We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of Quito”
Review of Guayasamin Museum

Guayasamin Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$115.00*
and up
Cultural Tour of Quito Including Artisan Chocolate Tasting
More Info
$87.00*
and up
Museums of Quito
More Info
$8.00*
and up
Capilla del Hombre and Guayasamin Museum Admission Ticket
Ranked #6 of 201 things to do in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This museum features exhibits related to the Ecuadorian contemporary artist Oswaldo Guayasamín including posters, signed prints and colonial religious art.
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highlight of Quito”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

My host family brought us here - and I am so glad we went. We learned a lot and the artwork was powerful and beautiful.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank StephanieP436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    716
    200
    36
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A World Class Artist who is unknown in US”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The museum has a collection of over sized works of art that have an overwhelming impact on the the viewer. His collection of Hands captures the expression of the moods and pains that we suffer in our life time....The gardens are great for meditation as you are surrounded by indigenous sculptures with a modern flair.....For the ladies,his art to wear are conversation pieces. He studied with the Mexican artists of the 40's...His work can also be found in the UNESCO headquarters. Great art has no boundaries. Read about INCA art before visiting museum to appreciate his art.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Chasgon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen Co., New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path, but worth it”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Oswaldo Guayasamin is not particularly well-known in the US but this 20th century impressionist is a national treasure in Ecuador for his anti-imperialist and pro-indigenous views. This museum is located in a residential section of Quito and like others, our cab driver had difficulty finding it.

One building of this modest-sized museum focuses on his impressive collection of pre-Columbian art and pottery, while the balance focuses on his own art, which reminds the neophyte (like myself) of a dark Picasso.

The staff is very passionate (reminding me of the Frank Lloyd Wright disciples who run Taliesin West in Arizona) and more than happy to provide a guided tour or overview, which is needed since no printed guides are provided.

This visit is not a long one (the coffee shop was closed on this Monday afternoon) and I would double it up with a tour of Capilla del Hombre (the museum ticket provides you either a discount/free admission).

Also, this is not a place for children. While everyone was very pleasant, there is a reverence to the artist here that is VERY adult-focused. While I may not agree with Guayasamin's political views, I am better for having learned about him and his work. While not a "must see", I am glad I went.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank World17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It's Okay”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

To be completely honest with you, it's very boring and it has a misleading name it's more of an art museum than a temple. It has it's charm once you walk in but the old architecture slowly turns into a modern day building with an over priced gift shop on the roof.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank United737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World Traveler
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“A Supreme Disappointment”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I was looking forward to my visit to the Guayasamin Museum but was disappointed in the monotony of the collection. You won't need to spend much time here. Getting to the museum in its out-of-the-way location in a residential neighborhood was dicey due to the dodgy characters roaming nearby. Best to travel with others and keep an eye about you. But why bother. There are so many more attractions in Quito and better collections at the Casa de Cultura and the Museum of Contemporary Art.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guayasamin Museum also viewed

 
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Guayasamin Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing