We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Santo Domingo Plaza (Plaza de Santa Domingo)
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Santo Domingo Plaza (Plaza de Santa Domingo)
from $118.00
More Info
from $62.00
More Info
from $165.00
More Info
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveler rating
13
22
11
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
13
22
11
1
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 48 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2017

For some reason this plaza is often missed by tourists and when we were there it appeared this continued. While we appreciated the reduced crowds, I am amazed that not more people venture to the plaza.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2016

This is not a conventional plaza for tourists. It is a transportation plaza where three bus loops intersect. They are glassed-in stops that seem to run pretty much continuously. In the plaza itself are three large tents for the craft sellers and one large music tent with the biggest speakers money can buy. The church is there too but it is now overshadowed by all the outside activity. There is also many solid restaurants in the immediate vicinity and an ATM on the corner.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank Warren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2016 via mobile

The plaza is nice enough with the large church as a backdrop but there isn't much to do in or around the plaza. Worth a quick look since it's near Sam Francisco.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank LesL989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2015

My spouse and I visited this wide open plaza on a Saturday morning while on a tour of Ecuador. Because it is located south of Centro Historico, and slightly out of the way of the main attractions in this neighborhood, it is easily missed my most tourists.. Unfortunately it rained the day we were there, so we did not stroll about as we would have wished.

Dominating the plaza is Iglesia de Santo Domingo,which features a stunning wooden Mudejar coffered ceiling. While others in our group shopped the many vendors that had gathered beneath their tents, the two of us ducked inside the church, and were very thankful that we did since it became one of our favorite buildings in Quito.

Date of experience: November 2015
Thank CJW913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2015

Santa Domingo Plaza forms the southern edge of Quito’s Old Town. A white cathedral dominates the plaza, which was teemed with pigeons. At the center is the statue of Sucre, who pointed to Pichincha Volcano, where his victory in 1824 laid the foundation of the Ecuadorian independence. There are tables where souvenirs were on sale. It cost $1 to have shoe shines. I got three shish kabobs for $3 one evening. There are two trolley stations. Several street walkers were there every evening at the southwest corner, and less than ten meters away, a cop used his or her hands and a whistle to direct traffics. This place is not particularly memorable.

Date of experience: November 2015
Thank abuben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews