We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Little Overwhelming Initially but Enjoyable in the End”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Quito Old Town

Quito Old Town
Book In Advance
More Info
$15.00*
and up
Foodies Evening Walking Tour of Quito's Old Town
Ranked #4 of 203 things to do in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This historic district was the first city named a UNESCO World Heritage Site and is noted for its narrow streets, Spanish colonial architecture and historic attractions.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Little Overwhelming Initially but Enjoyable in the End”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

My significant other and I spent 3 days in the Old Town area. We did a lot of walking, checked out a lot of churches, rode the double decker bus (highly recommend it), found a lot of tasty restaurants (see my other reviews in the area). We really enjoyed ourselves in this area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,218
    969
    221
    35
    11
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Charming & Historical”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

This area of town is absolutely beautiful, with narrow cobbled streets, multicolored building side by side, and most of them with wrought-iron balconies. Many of the houses contain shops and restaurants, but many have been renovated and people are still living in some of them. It's a part of this incredible city that you do not want to miss!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tex-dex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torino
Level Contributor
276 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“the best South america old town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

if you look the real South american decadent atmosphear try to visit the wonderful Quito, with magical and astonishing churches, Street full of life and a NON touristic life. so you can apreciate the real life.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank gabrigianni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A visit to Quito's Old Town needs a repeat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

There is so much to see there, I hope we will get to go again on later trips. We had a guide approach us in Plaza de Independencia, named Ramon, and he was very good. We negotiated $20 for an hour and he was worth it. He took us into some really old churches and explained everything well. His English was good, as he had lived in Kansas years ago.
We only had about two hours to spend and that was not enough time to really see the sights.
A beautiful area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank badgett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fascinating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

The most amazing and fascinating colonial section of a major city in the world. Everywhere you look you see another old church or great museum or great restaurant. If you go on a weekend there is always a lot of activity in the main plaza.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quito Old Town also viewed

 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Quito Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing