We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice value with helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Real Audiencia
Ranked #35 of 111 Hotels in Quito
Akron, OH
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A very nice value with helpful staff”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed here three nights, at the end of our trip. The hotel is tucked away in the middle of the historic district; nothing to look at on the outside, but inside it's quite nice. We ended up in the Bolivar suite, which was a spacious room with a nice view of the Plaza de Santo Domingo. The staff were VERY helpful, offering us a lot of ideas, helping us arrange taxis, and never seeming bothered by it. The hotel feels secure (get up early enough or get home late enough and you can see the monstrous door barricade!) and was never hard to find.

The hotel restaurant is ok. Had dinner there one night which was fine. The buffet breakfast was included in our rate and sufficed, though there was not a large amount of choice. Otherwise, no problems at all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wombatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    154
    53
    16
    8
See reviews for
53
119
57
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, NE
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My wife and I spent 2 nights at Real Audiencia in September, 2012 as the kick-off to a 9 day trip to Ecuador. I concur with prior posts. It's a small hotel, nearly no lobby, but we had a spacious, very clean room looking out on Plaza Santo Domingo. The staff was very helpful and spoke English. Wonderful view from the 3rd floor restaurant and an adequate breakfast each morning included in the price of the room. Wonderful, safe location in the heart of historic Old Town, just a few blocks from the major historic attractions and La Ronda Street, which is well worth a day or evening visit. Very good value for the money. We'd gladly return.

Room Tip: For a few bucks more we had a corner suite with windows on 2 sides looking out on the plaza. Well w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BoomerTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I am a senior American lady who has just returned from Ecuador with two hotels that are excellent choices for Quito.Hotel San Francisco,and Hotel Real Audiencia,they are one block apart in the Historical Centro of Quito.Hotel San Francisco is ever so charming but Audiencia has such a wonderful breakfast buffet that it is the winner by a small margin. It will save a few $$ to book Audiencia thru hostelbookers.com.Both are in the range of $35 for a single room with bathroom and breakfast.

Room Tip: Many stairs no elevator,try for a room on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank copitka6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

First lunch experience in Quito !! Very good Ecuadorian food. The service is lenghty though !! Need to have time for lunch. Do not take a Steak .. overcooked !! the ecuadorian choices seem great !! The point of view is excellent on the colonial city !!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cim_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

What a great reasonable hotel. right in the centre of old Quito .Great area to be in.They were really good to me. All the staff . Been a female solo traveler, this was really wonderful. The restaurant - good quality food at cheap rates. The view from the restaurant exceptional.I stayed in different rooms and it really didnt matter. They were clean and good. I would highly recommend this hotel.They also have a list of tours you can choose from at good rates. Taxis always arrived on time and the staff very friendly.

Room Tip: Any room was fine but a view is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gillwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

The Hotel is in the old part of the city, on a corner of the Plaza. In this part are the churches and old buildings which none of the new part has. I had a room at the first floor which looked out towards the back where the laundry was washed since I had bad legs and could not get to the upper floors were some rooms have a view towards the plaza, church and the mountains with the statue. The rooms are plain and have not been upgraded for more than 25 years. Also it can get very cold at night, since it seems none of the" hotels " even some4 stars have heaters. The Restaurant is on the 3 floor has view on the plaza, really not much to see, less at night, the breakfast simple and not much choice for dinner.
At night most everything is closed the only " interesting " thing might be La Ronda, an old street which was made into a tourist attraction for the night, starting at the right side of the plaza were the supposed night life takes place. Well yes, there are restaurants and you hear music but most people only seem to come to walk up and down and many eat "crepes" on the street for 50 cents.
The market at Otavalo is overrated and overpriced and is around 1 1/2 hours away. Come early to see the animal market. I saw a sweater like the same I had bought in Peru for $ 12,- here he wanted $ 35,-

Room Tip: Whatever they have
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erniep747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

A corner room is inexpensive by our standards, with large windows on 2 sides overlooking the bustling main square. Three overstuffed chairs invite lounging and because the hotel is just blocks from the attractions, we could come back to relax, review of the guidebook, then set out again. The breakfast buffet on the top floor is a great start each morning.

The staff were very pleasant and helpful. (They provide lockboxes for your passports if you ask. We never figured out how to operate the room safe.)

Room Tip: Highly recommend corner room, a real treat after a long flight. Soundproof windows almost block the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgia a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Boutique Plaza Sucre
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Francisco de Quito
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Relicario del Carmen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Carlota
Carlota
#15 of 111 in Quito
71 reviews
2.0 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Real Audiencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Real Audiencia

Property: Hotel Real Audiencia
Address: Bolivar Oe- 3-18 | Plaza de Santo Domingo, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Quito
#27 Family Hotel in Quito
#29 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Real Audiencia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Real Audiencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Audiencia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing