We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel in the Crown”
Review of Guayasamin Museum

Guayasamin Museum
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$115.00*
and up
Cultural Tour of Quito Including Artisan Chocolate Tasting
Ranked #6 of 206 things to do in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This museum features exhibits related to the Ecuadorian contemporary artist Oswaldo Guayasamín including posters, signed prints and colonial religious art.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Jewel in the Crown”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

This is more than just a museum - it is an homage to a great talent - displaying his work and giving insight into his life
The guides are a great plus to making a visit a memorable and educational experience
This should be on the must see list of every visitor to Quito

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Loraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    695
    196
    31
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lynbrook, New York
Level Contributor
190 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Pacefull Place”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

I visited the Guayasamin museum last year, it is mandatory visit of me to see the beautiful work of the famous painter Guayasamin. It is a very calm, cosy place where you can scape from the chaos and noise of the city.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank marcelonyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly amazing”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We read about Capilla del Hombre in our travel book, but were unfamiliar with the Guayasamin Museum. We were very surprised and pleased with what we saw.

The Guayasamin Museum is essentially the house of Oswald Guayasamin, an incredibly Ecuadorian painter. His house is amazing in and of itself, but it houses a wide variety of works, including a collection of his own works. The museum includes a free guide (ours only spoke Spanish, but we were able to follow along) and includes videos of Guayasamin describing his work, and one amazing video of him creating a painting.

After we completed the tour of his home / museum, we went to Capilla del Hombre, which houses even more of his art. Unfortunately, there was a private event that night and we weren't able to view the whole exhibit, but really loved what we saw.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ladyxlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st louis mo
Level Contributor
202 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Don't miss this!”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Not knowing anything about the artist, we found this museum fascinating! Get a guide when you enter (free and waiting for guests) to explain Guayasamin's life and passion to you in order to fully appreciate his work. Visit his home, also which is adjacent and included in the price (home is not open on Sunday). The home is FILLED with stunning art from other periods.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank stltraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Fascinating, worth a detour”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We had not heard of this Ecuadorian artist, but we were really interested in the architecture of the house, the contents and of course Guaysamin himself. There are a couple of interesting paintings from other artists too, notably Picasso and Chagall, but the majority are his. We found some of them beautiful, all of them strong, and some quite hard, depending on the different periods of his long artistic life. The tour of the house, and then the chapel are fascinating. It is located high above the city affording great views of the city.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank havecrocswilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guayasamin Museum also viewed

 
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Guayasamin Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing