We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Basilica

Basilica
Book In Advance
More Info
$128.00*
and up
Quito City Sightseeing Tour Including Teleférico Cable Car Ride and Volcano Hike
Ranked #5 of 200 things to do in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Considered the largest church in Quito, this impressive building features fine bronze doors, colorful stained glass windows and a tower with sweeping views of the city.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Make sure you go to the left of the Basilica and climb up onto the outside of the Steeples - amazing views!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,634 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,683
    764
    163
    18
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
denver, colorado
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A nice place to visit,”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

I like large churches, the peace and quiet, stained glass windows and contemplative atmosphere, but do they really have to charge people to enter?

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank coloradoclimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Disclaimer...review is only of the outside”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

I'm not a fan of paying to enter churches, so just visited the outside. The basilica is visible from all over Quito, and is easy to find. The architecture is very reminiscent of European cathedrals, as is the practice of having shops within the churchyard walls. As others have noted, instead of traditional gargoyles, the builders used Ecuadorean wildlife...which for me was worth the visit. Tradition says there will be some great cataclysm when the basilica is finished, so it is deliberately left incomplete. Watch your step walking in the courtyard, pavement is rough in places.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
325 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Gargoyles with a twist”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

I generally do not like visiting churches because I have seen so many in other places. Here our guide knew what would interest us. Instead of gargoyles decorating the outside this building they have local animal species. One part has animals from the rain forest and the other part has animals from the Galapagos. Since we had just returned form the Galapagos we liked piking out the various animals from our trip, particularly a penguin getting ready to dive into some water. This was so fun to see.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Impressive, Breathtaking, Terrifying”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

If you have guts, go up the bell tower. Be sure you're wearing shoes with tread on them. I had sandals on, and I had to be very careful not to let myself slip.

As noted by other reviewers, there's a $2 fee to ascend the tower - you can either take numerous flights of stairs or an elevator. Once upstairs, there's a rickety bridge to cross over the roof of the cathedral, and then three more flights of stairs to reach the top of the bell tower. The last few flights of stairs were a bit scary - they were outside, the steps were steep and very narrow (almost like a ladder), and the Basilica courtyard stretched out below. It's physically exhausting and not for the weak of heart. Once in the tower, however, the view is spectacular.

The cathedral is breathtaking. The size of the building itself, the Gothic architecture, the numerous chapels, and the nationalistic elements (country flags, etc.) make this my favorite church in Quito. If you visit any churches, visit the Basilica!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilica also viewed

 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Basilica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing