

The staff at the B&B were the best part of our stay. They were so friendly & helpful & made us feel right at home. Most spoke some English. In particular we want to mention Suzanna, Daisy, Rosia & Monica.

  • Liked — Location & Staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2006

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights last summer. The hotel is in a somewhat trendy area with many restaurants and bars. Casa Sol is pretty cute place and the service was very attentive and helpful and the breakfast was great. Our rooms were small and walls were paper thin. So we didn't really sleep well or were rested for our days trekking through Quito.
Overall, not worth the price which was very expensive for what we got. And if you are willing to pay 25 dollars per person per night, just spend a little more and go to a nicer hotel (like Oro Verde or Hotel Quito) where it feels totally worth it.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank syser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2006

La Casa Sol is a clean, very friendly ·Hostal· rather than Hotel.
The public areas are bright and welcoming with two small lounges and a collection of books for borrowing or swapping.
Security is good and that is important in the area.
The 1st room we stayed in was dull and uninviting.
Had we not been suffering jet lag we would have asked for an immediate change.
It had 2 bunk beds and one additional bed with a side table and bedside lamp.
The ceiling light was inadequate so it was not possible to read in the bunk bed.
Our second room did not have a chair or wardrobe but did have two table lamps
there was a wire fixture attached to the back of a door for hanging a few clothes.
Our only complaint is that La Casa Sol is overpriced.
Over 50 Dollars per night with taxes and service charge.
That is not good value for money in Quito
Our second Hostal provided similer accomodation for 8 dollars per night with bedding changed every day.
We wish La Casa Sol well but given the competion you are too expensive.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michae125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
112 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2006

This is a 'hostal,' i.e., an informal, simple hotel with small rooms and no luxury. That said, we were delighted to stay there: the rooms couldn't be smaller, but were spotless, attractive and comfortable. The breakfast is simple but delicious and delightfully served by a cheerful, responsive staff. Several nice eateries are within a few blocks walk and the neighborhood is well-patrolled well into the evening hours. Nearby nice places to eat include The Magic Bean (NorteAmero-Ecaudorean fusion with a sense of humor), Mama Clorinda (down home Ecuadorean) and Latitude (great tapas, probably best to reserve a table though we got lucky).
Our one complaint: they ran out of hot water most mornings, which delayed our showers. So we ate and then showered.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattleMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slc, utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2005

La Casa Sol is located on a small and charming one way street. The hotel was immaculate everywhere. Our room was small but clean. They serve a continental breakfast that was good. You are next to a bookstore and several restaurants. We ate at Adam's Rib down the street and it was owned by an expat from New York. You are close to buses and the main street in Quito. We found a laundry service that was inexpensive nearby. A very convenient place to be in Quito.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lovetogoplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.1 mi away
Antinea
Antinea
#36 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Color House Petite
Color House Petite
#19 of 249 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Discovery Quito Hostel
Discovery Quito Hostel
#41 of 249 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue House
Blue House
#13 of 249 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Arupo
El Arupo
#34 of 226 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Sol Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Sol Bed and Breakfast

Property: La Casa Sol Bed and Breakfast
Address: Calama 127 y 6 de diciembre, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 226 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa Sol Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The intimate, sunny atmosphere will make even the most weary traveler feel at home. La Casa Sol in Quito - it is located 15 minutes from the international airport, inside the most touristic area of modern Quito. Our house was an antique place rebuilt to be a hotel with its own ethnic character, full of Andean identity. Its decorations, colors, courtyards and other services make this house a wonderful place to take a rest, relax, get ready and prepared for your trip around the rest of Ecuador, in the middle of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your La Casa Sol Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Sol Hotel Quito
La Casa Sol b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing