We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Felling cosy.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Casa Sol Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Casa Sol Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #40 of 226 Quito B&B and Inns
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Felling cosy.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

This is a little nice and friendly bed and breakfast hotel, nice fire place going every night, right in the heart of the “Zona rosa” where there are restaurants, bars, discos, so handy and there is the Casa Sol, in a very quiet corner with very good prices, not luxury, but with all the good things you are looking if you want to feel like at home, it has the warmth, kindness, and charm that money can´t buy.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LupitaDeHeredia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    42
    22
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
38
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jamberoo, Australia
Level Contributor
214 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

We had the loft and definitely not for tall people but still comfortable and cosy. The bathroom is not quite en suite but just a step across the top of the stairs. Staff were friendly and helpfull. Our only complaint was neither our room nor bathroom were serviced after the first night. This coupled with a severe stomach upset in the middle of the night meant we ran out of toilet paper which made life a little uncomfortable and difficult.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

I cannot recommend La Casa Sol highly enough. Super friendly and knowledgeable staff; delicious, fresh breakfasts; cosy, clean and safe rooms; super location.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheesem0nster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

This is an inexpensive and super-friendly place in La Mariscal, which is a tourist/Bohemian section of the New City. We stayed in 2 rooms on 2 occasions; one was quite small, one just fine. Both were quiet. The staff couldn't have been nicer. Just remember, this is not an expensive hotel, so don't expect luxury or things like free bottled water in your room.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

I loved my stay here and I am returning in June. The staff is friendly and accommodating, the rooms are clean and comfortable, and the location is good. I noticed the price is a bit higher than the last time I was there, but I liked the place enough that it's not a problem.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catfish59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

If you want a nice place to stay in the Mariscal (tourist) area of Quito, but want a quiet night's sleep, La Casa Sol is the best bet. It's a little more expensive, but worth the splurge because the rooms are beautiful and cozy and the staff are very friendly. I wasn't too impressed with breakfast (white bread, fruit juice and a fruit bowl), but I would definitely return. There's an extensive book exchange and a fire place for chilly nights.

Room Tip: The matrimonial room is really nice. It has a balcony and sitting area and is away from all the othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whereonearth07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

The hotel is ubicated in a nice area of the modern center of Quito. Close to all kind of restaurants, bars and shops. The hotel is beautiful, bright colors and nice common areas. The guys working in the hotel are friendly. The rooms are clean but small. For a double you pay like 60 dollars, what for Ecuador standards quite expensive is. Ofcourse the ubication at the edge of the Mariscal is great but for this value you can find something better in this area.
Besides that, the breakfast could be better. Breakfast is fine but for the value you would expect just a little bit more as just one slice of bread, some fruits and a coffee.
Barprices are also expensive, for example a small Ecuadorian beer in the Hotel bar costs 3,50 dollar.
Next time in Quito I wouldn t go to this hotel, but you can take it in considering if you want to stay in Mariscal. The hotel is nice but like I said, rooms are small and quite expensive.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.1 mi away
Antinea
Antinea
#36 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Color House Petite
Color House Petite
#19 of 249 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Discovery Quito Hostel
Discovery Quito Hostel
#40 of 249 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue House
Blue House
#13 of 249 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Arupo
El Arupo
#34 of 226 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Sol Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Sol Bed and Breakfast

Property: La Casa Sol Bed and Breakfast
Address: Calama 127 y 6 de diciembre, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 226 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa Sol Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The intimate, sunny atmosphere will make even the most weary traveler feel at home. La Casa Sol in Quito - it is located 15 minutes from the international airport, inside the most touristic area of modern Quito. Our house was an antique place rebuilt to be a hotel with its own ethnic character, full of Andean identity. Its decorations, colors, courtyards and other services make this house a wonderful place to take a rest, relax, get ready and prepared for your trip around the rest of Ecuador, in the middle of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your La Casa Sol Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Sol Hotel Quito
La Casa Sol b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing