We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and clean.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ambassador

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Ambassador
Ranked #93 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Fort Wayne, IN
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Cheap and clean.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

The place is pretty tired. Our room was battered and a bit shabby, but everything was clean. Others in our group seemed to have somewhat better rooms, but overall the place has seen its better days. Location seems to be safe and busy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank todste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    12
    8
    5
    7
See reviews for
10
7
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

I started staying at this hotel in 1998 when I was in Ecuador with the military. It became my favorite place to stay until one of my bags was stolen from the lobby when I was checking out. The desk clerk claimed she did not see anyone near my bags which were no more that 5 feet away from me next to the wall in direct line of site of the desk. I like the hotel but now I have serious concerns about the security there. I am experienced enough to expect that these things happen but they were not concerned at all about employee theft.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Randall S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Quito hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Isla de Margarita
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

Have stayed at this hotel several times while in Quito.
The location cannot be beat-close to the Mariscal district and a short tram ride into old town.
Rooms are dated but acceptable-avoid rooms on the third floor (or attic) they are up in the roof line of the building and the bathroom was made for midgets.
The older part of the hotel is full of carved wood features. Ask for one of the rooms on the second floor of the old part of the hotel-they are very spacious.
Hotel has good hot water showers which is a must in cold Quito.
The Sheraton this is not but for the price its a good choice in Quito.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank info_posadamargarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada Hills, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2009

This is the third time we've stayed at Hotel Ambassador. The price was excellent for us - approximatley $51 per night for a family of 5 (which includes 21, 18 and 17 year olds). The room was large, plenty of hot water. This is a great budget hotel which is in the slow process of remodeling. The towels also need to be updated as they were a bit flimsy. The carpets are quite worn and you could see there is some renovation going on on the first floor. If you are unable to climb stairs, request a first floor room. The hotel architecture is great. The location is excellent. You can walk to the bus that takes you to the bus terminals for the equator or Otavalo. You can have the same hotel food in the cafe located right around the corner (to the right) as it's part of the hotel. We were able to get internet access near the reception desk. There is a male hotel clerk at night that is very courteous and helpful. The blonde curly haired lady is a bit brusque, not as friendly. We would return to the hotel if we have a chance. If you're a snob, don't bother as the worn carpet will bother you.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecilia58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Inca Imperial
Hotel Inca Imperial
#63 of 114 in Quito
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.4 mi away
Embassy Hotel
Embassy Hotel
#55 of 114 in Quito
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel David
Hotel David
#97 of 114 in Quito
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel 6 De Diciembre
Hotel 6 De Diciembre
#77 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Suites Gonzalez Suarez
3.2 mi away
Hotel Capital Inn
Hotel Capital Inn
#102 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambassador

Property: Hotel Ambassador
Address: De Octubre y Colon 9, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ambassador 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing