We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best views of the city of Quito”
Review of El Panecillo

El Panecillo
Book In Advance
More Info
$125.00*
and up
Private Quito City Tour and Middle of the World
Ranked #15 of 205 things to do in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Resembling a type of small bread (panecillo), this hill makes an excellent observation point over Quito and features La Virgen del Panecillo, a majestic sculpture that can be seen from any location in the city.
Salinas, Ecuador
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“One of the best views of the city of Quito”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

El Panecillo is a magnificant HUGE statue standing atop of Quito. The steps up to the top are steep, but well worth the long trip up. There a many displays of typical South American Christmas displays.

Each one of the pieces of the shell of the structure are numbered. However, they are not constructed in numerical order. We found this to be a bit curious.

It was yet one more piece of Quito's unique architecture.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeInEcuador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    442
    409
    152
    9
    7
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
260 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“It's a Virgin NOT an angel!!!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

It has the best view of Quito. Small Indian market and street food. A walk up on the virgin structure is highly recommended. It intended to be the artist's Legardo Virgin replica. However, the Quiteños say that it is not as "beatiful or inspiring" as the original (placed at the altar of the San Francisco church). It is made of aluminum, and has a display of nacimientos from different regions of Ecuador on the landings. A 360 degree viewing platform is near the top. It is a nice experience and the view is worth the visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank IsmaelT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
137 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Beautiful view of the city”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The monument is located high above the city of Quito, and the view is magnificent! I highly recommend making the drive up for the view. There are some souvenir shops located adjacent to the monument - prices vary and I found the items cheaper elsewhere.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank nashville_dog_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Worst and most dangerous Place in Quito!”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I went up to the "Panecillo" with Taxi. The taxidriver was a nice bearded (!!) ecuadorian and told me about the dangers of Panecillo. The Place is ugly and smells like urine. You can't really take pictures of the statue because some dubious subjects are asking you about your camera and if you have a mobile... I guess they are thiefs... Don't go there!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great city views.”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We started our exploration of Quito here and it was a good choice. We were advised to take a taxi up and back from the old town as the area just below El Panecillo is known for muggings. Our taxi driver waited for us while we looked around. There are fantastic views around and from the statue and a small exhibition area in the base.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank trickynicky63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Panecillo also viewed

 
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to El Panecillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing