We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and service”
Review of Hotel La Cartuja

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel La Cartuja
Ranked #43 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
El Rito, New Mexico
1 review
“Excellent location and service”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

The staff was wonderful. They went to pick us up at the airport even though their was aproblem iwth the plumbing and the hotel was temprarily closed. They offered advice on restaurants and toher that was very helpful. The hotel is very conventiently located in La Mariscal close to restaurants and shops. Our room was big enough to spread out all of our luggage.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TPBoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    72
    22
    5
    3
See reviews for
26
50
28
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Conveniently situated in the neighborhood of La Mariscal, "La Cartuja" has been the ideal base for our three-weeks long Ecuador-trip. A large Room, a nice, quiet courtyard to relax, helpful staff and the casual way to get early breakfast made us come back after every mountain- as well as jungle-trip. A friendly place to rely on.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wilhelm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had a nice stay at Hotel La Cartuja.
The rooms er big and it is easy to have room for all lugage.
Futher more there are place for electonics to charge.

Remember to have a note with the name of the streets around the hotel with you when using a taxi. They dont know the hotel. But with a note with name of street and a street name from the street close to, they will know where it is and can bring you to the hotel. If you only tell the name of the street they will most often bring you to the wrong end of the street.

Room Tip: The two room on the first floor - with view of the street. They are bigger than the other room. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank fedtoere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
163 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

After spending a few days with an Ecuadorian family in Quito I wasn't too excited about spending a night in a hotel but I was pleasantly surprised when I arrived at the La Cartuja for a one nights stay before beginning a tour of Ecuador. It's a very cozy place with a lovely courtyard and nice rooms. The decor is beautiful and the property is close to a lot of things.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adrianna24sings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Level Contributor
103 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Pre-booked this hotel from the UK. As we had not been to S.America before and were arriving late evening,thought best to have somewhere to go,straight from the airport.We were surprised at the cost of the taxi from airport to hotel at $27. But,it was so busy with traffic and took 1 1/2hr.We changed our minds!
On arrival,we were met by Migel,who speaks very good English,and shown our room.
First impresssions,quite basic,clean,hot water,wifi,tv.but nothing in English,only a mirror in the bathroom. It was quiet at night and a fairly good location. The breakfast was ok. but if you wanted a cuppa after that you were charged for it. A kettle in the room,would have been nice.
A lot of the clientel, are booked through their travel tour agent, I should think! probably,get a better deal than we did.We were independant backpackers.
We thought it was expensive for what it was,especially,when they add on the tax etc: It was the most expensive place we stayed,in five weeks & three countries,& not the best.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank youngandsixty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
1 review
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights as a quick stop-over in the city. The only positive is the nice building + garden. The reception staff were useless with providing information when we asked, they marked the location of the hotel incorrectly on the tourist map. We asked for information regarding local tours/sights and they said they would provide more information once returned after going out for a walk, but they failed to do this.
The breakfast was really appalling, no bread, coffee un-drinkable, bad scrabbled egg, awful fruit juice. We had to leave it and get breakfast in the more pleasant cafe - El Espanol at the La Mariscal. They do excellent coffee, and fairly good set breakfasts.
For the price I think a better 3 star hotel could be found.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KSR_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yvr
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is a lovely small hotel..
The garden in the back is lovely, great place to relax
The breakfast in the morning ia good, excellent with fresh milk
I had a single room, very clean,plenty of towels and soap
there is internet available, some times it freezes but the staff are very good about fixing it.
A room available to leave your luggage, if you are going else where in Educator
My flight was leaving late.
Check out is 12 00 noon.
I arranged to keep my room from check out until 7 00pm, cost was $ 20.00, well worth it.
Miquel and all the staff were very helpful and friendly.
they will arrange a taxi to the airport etc.
Excellent experience, my thanks grania S.
A block or so away from a local market, and a few shops.
A very good book store over the road , ask the staff if you cant find it..
Quiet at night as well. Enjoy
Grania S

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graceYvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sebastian
Hotel Sebastian
#38 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Inca Imperial
Hotel Inca Imperial
#64 of 114 in Quito
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vieja Cuba
Vieja Cuba
#14 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cayman Hotel
Cayman Hotel
#37 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sierra Madre
Hotel Sierra Madre
#55 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Ventanal de Bellavista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Cartuja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Cartuja

Property: Hotel La Cartuja
Address: Leonidas Plaza 170 y 18 de Septiembre, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Cartuja 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel La Cartuja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cartuja Hotel
La Cartuja Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing