We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I am recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Casa Sol Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #39 of 226 Quito B&B and Inns
Kazakstan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“I am recommend”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

It is a very very good hostel. Very clean rooms with really hot water. Very friendly staff and excellent breakfast.
There really you feel comfortable.
If I ever go to Quito, I will stay in this hostel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irinas104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    43
    22
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
38
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I loved this place for it's warm and welcoming atmosphere, cosy private rooms with hot showers, beautiful decoration, helpful staff and its location. We got wifi in our upstairs room. Breakfast was simple and delicious. It's a very short walk to the action in La Mariscal but surprisingly quiet for sleeping. The window in our room was not made of glass and occasionally noisy when people spoke in the hallway or downstairs. The only other minor complaint was our temperamental TV that would switch off randomly (btw Spanish speaking channels only). Great location for accessing tour agencies for the Galapagos etc. Overall, a nice little oasis in Quito that I would stay at again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadtripper2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Very good location in the Mariscal. Far enough from all the action to not be terribly loud, and close enough to easily walk to all the action. We stayed in a loft, cool little seating areas and roof top terrace/balcony. Very comfortable bed, cozy room private bathroom. Very clean.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skipnstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muir Beach, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Small, friendly B & B that was quiet and clean. We stayed 1.5 days as we had a midnight flight the second day. Breakfast was quite good and in the evenings they served a good Andean tea that hit the spot. Rooms tend to be small. We had a room facing the street but did not experience any noise as it's on the quieter side of the street only blocks from Plaza Foch where you can find quite a bit of action in the bars and restaurants. Internet was very reliable and fast as long as we were in the little lounge off the lobby. Could not get it reliably in our room. Some of the management spoke English so that was nice as our Spanish is not good! Seems to be a popular place for Europeans, adventure travelers and those of us with only a few days to catch a plane home!

Room Tip: A room facing the courtyard might be noisier with people coming and going. Narrow stairways too if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had a lovely lovely time in Quito, and stayed at La Casa Sol. They picked us up when we arrived, and were very helpful when we got to our room. We stayed in the suite - Room 15 - it had a fridge, stove, and lots of room.

The staff were so helpful - especially Geovanny and Dani (hope the spelling is correct). One morning they made us a faboulous omellete - so big that two of us couldn't finish it. Another day they made coffee for us early because we had to leave before breakfast was served.

Everything is spotless, quiet, and very relaxing. The pictures posted are exactly what you will get - it is very charming. They have a little gift shop, wi-fi, Andean tea, and laundry for $2 a kilo. If you need a taxi, dinner reservations, or just suggestions the front desk staff is extremely helpful.

Most of the staff speak English - but knowing a little Spanish helps.

La Casa Sol is located in the heart of the Mariscal district - 2 blocks to Plaza Foch, and dozens of excellent restaurants. Around the corner on 6 de Deciembre is a wonderful little bakery that makes sandwiches, pan dolce, and great coffee. There are a number of small corner stores on the street.

It is a great place in a wonderful location - I hope to be back there very soon.

Room Tip: If you can get Room 15 it is the best - a little more but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BmmrBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I spent four separate nights here during my recent visit to Ecuador, so I experienced 4 different rooms. The good points are that the staff are very helpful and friendly, the rooms are quiet (for a city centre location), the breakfast is good and everything works. Some of the rooms are very small.

Room Tip: If you can, choose a room not overlooking the street; it will be much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jsl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The staff were very friendly. The included breakfast was good; it included a different fresh fruit each day. The room was small and the private bathroom was very basic. The location is in the Mariscal, which has a lot of restaurants and bars, but the B&B is on a quiet side street. For a good meal within walking distance, try Mama Clorinda (Ecuadoran) or Le Arcate (Italian).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sierra Madre
Hotel Sierra Madre
#57 of 112 in Quito
154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vieja Cuba
Vieja Cuba
#18 of 112 in Quito
433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antinea
Antinea
#40 of 112 in Quito
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
NU House Boutique Hotel
NU House Boutique Hotel
#35 of 112 in Quito
544 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal El Arupo
Hostal El Arupo
#31 of 255 in Quito
99 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anahi Boutique Hotel
Anahi Boutique Hotel
#13 of 226 in Quito
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Sol Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Sol Bed and Breakfast

Property: La Casa Sol Bed and Breakfast
Address: Calama 127 y 6 de diciembre, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 226 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa Sol Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The intimate, sunny atmosphere will make even the most weary traveler feel at home. La Casa Sol in Quito - it is located 15 minutes from the international airport, inside the most touristic area of modern Quito. Our house was an antique place rebuilt to be a hotel with its own ethnic character, full of Andean identity. Its decorations, colors, courtyards and other services make this house a wonderful place to take a rest, relax, get ready and prepared for your trip around the rest of Ecuador, in the middle of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your La Casa Sol Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Sol b&b
La Casa Sol Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing