We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but funless”
Review of L'Auberge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
L'Auberge Inn
Ranked #23 of 231 Quito B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice but funless”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I booked a single room. As my plane was diverted to the south of Ecuador, I telephoned to let the reception know. I asked the man if he spoke English or French, tried speaking both, and he hung up the phone on me. I tried calling twice again and the first time when I tried talking he hung up, the second time he hung up immediately. I then went off with a dictionary I had in my hand luggage and wrote out what to say to him, and called again. As a Swiss-French-Ecuadorian hostel in the capital, I would have expected to be able to speak French or English (I was coming to Ecuador to learn Spanish so had none at that stage). It was pretty horrible on top of a diverted flight.
The other staff were fine; two friendly, others not friendly but fine. It probably helps to speak Spanish, as maybe they are sick of people who don't speak Spanish, but then they are catering for tourists.
The hostel itself is nice. There is a lovely small courtyard area onto which the rooms face. There were no people up late here when I was staying, though I guess if there was a group it might be noisy, although there is a sign to ask people to be quiet there after 9. The indoor area is nice, with various seating areas, but only one couch inside the main door. It would be a lovely place to hang out in with others. There was a pool table but nobody used it while I was there. I had breakfast (extra) of bread and coffee which was find. They do evening meals but I didn't have any.
The room was nice enough, clean, spartan, bright during the day but gloomy in the evening as there was only a ceiling light. It had wooden floors which was nice, but meant that people walking created a lot of noise, but I didn't mind this much. The window was onto the terrace and the curtains were pretty see-through with the light on, so that was a bit annoying. The towels (pretty worn but I didn't mind) were renewed every day. The hot water seemed to run out as people used it, so better to have shower earlier on.
The location is between the old and new towns, so there is not much in the immediate vicinity. There is a bus stop really nearby which is good for travelling during the day, but as people are constantly advised not to go out after dark (6pm) it is not so good if you want to go to a bar or restaurant in the evening.
There were little lockers where one could store valuables e.g. camera, passport, which was useful, though I think things would have been fine in the room.
So it was not a fun or cheerful hostel, but it was nice and quiet enough.

Room Tip: I would imagine rooms higher up are better (nobody tramping in front of door or talking outside room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank interestedToHear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    68
    30
    9
    3
See reviews for
13
76
42
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quito, Ecuador
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My family stayed in Quito for a week and i sent them at l'Auberge-Inn and it was a very good choice.....
The hotel is between the old Quito and the Mariscal, which is very convinient (walking distance). The staff was very friendly and helpul. The rooms are confortables (or with private bathroom or with shared bathroom) and most of them located with a view to the indor garden. They provide a delicious buffet breakfast and also dinner from 6 to 10pm with an international menu. The enviroment was great and it's the perfect place to relax and enjoy Quito.

I loved the place and my parents too

Thank you to l'Auberge-Inn

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Schweiz
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Nicely situated between the old town and the mariscal. Clean and quiet rooms, very nice patio and great place to meet other travellers. Great breakfast buffet!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2012

I spend two nights at L'auberge INN and really enjoy this place.Hot water, lovely patio, good breakfast buffet . A very nice place to meet other tourist .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barthe a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We spent there two nights and it was a good experience. Our room was well isolated, clean and very confortable. The bed was very very good and the bathroom very clean as well. This budget place worth it. The staff is helpful and friendly. If you are willing to pay extra 3 dollars you can have there a very nice breakfast. However the location is not very nice. There is nothing to do at night and it is better to stay at the hotel. But on Saturday night, the attached restaurant was closed without any notification and we had to go to a little shop to buy something to eat. It was the only inconvenient.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatSoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

I (Thomas) stayed in Auberge Inn in February 2011 several times and was really happy with the service, clean rooms and a beautiful Swiss bistro.

Seen that, I booked in at Auberge Inn for this year several times, too.
Unfortunately services and quality seem seriously to diminish :

– The swiss bistro has gone, instead only a stereotypical „mexican“ buffet
(beans, avocado, meat and tortilla) are served, and this only on sunday.

– One male staff member treated us in a rude way („key over here!“, „go!“)

– Two female staff members were rather neglecting our requests :
We complained 6 (!) times that we had only cold water in our room,
they reacted with great indifference.
It was only after 3 (!) days with cold water that another, quite commited,
member of staff, solved the issue

– Communication between staff members seems to be poor :
One offered us a 4 $ discount per night for the room because it had
only cold water running; - when we wanted to pay the bill to another
collegue, this was „unknown“ to her – she only gave us a smaller
discount upon negotiating.

– One day a reservation of a nice room was accepted, next day
Karsten was pushed either not to take that room or to take it
for a higher rate than fixed the day before (20 USD instead of 14 USD).
By all respect, we can not recommend this hostel anymore.
We moved to another place today.

Thomas & Karsten

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

The room and bath were attractive if a bit cold. The guidebook says there is a sauna which is no longer true. Great internet with headsets for skype, though it is a separate charge. Lovely garden to sit in. We picked this place to see a different part of Quito from the Mariscal. Unfortunately when we arrived we found no restaurants in walking distance. The in-hotel restaurant is delicious though expensive. $25 for crepes and a pasta dish isn't great value for Ecuador.

There is a sign in the lobby with a FAQ which seems to respond to previous guest complaints - should have been a red flag. The reception staff was sullen and focused on his computer the entire time. He did take our money, respond to spanish and english, and reserve a cab (all without making eye contact). Our room was next to or under a shared bathroom, which we heard use of in intimate detail all night long. If you are calling in advance I think you could avoid this by requesting a quiet room.

Room Tip: don't be near the shared bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mpez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.7 mi away
Minka Hostel
Minka Hostel
#3 of 258 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.8 mi away
Colonial House Quito
Colonial House Quito
#10 of 231 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hostal Mia Leticia
Hostal Mia Leticia
#22 of 231 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Rosario
La Rosario
#3 of 231 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kinde House
Kinde House
#4 of 231 in Quito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.8 mi away
Huasi Lodge - Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Auberge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge Inn

Property: L'Auberge Inn
Address: Av Colombia N15-200 y Yaguachi | Yaguachi, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — L'Auberge Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned by a Swiss, L'Auberge INN Hostel is a backpackers hostel located between the two main centers of interest in Quito: The modern town and the colonial Quito Built in a way to give you a convivial and safe place in the Ecuadorian Capital, our hostel provides any facilities you will need to make your stay as enjoyable as possible in Quito.. L'Auberge Inn is known in Quito since 1995 as a great meeting place for backpackers from all around the world but today our "colonial hostel" also has the capacity to receive little groups of tourists. Renovated in 2010 our social area includes: The restraurant opens in the morning and in the evening with an international menu. A friendly garden full of plants Tv room, bar, free cyber coffee (free wifi) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your L'Auberge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing