We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stroll”
Review of Quito Old Town

Quito Old Town
Book In Advance
More Info
$32.00*
and up
Foodies Evening Walking Tour of Quito's Old Town
More Info
$79.00*
and up
Old Town Quito Sightseeing and Food Walking Tour
More Info
$120.99*
and up
Private Tour: Middle of the World Monument and Quito City Tour
Ranked #4 of 201 things to do in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This historic district was the first city named a UNESCO World Heritage Site and is noted for its narrow streets, Spanish colonial architecture and historic attractions.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
207 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Lovely stroll”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I spent several hours strolling through the old town. Fortunately, it was a lovely day, the only one while I was in Quito. I walked around a enjoyed the architecture of all the buildings, including the churches scattered throughout the city.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank CarmenSandiego2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,675 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,352
    1,039
    235
    38
    11
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“colorful, preserved area by day or night”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The historic center of Quito is must-go in Quito. It is a quite large, clean area of very well-preserved buildings, many quite colorful and with wrought-iron balconies with flowers, quite like a city in Spain. In fact, it felt a lot like we were in Spain, except that you had the fascinating cultural mix of many people in different types of indigenous dress. To sit on a bench in Plaza Grande or at Cafe Tianguez at the base of the church on Plaza San Francisco is a delight! All types of people will wander by...some are vendors, selling all manner of items, but also just locals, calling out to reunite with their aunts and cousins, laughing, chatting. Just very pleasant people-watching. Many police and we felt quite safe, by day and night. I put my good camera in a canvas rucksack to take out when I wanted, but I probably didnt need to do that. There was at least one ATM right on Plaza San Francisco, with a policeman right by it. The police were very approachable and helpful, also. Plaza San Francisco seems to be a local info. hub...there was a photography display and also info. about the new subway. At night, the lighting on the buildings is beautiful. Because there are hills all around, you also have the lit hillsides and the statue of the angel on El Panecillo as a backdrop. We wished we had more time to poke into more little stores and cafes. Wear comfortable shoes for the hilly walks!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank snorkel-luvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Beautiful historical city centre, great for pottering”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I loved Quito’s old town. The colonial architecture is beautiful, the interior of the churches and cathedral are stunning and it is great for just relaxing over a coffee and people watching. We were also impressed with how spotlessly clean and litter free the area was.

Having heard about the threat of mugging and robbery before we left, I was a bit concerned about security, but there are so many tourist police around, literally on every street corner, that we didn’t once feel unsafe. There are amazing buildings everywhere you look, and I felt happy to walk with my camera around my neck, even in the side streets, which are full of fascinating little stores selling cakes, eggs by the bagful, herbal remedies, religious icons and all manner of fascinating things .

La Ronda is quiet in the daytime, with traditional children’s games put out in the streets for entertainment, but it has a great atmosphere in the evening when all the bars, restaurants and shops are open. Again, there are many police around, so it feels very safe.

The tourist police are a fantastic asset to the city – twice we asked for directions when we had trouble finding a taxi and both times were told to hop into the back of the police car and they gave us a lift!

As Sue from Sydney says, if you’re there on a Monday don’t miss the changing of the guard in the Plaza de la Independencia at 11am. It was a fantastic spectacle, even in the pouring rain.

We visited La Mariscal a few times, but found it to be tacky and loud, so we were very pleased that we had opted to stay in the Centro Historico instead.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Poots-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but be aware of locals”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Best to travel with a local quide for safety. The buildings are incredible and worth the walking effort to see!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank SadieAtlantaGa831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

it is one of the loveliest colonial towns in Latin America. Try to visit the La Ronda area at night. Lots of bars, music and street life on one of the oldest of the streets.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quito Old Town also viewed

 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Quito Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing