We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”
Review of Hotel Sierra Madre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Sierra Madre
Ranked #57 of 112 Hotels in Quito
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Friendly staff went out of their way to assist with lost baggage (airline) and answer my questions. I was impressed with the facilities. Wifi, water dispensers fresh towels/linen and good food all appreciated. Far exceeded what I expected in this price range. Great location close to older area as well as conveniences. The service is what made it though as a lone female traveller. Would definitely stay there again if I go back to Quito.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katnz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    63
    34
    11
    6
See reviews for
19
69
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I enjoyed my stay in the hotel. It was well located as it was near Mariscal area and only a short taxi ride from the centre of town.The room had good space and a good bathroom, and its own bacony. The staff were always friendly and helpful. The decor of the hotel is rustic and characterful, with timber and/or cermic floors.Highly recommended for a budget option.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DigbyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel two nights: one at the beginning of our trip and one night at the end. There was a room mix up both times because we paid for a room with a balcony and they originally put us in one without, but they did change it. Our view from the balcony was amazing! My boyfriend even went to the local shop and bought some beer and we just sat and admired the views after a long day of hiking and traveling. In the morning, the first thing I did was go out on the balcony and see the sleeping city.

The location is very close to Mariscal district, however it is a pretty young area and not really that interesting at night, unless you wanna eat burgers and drink for the same price you would in NY. (My boyfriend and I were looking for a more Ecuadorian influence)

The breakfast was good. We got the American breakfast and therefore, if we wante any of the cereal, cheese, or salami, we had to pay extra- it seemed rather silly, but whatever.

Overall it was really comfortable and we enjoyed the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chimmerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Excellent service at the hotel, Santiago and the other employees were very helpful and made me feel like I was home. The food was good, and they had plenty of information about places to stay and visit in Quito. Of course I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Quito is not the safest, and the street this hotel on feels like most in the city, but the hotel is adorable, and the staff very friendly. They have signs explaining the hot water situation, and we got upgraded on our way out to the suite which has a GREAT view from the balcony. I would go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RN2travel365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed only one night before our flight to Cuenca. The desk clerk spoke pretty good English and was very helpful. He was happy to call and book our hotel in Cuenca for us. We missed breakfast so can't vouch for that. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatStLgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The room was really big for the price, the hotel works with your needs. Really clean rooms, hot shower. Wifi is excellent in the room. I recommend, very helpful and nice. Great hotel that's close enough to the airport. its near a mall with taxi. Can walk to mcdonalds and get a mcfiesta. Breakfast that's included is nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.3 mi away
Antinea
Antinea
#40 of 112 in Quito
142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel 6 De Diciembre
Hotel 6 De Diciembre
#78 of 112 in Quito
9 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cayman Hotel
Cayman Hotel
#39 of 112 in Quito
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Boutique Plaza Sucre
0.5 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#9 of 112 in Quito
508 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vieja Cuba
Vieja Cuba
#18 of 112 in Quito
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sierra Madre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sierra Madre

Property: Hotel Sierra Madre
Address: Veintimilla e9-33 y Luis Tamayo, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 112 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sierra Madre 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Sierra Madre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Madre Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing