We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
Ranked #22 of 112 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We just spent 2 wonderful days in this beautful hotel/mansion.
The furnishings were. Incredibly elegant.
The location is excellent and the staff is very helpful.
But the best part is the very reasonable price.
We would return in a heartbeat !
Oh and the breakfasts were great

Room Tip: We stayed in room 101
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAULA H, Manager at Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Rstan,

I like to thank you very much indeed for your kind words in regard to your recent stay with us and we look forward welcoming you again on a return trip to Quito. All the best and kind regards
Pahola Haro
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 358 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2013

Our room was superb - high ceilings, monumental fireplace, columns, four poster bed and a vase of perfect Ecuadorean roses. The ensuite was equally elegant and well-equipped. I was a bit nervous when I realised we overlooked the street but the small side street in which the hotel is located has little traffic at at any time. Its close enough to the historic centre to walk in daylight, but apparently not safe to do so after dark. However taxis are very reasonable and the small hotel restaurant is quite sophisticated. There is a lovely surprise at the rear of the hotel - a charming garden, complete with humming birds - a delightful spot for an afternoon drink. The staff were very helpful at any time of the day or night. The furnishings are personal and local - it felt like we were staying in someone's (luxurious) home.

Room Tip: Room 101 was lovely - the roses a much appreciated touch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MacSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAULA H, Manager at Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Dear MacSydney,

I wanted to take this opportunity to thank you on behalf of all of us who make Mansion del Angel a home away from home. Your comments are much appreciated and I can tell you that you made the Staff very happy. It was almost as a birthday present. Thank you so much.

Paula Haro
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for several nights on our way to and from the Galapagos. It truly was a high point of our stay in Quito and we looked forward to our return stays there on our way through. The hotel is lovely, with beautiful rooms and private gardens. We stayed in room 103 on the main floor which is a beautiful quiet king bed suite at the side of the hotel with doors out onto a private garden. The rain forest shower was great. I think the rooms on the upper floor overlooking the gardens would be as nice and as quiet.The breakfast was good, served in a charming atrium at the back. The staff were very helpful and made us feel welcome whenever we returned. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the heart of the old town in an interesting busy residential neighbourhood.. Although there are no restaurants in the immediate vicinity, it is only a $3 cab ride to the old town. (and at night you should take cabs in Quito wherever you are, for safety reasons) You can prearrange to eat dinner in the hotel if you want. We didn't, preferring to go to the old town. Tip. Take a hotel card with you as well as the tourist map from the hotel showing the location of the hotel because many cab drivers don't immediately recognize the hotel's location. (maybe it was our poor spanish) but with the map we had no problem. In reference to an earlier reviewer's complaint about security I note that between our visits the safe in the room had been replaced with a very secure new unit so clearly the hotel takes security very seriously. All in all it was a wonderful experience and if ever we return to Quito we will definitely stay at the Mansion del Angel

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel may be a little noisy during the day. Rooms at the side or back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank foo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAULA H, Manager at Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Foo52,

All of us at Mansion del Angel are deeply in debt with you in regards to your kind and constructive comments and in particular the mentioning of the new and secure safes which we immediately installed after the disastrous comment from a former client. Thank you very much indeed. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Kind regards
Pahola Haro
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

My cousin and I stayed at the MdA for a week, and thoroughly enjoyed it! We had suite 206, and it was very spacious and comfortable. The only thing that was a bother was the dogs barking throughout the night, but earplugs helped resolve that issue. The staff always warmly greeted us, made us feel at home, and helped take care of whatever need that arose. They arranged the hotel transfer from the airport for our arrival ($40 to be paid in cash), which was nice we didn't have to worry since we arrived at midnight. On the way back they called a cab for us - the $10 ride was just fine. They hired a driver for a day for us, and we liked him so much we hired him the next as well. The food at the hotel was outstanding! Breakfast was always filling, and dinner was superb! You must try the locro soup, the chicken risotto, and the baked apple for dessert. Just writing this makes my mouth water! Patricia was delightful - she made the best hot chocolate for us, always kept our water glasses full as we tried to stay hydrated, and always always had a smile and kind word. The gentlemen that worked the desk in the evenings were very friendly and helpful as well. I loved that when we got "home" after a day of touring about that we didn't have to leave to go out again for dinner.
I would definitely stay here again if/when I return to Quito!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingtexan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

I also stayed at the Marriott for a conference that week and would choose this place hands down instead. Much better value for money as it was less expensive, but also a much nicer stay as it is an intimate converted house. The only downside is that it's not walking distance to anything. Having said that, cabs are very inexpensive and we hired a driver by the hour to show us around.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrenchieMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAULA H, Manager at Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

FrenchieMac,

How very kind of you to write a comment in regards to your recent stay, assuming that you are a very occupied and busy person. We would love to welcome you back. Thanks so much. Pahola Haro, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Spent three nights here and must say it is one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in! I have been all over the world and spent many nights in 5* hotels and this hotel can any of them a run for their money. Lovely rooms (hot water bottles at night and rose petals in toilet!), wonderful staff and one of the best restaurants I ate in during my two weeks in Ecuador. A bit off the beaten path but that is exactly what we wanted - it was quiet and has a beautiful garden in back to relax and enjoy after a long day of sightseeing. If I spent the whole two weeks here and never left I would have been happy. Don't miss it!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAULA H, Manager at Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Barbara C,

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with your family and we do appreciate you taking time to write such a lovely report, which hopefully will entice future clients to visit is as well. Thank you. Pahola Haro, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We spent 3 night at la Mansión del Angel before going to Galápagos (Dec 29, 30 and 31). The hotel is a restored old mansion close to downtown Quito. The staff is really friendly and helpful. They helped us to organize plans for lunch and dinner as well as good city tour. The garden is beautiful and the 5:00 p.m. tea is lovely. The breakfast was really good and the restaurant is excellent. Highly recommend to select Hotel Mansión del Angel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pacazuleta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAULA H, Manager at Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

pacazuleta,

May I take this opportunity to thank you on behalf of all of us here at Mansion del Angel for your kind comments in regards to your recent stay. All of us send you a big thank you very much. Kind regards Pahola Haro, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.6 mi away
Casa El Eden
Casa El Eden
#1 of 112 in Quito
300 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#10 of 112 in Quito
1,218 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#6 of 112 in Quito
541 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
10.5 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel

Address: Calle Los Rios N13-134 y Pasaje Ascencio Gandara, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Quito
#7 Spa Hotel in Quito
#13 Luxury Hotel in Quito
#13 Family Hotel in Quito
Price Range: $125 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This former mansion, built in the 19th century, overlooks Alameda Park and is a 10-minute walk from Quito's historic quarter. It offers luxurious accommodations and free Wi-Fi. Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel is restored in its original charm. The large and spacious rooms and suites all feature a unique decor. Each one differs in size, color and decoration. They have hardwood floors and are equipped with LCD satellite TV, a sitting area and a work desk. Guests can enjoy breakfast in Mansion del Angel's glassed patio. A complimentary tea is served in the communal living room every day at 5 p.M. Ecuadorian and international cuisine is prepared during the evening and room service is available 24/7. This boutique hotel offers a tour desk that can arrange city tours with private guide and several day tours. Transportation to and from the airport is also available. There is 24-hour front desk service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion Del Angel Quito
Mansion Del Angel Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing