We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Rustic paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fuente de Piedra II Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fuente de Piedra II Hostal
Ranked #132 of 226 Quito B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful Rustic paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

We started a 13 day trip to Ecuador by a night in this lovely hotel. Our plane was very late, but the hotel staff waited up for us. Arriving into a wonderful old style architecture, we were lead into the Junior Suite. A spacious and very clean room. Unfortunately, we had to leave very early the next morning for our flight to the Galapagos, we did not have the chance to explore. The chef did get up and ensured we had a wonderful hot breakfast.

The only problem was the group of people checking out at 4 am. They were very noisy and we could not sleep for an hour, until they left.

A great place at a great rate.

Room Tip: The junior suite for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank polarbearpenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    21
    21
    5
    4
See reviews for
7
22
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boquete, Panama
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Main issue is street noise, which is outrageous on Friday nights. Interestingly, Saturday was not as bad and Sunday was nothing. 24-hour guard at the front door; very accommodating front desk people. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom spacious and the whole place very clean. The location can't be beat, if you want to be in the Mariscol.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cynthiafromhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Overall our experience was fantastic: me and a group of classmates stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights, the rooms are comfortable. clean, WiFi is fast, friendly and polite staff. But, the best was its location, close to local and international restaurants, pubs, malls and parks and easy access to private and public transportation. Thanks Fuente de Piedra 2

Room Tip: Choose a room with a inwards balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Diestrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

I spent a couple of days at Fuente de piedra II. I love the kind and friendly staff, great and abundant breakfast, clean and well maintained rooms (traditional style). But above all the location of this hotel close to parks, malls, international restaurant, and pus etc. is what make this place unique and different, I highly recommend this hostel

Room Tip: try to book a room facing the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Latin America V... L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos S, Manager at Fuente de Piedra II Hostal, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Fuente de Piedra II, we are very glad to know that your staying with us have been happy and comfortable. we always do our best effort to exceed our guest's expectation in order to make you feel at home.

Thank you for choosing our hostal Fuente de Piedra II, as your destination hostel in Quito. Together my team and I will continue to providing the best services as well as to maintain our strengths and high standards.

look forward to hosting you again soon,

Warm regards,

Carlos Sarango Manager at Fuente de Piedra II,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

A group of us stayed here in November, 2012. The staff was very friendly and the breakfasts were very good. However, the rooms were filthy. Personal items from previous guests were in the bathroom and a drawer. The bathroom trash had not been emptied. In Ecuador, toilet paper is to be put in the trash can, not flushed - so you can imagine how that smelled. The floors were dirty with lint. I suggest staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlos_s1294308, Manager at Fuente de Piedra II Hostal, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much for providing us with your valuable feedback on this forum, in regards with your stay during last year at Fuente de Piedra II. I wanted to take a moment to thank you for allowing us the opportunity to provide you with our services and for taking the time to alert us to the areas of our service that were failing to live up to your expectations. I would want to assure you that your comments have become a case-study and now form part of our ongoing staff training programs.

I trust that your journey home was a comfortable one and we look forward to the opportunity of having you return as our guests again in the near future.

Best regards
Carlos Sarango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Quito hotels

Genova
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

I spent few days in this hotel wen I was in Quito: comfortable, cheap, clean, nice colonial style, very close to restaurants and not far away from the airport, good quality of breakfast, friendly personnel! Free Internet WIFI connection.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enrico M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is a basic hostal, with a bit of colonial charm in the rooms, but I think it is a bit past its prime. It seems most fit for tour groups as it offers lots of matrimonial beds. After being in town, I found that some of the other hostals offered better value with a lot more light and cheer and better or equal amenities. Fuente de Piedra II staff was friendly, rooms were decently clean, breakfast was modest American style. Again, I would say it is average and there are better deals to be found. I saved about $20 by shifting to another place.

Room Tip: The hotel is near some entertainment/bars so expect a fair amount of noise for most of the rooms, fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank explore_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlos_s1294308, Manager at Fuente de Piedra II Hostal, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Fuente de Piedra II. At our hostel, one of the best options in la Mariscal, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us.
We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Kind regards
Carlos Sarango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.1 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#7 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Quito
Hotel Quito
#31 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sierra Madre
Hotel Sierra Madre
#53 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vieja Cuba
Vieja Cuba
#16 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eugenia Hotel
Eugenia Hotel
#47 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fuente de Piedra II Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fuente de Piedra II Hostal

Property: Fuente de Piedra II Hostal
Address: Juan Leon Mera, N23-21 and Baquedano, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 226 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fuente de Piedra II Hostal 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuente de Piedra II, built in 2000, is a colonial style hostel located in the heart of La Mariscal, the most traditional, commercial and touristic zone of Quito where you can find banks, restaurants, bars, discotheques and other attractions that the night life of the city offers us. It is the ambition to host our guests in our hostel, our home. Fuente de Piedra II features the authenticity and diversity of Ecuador with a heart for quality and a home feeling in every aspect ranging from accommodation to service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Fuente de Piedra II Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fuente De Piedra Ii Hostal Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing