We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff, charming hotel”
Review of Hotel Sierra Madre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sierra Madre
Ranked #61 of 113 Hotels in Quito
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We were there for one night prior to our Galapagos excursion and 4 nights after. The hotel is an old charming house with a quirky layout, with hot showers and comfortable beds. The first night we had a room in the front with a beautiful view of the volcanoes surrounding the city.

The staff were wonderful and very helpful in giving us advice on what to see and do and how to get around. Because the hotel is located within walking distance of many shops and good restaurants, we walked around and enjoyed sightseeing.

On our trip back from the Galapagos, we booked 3 tours with the hotel. They were wonderful! Our tour guide was knowledgeable and very sweet and took us to spend a day walking to the various historic churches, museums, and plazas. Then we drove to and climbed Cotopaxi Volcano, which was so amazing. We stopped in a country-side hotel/restaurant that looked like it could be in Austria or Switzerland and had a delicious lunch.

Our last tour was to a hot-spring spa at the foot of one of the dormant volcanoes surrounding Quito, to soak away our sore muscles from our Galapagos Island tour and the two local tours. Heaven!

At the hotel, we specially liked the night front desk agent, Sebastian, who was most helpful in giving us directions to places to go at night which were safe to walk to and fun.

The only shortcoming is that the hotel does not have a elevator and climbing to our room at the end of the day's walks was a bit difficult.




Stayed May/June 2012, traveled as a couple

Room Tip: Room Tip: the rooms in the back are quieter, but the street-facing ones have balconies or views of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danette55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 157 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2012

We have just spent three nights here. When we booked it, we asked for a quiet room. What we had not anticipated was the adjustment to the altitude and trying to climb to the very top on the building. As we were gasping for air, we motioned that we would need a room on a lower floor. This could have been our mistake. We were on the first floor, so we could hear everyone in the lobby. I think our room was over the kitchen area too, as we could hear them preparing in the early mornings.

I would not agree that the hotel or the rooms are dated. I believe they are tastefully decorated in a cultural decor that may not be up to someone's standards. What I did find amusing and a bit off-putting were the number of Catholic statues in the lobby and in the breakfast room. There is a fantastic painting of a Panama hat maker in the lobby that would love to bring home.

Our breakfast was included in the cost through the booking agency we used. There was sufficient variety for me to eat a healthy breakfast and I am a newly diagnosed diabetic. My partner was more than satisfied.

We were warned to use taxis after 9:30 pm. It is an easy walk to many restaurants and clubs, but Old Town requires either a sketchy bus ride (we had our bags slit open while holding them in front of us) or taking a taxi.

Aside from this, the staff was excellent and very accommodating.

Room Tip: Try for the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BudaBaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed here a total of 4 nights before / after a Galapogos trip, its used by several 'adventure" operators apparently. Its an older converted building so the rooms are scattered but that's quite appealing. It's clean but dated, and in the new town its an easy walk from lots of bars / diners and shops.

The breakfast is only $5 and included eggs cooked for you (scrambled or fried), but not worth too much more except for the convenience. We didn't eat there otherwise, and the bar there seems to be abandoned (we bought beer at the corner shop and drank on the terrace though).

The one other complaint I had was that we were initially placed in an en-suite double room tucked under the stairs that had no window except one that looked in on the corridor! We were too shattered to care when we first arrived but made sure to get a 2nd floor room on the 2nd visit.

It could be noisy as previously reported but the area is safe-ish after dark and the staff were all very helpful at all times, booking cabs and tables. It has phones, TV and WiFi so too so all in all, not bad for the convenient zero-star budget place that it is.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grahampm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

You can not complain about friendliness of the staff or cleanliness, but 2 things are really annoying.
1) it is very loud and noisy at nighttime. You are able to hear your neighbor going to the toilet and caughing. Outside the window was a hot water boiler which made a lot of noise though we were hardly able to sleep the first night. Changed rooms then and had the bad luck that a group of new guests checked in at 1am and we woke up again until every one had his room set. Than a guy started talking on a mobile at night near the front desk, it felt like he was in our room.
2) water was regularly not available, had to ask at the front desk to "turn it on again please"

= at all times, try to avoid room nr. 3 ;)

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr-Aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Sierra Madre as a part of a tour group before and after a trip to the Galapagos Islands. During both stays, the staff was friendly and helpful. All of the staff spoke English, yet were still patient at our attempts to speak to them in Spanish. An optional breakfast buffet was inexpensive ($3.50) and satisfying, however if you have a very early departure, breakfast will not be available. Our experience in the rooms varied slightly depending on room assignment. While both rooms were clean, it seems that the rooms on the top floors have been redone most recently. Request a room on the top floors and expect to have newer (read: more comfortable) beds/bedding and charming decor (exposed ceiling beams, iron chandeliers, etc.) The bathrooms in both rooms were clean, and the majority of our group of 16 had hot water for showers (only a few were unlucky in this regard).

A large shared balcony was a great place to meet as a group and enjoy a view of the city and the mountains at sunset. Pick up some food at the grocery store for appetizers on the balcony or order food in to enjoy a quiet night.

Other perks:
-The hotel stored excess luggage for all group members while we completed the Galapagos leg of the trip. Luggage was secure and in good shape upon return. They stored luggage again after we checked out and waiting for our very late flight out that evening.
-Within walking distance to a grocery store and restaurants.
-Hotel will call a taxi and help to ensure you get an appropriate price (no more than $6 to the airport.)

Overall, a nice stay!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 30_by_thirty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Sierra Madre overnight on a return trip from the States to our home in Cuenca. Arriving very late, we were warmly greeted and shown to our room. The hotel is a converted old home with clean rooms, comfortable beds, and plenty of hot water. Furnishings are modest in keeping with the hotel's mid-range price. The Internet connection is strong, and the bilingual staff is very friendly and helpful.

The next morning after the typical included Ecuadorian breakfast (eggs, bread, coffee, fresh fruit & juice) I took a walk around the neighborhood and was pleased to find the hotel is a short distance from the vibrant Mariscal area with its many restaurants and clubs, but far enough away to avoid the accompanying noise. It is also a 10 minute ride to the historic district and reasonably close to the airport.

After two years of disappointing accommodations elsewhere we have finally found a "way station" in Quito for our trips back and forth to visit family in the US. I recommend Hotel Sierra Madre to fellow travelers.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eddsaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We just came back from Ecuador and enjoyed our stay at Sierra Madre Hotel in Quito. We were there for two nights prior to our Galapagos excursion and one night after. Yes, the hotel is old but that is what gives it charm and beauty. We had hot showers (just give it time to warm up) and comfy beds.

The staff was so very helpful in giving us advice on what to see and do and how to get around. It is located within walking distance of many shops and good restaurants. If you like to walk, you can do what we did and spend a day walking to the various historic churches, museums, and plazas. The night front desk agent, Sebastian, was most helpful in giving us directions to places to go at night which were safe to walk to and fun.

The only shortcoming is that the walls are sort of thin and the floors creaky. It would be just fine if people remembered to walk and talk quietly. Unfortunately, we had rude neighbors (a group of five or six sharing two rooms next to us) who decided to talk loudly to each other in the halls late at night and stomped on the floors/stairs early in the morning as they left.

Room Tip: Our last night we stayed in Room 13 - it's all the way at the top, but if you don't mind the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunchaser22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.3 mi away
Cayman Hotel
Cayman Hotel
#36 of 113 in Quito
133 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Barnard
Hotel Barnard
#47 of 113 in Quito
107 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rio Amazonas
Hotel Rio Amazonas
#32 of 113 in Quito
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#10 of 113 in Quito
522 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal Zentrum
Hostal Zentrum
#35 of 113 in Quito
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sierra Madre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sierra Madre

Address: Veintimilla e9-33 y Luis Tamayo, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 113 Hotels in Quito
Price Range: $61 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sierra Madre 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sierra Madre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Madre Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing