We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint Hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Posada Del Maple

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Posada Del Maple
Ranked #30 of 228 Quito B&B and Inns
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quaint Hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2009

This Hostel is really nice and I recommend. Breakfast is included in the price. The cost is about 30.00 a night for 3. I stayed at Maples with my 15yr old daughter and her father. The room was simple yet clean. I was worried I'd be cold but found that their blankets keep me warm. There was hot water at all times. There were a few common areas which I loved. Their decor was quaint. It has flavor. I found that there were people from all age groups which was important to me. I would have loved to have spent more time at Maples. The staff was friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lil_daly35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    69
    32
    6
    13
See reviews for
13
53
47
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2009

The staff is rude and unhelpful. They tried to overcharge us several times. The one computer is slow and always ocupied. The breakfast is horrible. It is really loud, and you can hear peoople yelling late at night since the3y don´t enforce the quiet time policy. There are about a hundred hostels in this area. Don´t worry about making reservations. Just tell your cab driver to take you to Deciembre Ave. and Juan Rodriguez. Go to any other hostel on that street.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GretaArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2009

It was the staff that made this hostel -- really warm and friendly, very patient with our rudimentary Spanish and making every effort to help us.
The rooms are kept very clean and are good value for money but vary quite a bit. Room 3 was on the ground floor and while absolutely fine for the price didn't get any sun and sometimes got a bit musty. The second time we stayed we got given a family room (room 10) which was much nicer up at the top of the building. The location is pretty good - just round the corner from La Mariscal but on a nice quiet street.
The breakfasts, which are included in the room price, are OK (juice, scrambled egg, toast, banana, tea/coffee) and they offer free luggage storage.
My only complaint would about be the free Internet access - most of the time the computer wasn't working and if it was then it was painfully slow.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snailsrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quito
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2008

I went there with my Girlfriend and we really liked it...it was clean, the breakfast was good and we liked the price and the location (maybe the best location in town). But what we liked the most was the staff, really friendly and ready to help you anytime! As Quito is really cold by night, I would prefer having an extra blanket. The bed was a kind of noisy and people start making some noise before 7am, but it is really quiet by night. The place is really nice. Overall it was a very good experience.

  • Liked — staff, location, character and breakfast
  • Disliked — cold bed, early noise, noisy bed
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2005

Another reviewer has said exactly what I was going to say but I’m going say it again to emphasise.

I loved this place. I found the staff wonderfully helpful & friendly. However they don’t speak any English but although I speak very basic Spanish we were fine.

The location of this place is great! Juan Rodríguez is a quite residential street. This is very important as most places have very little in way of insulation form sound. We slept very well.

As said, it is 1 min from the Ecovia (tram/bus) and 2 min from central Mariscal. Both proved very handy when exploring and going out at night.

We booked the taxi to pick us up from the airport for $8 (normally the taxis will charge you $6 unless you haggle when you can get it down to $4.50). Most flights come in at night, as did ours, we were shattered & it was heaven sent to see our name on a sign and be taken straight ‘home’.

We too stayed in the mini-suite. It is 1 stair up, not the sky-scraper described by another reviewer. The room was cosy, clean, had cable tv, a nice bathroom & plenty of hot water. The only bad thing I can say about it, is that the curtains didn’t quite close. The room had a little private hammock on a balcony which was a nice touch!

It was more expensive than other places we found in Ecuador but the breakfast is great and they provide a safe & free storage of your bags whilst you travel around. I must say that I don’t think $30 is bad value for money.

“I think it’s the perfect place to start your Ecuadorian trip – whist finding your legs!” We totally agree!

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ria_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2005

Stayed here four nights, over the course of a couple weeks. Staff was very friendly and remembered us upon our several returns (don't forget to ask for your key deposit back the night prior to departure if you're leaving early in the morning and there's no one at the front desk!). We stayed in the mini-suite, which was basic, had a TV and a very large shower w/ good water pressure.

Speaking Spanish whould have been very helpful.

This is a typical backpacker's hostal, and the noise in the common areas can be loud at night, esp. if you have to catch a flight early the next morning. Breakfast was ample and varied (eggs, toast, fruit, pancakes, fresh juice, etc...). While we did not stay in them, many of the other rooms were not en suite, and were shared with others.

Contrary to another review here, the mini-suite was not up several levels (though the place is 3 stories tall and has only stairs); it was up one flight of perfectly serviceable outdoor stairs. And while the place in general was a little rustic and worn, it was more than you might expect in a hotel in a third world country.

Our last night in Quito, we were supposed to stay here, but there was a problem with our reservation. We were hustled over to their sister hostal (2 blocks away), called the Alcala. The Alcala was much quieter, although it was a little closer to the 'action' in that section of town (Mariscal/new town).

All in all, we were satisfied with PdM, and if you're a young backpacker type, it'll probably be right up your alley.

We paid $30/night, including breakfast and tax.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Iansays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2004

after having reserved the "mini suite" we were very disapointed to find a room barely deserving the name "room"; a building backwards in maintenance, narrow unsafe staircase leading to room, low ceilings resembling a coffin, horrible decoration. Worse was the service, or better said lack of it. Rude indifferent personel, no help at all, one can not even use the phone against payment to call a taxi. However having reserved space the first and last night of our stay, we felt we had to go back and honour the reservation as a courtesy however no pre payment had been asked. Our only request was to give us another room, one where we did not have to climb inconvenient stairs and passing numerous levels, because continueing our trip to Europe we had to leave at 3 AM in the morning with a lot of luggage and realizing that there would be no assistance at all. To us this seemed to be a reasonable request ( there was space available and we were also willing to leave and look for other lodging), to them it appeared to be a mayor problem and finally we left with the owner of the hotel literarily yelling and insulting us in public. We felt totally harrassed. It was our worst experience in Quito, the rest of our stay was very pleasant and to be repeated.
We fully understand that a low to average budget hotel does not cater to high quality wishes and do not expect that. But a friendly service and a smile do wonders. Total lack of profesionalism, hospitality and efficiency!! Be aware, inviting descriptions can end in a nightmare!!!!!!
And a good look from the outside doesn't tell anything from what you will find behind the doors.
A real low class place!

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.9 mi away
L'Auberge Inn
L'Auberge Inn
#26 of 228 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Miguel Angel
Hotel Miguel Angel
#107 of 228 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Alcala
Hostal Alcala
#33 of 228 in Quito
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hostal Mia Leticia
Hostal Mia Leticia
#20 of 228 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kingdom Kichwa
Kingdom Kichwa
#23 of 228 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aleida's Hostal
Aleida's Hostal
#14 of 253 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Del Maple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Del Maple

Property: Posada Del Maple
Address: Juan Rodriguez E8-49 y 6 de Diciembre | La Mariscal, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 228 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Posada Del Maple 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated in the best and quite street of La Mariscal District,the touristic heart of Quito, close to everything you will required. We have:sharing dorms, sharing bath room and private bath rooms with TV sat. All include a great bufet breakfast.Communal services:sitting rooms, patios,terraces,kitchen with free hot beberages. Free internet and WiFi, free luggage storage and use of safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Posada Del Maple reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing