We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor quality for the price, impossible to sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Real Audiencia
Ranked #35 of 111 Hotels in Quito
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Poor quality for the price, impossible to sleep”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We weren't expecting much, but this hotel was disappointing. We stayed at a much nicer hotel in Cuenca for half the price. I know Cuenca is a cheaper city, but Real Audiencia should repaint their rooms and install some better windows in their rooms. It was impossible to sleep more than 4-5 hours a night because of the traffic outside our window. Breakfast was good, but I was disappointing overall and I wished we had stayed at another hotel in Quito. I love places with character, but was expecting more.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    154
    53
    16
    8
See reviews for
53
119
57
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Real Audiencia in Quito in April, 2013. The hotel staff was extremely courteous and helpful. The view from our corner suite --- the Manuela Saenz room --- was incredible. The hotel's location is in the heart of Old Town, and we could not have been happier. Everything about the hotel --- from the wonderful attitude of the staff to the comfort of the room --- to the location of the hotel --- was everything that we had hoped. In addition, the hotel staff ensured that our boxed breakfasts were waiting for us at 4:30 am for our trip home to the U.S. We cannot recommend the hotel highly enough and hope that we have the opportunity to return. It is a memorable experience that one can savor for many years to come.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daphne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed at Real Audencia in April 2013. We stayed in room 2A which was very large, with three large windows looking down on Plaza de Santo Domingo and up at the statue of la Virgen on top of the Panecillo. They are double-paned and block most street noise. But we usually aren't bothered by that kind of noise. You'll hear the clock on the Iglesia de Santo Domingo chiming, the traffic cop's musical whistle, and if you are lucky some entertainment from the Plaza.

There is no elevator, but that was no problem. We travel light. On the stairs were great old photos of Quito and some old stained glass windows.

The cost for this room was more than I'd paid in this hotel a few years ago but was worth it. The bed was huge, bigger than a king, and very comfortable, with both duvet and top sheet, two extra blankets which we did not need, and 6 pillows. There were reading lights on both sides of the bed plus a torchiere and two overhead lights, so reading was not difficult. The TV was big and got lots of stations. There were 3 arm chairs and a little table; also a large desk and chair.
Closet space was plentiful with drawers and safe. Bottled water was provided daily and in the dining room on the top floor, filtered water was available.

The bathroom was large, tiled, included a hairdryer. There was hot water. One word of caution: there was a drain smell but we found that if we did not use the exhaust fan, the air from the drain was not pulled up into the room.

Breakfast was included in the price of the room. It was a buffet with plenty of choices and some variation day to day, including international and Ecuadorian food. We ate in the dining room one night for dinner. The view was fabulous, the vegetarian choices not too exciting.

The staff was uniformly pleasant and helpful. Most spoke excellent English. When we wanted to go to Quitsato (on the equator) they contacted a driver whom they trusted, Francisco Hernandez, who was charming, knowledgable and a careful driver.

There was some renovation going on down the hall and a little noise, but having just spent time in India, it was, by comparison, nothing to complain about. The noise never lasted into the night.

The location of the hotel is perfect. It's in the old colonial city. We walked everywhere we wanted to see except the Botanical Gardens in Parque la Carolina and the Museo Nacional de Banco Central, which required short taxi rides. There is a grocery store right up the street, and little shops, a pharmacy, and restaurants very close by. Also there is an ATM directly across the street from the hotel entrance.

We used the hotel's car service from and to the new airport. It costs $40 each way which I thought was excessive at first. But it is a 1 1/2 hour trip to the airport. And they were waiting for us, ready to go, in both directions, with very nice drivers. A cab would cost about the same, I was told.

In short, don't hesitate to stay at Real Audencia, and enjoy Quito.

Room Tip: Room 2A (a suite) was on the corner with views in 3 directions. Huge room, huge bed, windows on a pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparkybuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This hotel suited our needs for location and convenience. You do not need to use the hotels offer of airport transfer (US$40) as there are plenty of legitimate airport taxis at arrival (US$26). Be aware that, since February 2013, the airport has relocated and is now some 90 minutes away. We were on the second floor and this was our first experience of 2800 metres altitude: just slow down! The room was fine but by no means anything other than OK. Rooms are currently being renovated and they are probably due for it. The breakfast room has a great panorama overlooking Plaza Santo Domingo: the breakfast itself was fine. Free WiFi reached our room and was not problematic. Calle del la Ronda was only 5 minutes walk away and is an artisans area which is being developed and renovated to attract tourism. It was very lively at night during the weekend. The old town area is well policed during daytime but one should take care walking off-the beaten track at night. We had 2 excellent meals at Cafe Dios No Muere, La Esquina de Flores y Junin, less than 10 minutes walk away but keep your eyes alert between hotel & restaurant.
Very pleased we were located in the old town as there is a lot to see and do.

Room Tip: Second floor: WiFi available and not too many stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scubascubydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Just wanted to let others who are staying at this hotel know that we were robbed by the taxi driver that the hotel got for us. It was an early morning taxi that was supposed to go to the airport and they drove away from the hotel, then pulled over and demanded more money before agreeing to take our friend (she was alone in the cab) to the airport. It was very frightening and the hotel concierge was in on it because we saw money exchange hands before leaving. The hotel was ok nothing great but this definitely put it over the edge. We had better people on the street taking taxis. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone who would be afraid if the taxi driver pulled over and demanded more money or else.

Room Tip: be extremely careful of this place. The taxis drivers rob the guests and the hotel is in on it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 382 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

It's a 2.5. I loved the location of this hotel - across from Santo Domingo square where I could watch the world go by, where the church bell rang, where people fed pigeons, and the Virgin Mary statue watches over all of Old Quito. Old town and its sites are within easy walking distance - which is why I chose this hotel. We arrive and the porter grabs my spouse's bag and goes upstairs with it... so I have to wait downstairs or chase them carrying my own luggage. I choose the latter.. not fun... I'm on the top floor. This is after they needed us to pay the full bill upfront - made me feel very untrustworthy. Then they can't give me the breakfast vouchers... I have to come down each night and ask for the next one. The room (303) is old and worn but functional. Bathroom was bare but clean. Nothing pretty or welcoming about the room. There is a long window with the most gorgeous view... the square, the rooftops, the hills. I soon learn that the window lets in all sorts of (street) noise like it wasn't even there and that the room is icy cold.

Worst sleep of my Ecuador trip - it was cold, and the street noise goes on until about 11pm. Then in the middle of the night, there were firecrackers - both nights. It felt like it was inside my room. Then there was a procession both mornings at 4am that marched right by the hotel chanting using megaphones. What???

The breakfast room is lovely with a stellar view. The breakfast was tasty. There is free internet in the lobby. $1 coffee in the lobby. There is no safe in the room, but there is a good safe system at the front desk. Front desk was helpful but not knowledgeable - there's a difference.

Room Tip: 303 has gorgeous views but is freezing and loud. I guess 302 is the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2-4-T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The hotel is located close to all of the Old Town locations that you would like to visit. They are all within walking distance.

However, hotels in Quito don't have heating or air conditioning because they don't need it. This means that you will need to open your window to enjoy the comfortable climate. When you open the window you get all of the noise of the street and the exhaust of the cars. You will be awakened by the constant sound of the car horns, the whistle of the Traffic Cops, the noise of the people on the street, etc. You will also get to smell all of the exhaust from the cars and buses. The hotel is located on a main bus route. A bus goes by every minute sending up billowing black exhaust. This smell will be in your room. It is hard enough to breathe at night at 9,000 feet above sea level. The exhaust fumes just make it worse.

The hotel never had internet service while we were there. As a matter of fact, that was one of the main reasons we moved from the hotel after just 3 days. We had reservations for 10 days but found another (better) hotel and moved after 3 days. There was no reason provided for the outage and there was no attempt to solve the problem.

The hotel does not have an elevator. The bellmen will carry your luggage when you arrive but you will be climbing the stairs up to the restaurant for breakfast and down to the street every time you leave.

The rooms are old, the bed was hard and the cable did not have any English channels. Without internet service, it was hard to know what was going on in the rest of the world and at home.

There isn't any need to stay in the Old Town area since the buses run every minute or so north and south connecting you to almost everywhere in the city. You can be in the Old Town in just minutes. The bus is only $0.25 cents. The buses are VERY crowded. Don't take the bus if you can't handle being pushed and squeezed Or, you could take a taxi which is typically $5. Sometimes you can talk them down to $3 or $4 but not often. They will tell you that the traffic is bad and it will cost $5.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the street and make sure the internet is working before checking in. Otherwise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Boutique Plaza Sucre
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Francisco de Quito
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Relicario del Carmen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Carlota
Carlota
#15 of 111 in Quito
70 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#8 of 111 in Quito
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Real Audiencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Real Audiencia

Property: Hotel Real Audiencia
Address: Bolivar Oe- 3-18 | Plaza de Santo Domingo, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Quito
#27 Family Hotel in Quito
#29 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Real Audiencia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Real Audiencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Audiencia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing