We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good boutique hotel, but needs airport pickup option.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
Ranked #19 of 111 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Good boutique hotel, but needs airport pickup option.”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful rooms. Chandeliers, gorgeous beds. Very nice breakfast. The staff were very professional. The massage therapist was good, but avoid the massages that use a bath as instead of a deep tub, they have only given her a regular bathroom tub that is short and shallow and it felt weird being in it with her there. Other massages that include an herbal or chocolate soak use deeper more luxurious tubs. That being said the actual massage was very well done.

The ony complaint we have is that the hotel did not have a reasonable airport pickup option. When we emailed for a reservation we were referred to their booking agency that wanted $100 one-way for airport pickup. The government has a flat rate of about $30 from the airport and this was easy to arrange on arrival. Getting to the airport the hotel did arrange a $35 ride, but we had to ask the driver ourselves about the price, rather than it being pre-determined, which at 5am was a little unnerving. Finally, when we asked about restaurant recommendations, they really did not have good ones in mind. The only one they suggested was Pims, which was way too touristy, expensive, and not very good.

As a hotel, it was great staying there. Service as a hotel was great. They could work just a bit on airport pickup and being able to make local recommendations, the it would be a TripAdvisor 5-score.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sanfranciscotown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAULA H, Manager at Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear San Franciscotwon,

Your constructive comments in regards to your recent visit to Mansion del Angel are very much appreciated and we are happy that you as a matter of fact did enjoy your stay with us.
In regards to the reference to airport to hotel transportation I like to make the following declaration:

Before the new airport opened nobody was able to give an exact rate for this service. So when prospective clients wanted to know what charge would be applied, we opted for the $ 100 price for the 45 km long and as we understood more than two hour drive and not $ 180 which other properties were going to charge. In the meantime the local Government is working very hard on the roads leading to and from the capital and it takes less time to travel. For that reason we have negotiated a transfer rate provided by a trustworthy, on time and secure private company at US$ 70.00 for the trip, which still remains 45 km long but at times traveling time (right now because schools are on holidays) is less. And once all roads have been completed we are sure that we will be able to charge a lesser rate for the same excellent service. We realize that taxis are less expensive but unfortunately, we are not able nor willing to recommend any passing by in particular because they set up their own rates .

I am sure you were given the option to look at the book published by the City and it is called QUITO GOURMET and which offers approximately 150 different places where to dine in and around the city. The staff has been instructed not to mention a particular place which advertises in this book but rather leave the decision to the guest. If any one of us did mentioned Pims, I apologize.

Thank you again for having chosen Mansion del Angel and with kind regards, I remain, Pahola Haro, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    70
    18
    5
    6
See reviews for
54
198
22
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

What a fantastic hotel. Every staff member, at every second, obviously cared that your every need was met. We were fortunate enough to stay in Suite 208. We walked into the room and I gasped at the two very large rooms, a huge four poster bed,and gorgious antique Italian design furniture. For the final touch, a huge blooming orchid plant adorned the coffee table. We arrived as tired tourists and within minutes had been transformed into a Duke and Duchess residing in fairytale surroundings. Breakfast was presented in a charming dining room, and the meal itself served under those silver domes one sees in movies. Everything was quite delicious. The hotel is not far from Old Town, although not within wallking distance. The area is not one allowing a person to feel particularly comfortable walking around anyway, and a taxi is so inexpensive, why worry. Do set the rate when you enter the cab. Sometimes when there is a lot of congestion on the streets, the driver charges more. Sometimes, congestion doesn't seem to matter. It seems to be how the driver is feeling at the moment even with the "meter". There is no elevator to the second floor of the hotel, by the way, but staff handles luggage with a smile. You are going to have a delightful experience at the Mansion del Angel. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Our suite was upstairs front. Some car sirens going off, but in a city that can be expected.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rock37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at the Mansion of Angels for a few days in May 2013. The hotel is magnificent and is located within walking distance of the historic center. They serve a beautiful breakfast of fresh fruit juices and breads followed by an invitation to order eggs and style and your choice of breakfast meats. They also had tea every afternoon where you could meet with other guests which was very enjoyable.
I was speechless when I saw the bedroom with its sitting room, beautiful bathroom, and a glass door to our own private garden. The rooms and the furniture and accessories were all so beautiful down to the big pot of orchids in the sitting room and the rose petals in the toilet. All the rooms public and private were very clean.
After saying all these wonderful things about the building I have to say the best part of the hotel was the staff. Everyone was helpful and courteous. The manager at the desk spoke fluent English and helped us navigate tour, restaurants, flights, lost phones, and a late dinner at the hotel when we arrived in a rainstorm late the first night ( and that dinner was fabulous). They also have a gorgeous little spa in the garden with excellent staff. We will always remember the wonderful experience we had at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAULA H, Manager at Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Helen L,

The sun is finally shining in Quito after a more than usual long rainy season during the past couple of months and with this sunny prediction we received your lovely comments in regards to a stay in May. That was a real pleasure and the entire staff joins me in thanking you so much for your obviously honest opinion which might inspire future guests to come for a visit. Thanks again and wishing you a wonderful summer. Kind regards Pahola Haro, Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land
Level 6 Contributor
462 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This was a very nice hotel decorated in a Victorian style, which is not quite my taste. It is on the edge of old town. In our travels we did notice some boutique hotels in the center of old town that appeared much nicer and more to my taste. The staff was extremely helpful and the food in their Bistro was excellent. They have a small Spa with one woman who runs it, so if you want to use it you'll have to plan ahead.

Room Tip: Every room is different. It would be fun to experience them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAULA H, Manager at Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Greg W,

It was pleasing to read your nice comments about the staff and the food and this is much appreciated. Thank you for your kind assessment of Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel. Best regards Pahola Haro, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honolulu
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

A wonderful three night stay in Quito before our trip to the Galapagos.

My partner and I try to avoid the bigger hotel chains whenever we travel and prefer to stay in smaller boutique hotels or B&B's instead. Selecting this hotel was a wonderful choice... it gave us the unique experience we always enjoy and far exceeded our expectations. Staying in this historical mansion was truly charming.

Our host Sr. Jorge Espinosa and his staff could not have been more accommodating, pleasant and helpful....they gave us the individual care and attention that only staying in this style hotel can offer.
Sr. Espinosa suggested restaurants (dining at the hotel is an option as well and our dinner was "muy delicioso"), offered sightseeing itineraries and called taxi's for us whenever we needed them.
The hotel is conveniently located to both Old City and the Mariscal District.

We hope to return to Quito and will definitely stay here again.

Jeff and Ross

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stewardiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAULA H, Manager at Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear stewardiss,

How encouraging to receive the excellent comments about your recent stay at MdA. That made our day and we truly enjoyed having been able to contribute to your stay while in Quito. Thank you so much and with pleasure do we look forward to another visit in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Pahola Haro, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2013

A short but lovely stay at the Mansion. Wonderful staff that go out of their way to meet your needs. Perfect location because you are close to the Old City but tucked away from the noise of the city. While we only stayed for a day, the hotel was just what we needed before setting out on our Ecuadorian exploration.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAULA H, Manager at Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear AnnH,

We always appreciate nice comments about the stay of our clients and for this reason I take the opportunity to thank you very much indeed for taking your time to refer to your recent – maybe all too short visit – to Mansion del Angel. Kindest regards, Pahola Haro, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My visit and I had the opportunity to stay at the Mansion del Angel both before and after our trip to the Galapagos. This quickly became one of our favorite hotels anywhere. The staff is amazing from the owner, Sr.Espinoza on through everyone with whom we came into contact. The rooms are large and lavishly decorated with high ceilings and great views. Although, as others have said, some taxis have a hard time finding the hotel. We liked the location because we could easily walk to the old town area. We plan to return many times in the future. Many of the better restaurants are a couple of miles away but that is not a problem. The staff will gladly call you a cab and fares are very cheap--$2 to $5 each way.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PCHoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAULA H, Manager at Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear PCHoran,

Indeed it was a pleasure to read your lovely comments about your recent stay and on behalf of all of us trying to make Mansion del Angel successful I wish to thank you very much indeed. While we perfectly know that we are not totally perfect, messages like yours inspire to become better every day. Thank you and kind regards, Pahola Haro, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
1.1 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#2 of 111 in Quito
669 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#8 of 111 in Quito
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
2.6 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#4 of 111 in Quito
459 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel

Property: Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
Address: Calle Los Rios N13-134 y Pasaje Ascencio Gandara, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Quito
#7 Spa Hotel in Quito
#10 Luxury Hotel in Quito
#13 Family Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This former mansion, built in the 19th century, overlooks Alameda Park and is a 10-minute walk from Quito's historic quarter. It offers luxurious accommodations and free Wi-Fi. Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel is restored in its original charm. The large and spacious rooms and suites all feature a unique decor. Each one differs in size, color and decoration. They have hardwood floors and are equipped with LCD satellite TV, a sitting area and a work desk. Guests can enjoy breakfast in Mansion del Angel's glassed patio. A complimentary tea is served in the communal living room every day at 5 p.M. Ecuadorian and international cuisine is prepared during the evening and room service is available 24/7. This boutique hotel offers a tour desk that can arrange city tours with private guide and several day tours. Transportation to and from the airport is also available. There is 24-hour front desk service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion Del Angel Quito
Mansion Del Angel Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing