We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and classic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
Ranked #20 of 116 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2011

We felt like we were the only people in the hotel during our stay. It was tranquil and lovely each time we walked up the staircase to the front door - a haven in the midst of a bustling town. Our room looked out on the street in front and had a lovely sitting area with a vase of long stemmed red roses awaiting us. Our bed was comfortable and beautifully draped with curtains. The only issue was the size of the bathroom - a trifle small for two people - we had to take turns in there getting ready. The food was good and I enjoyed starting the day with their breakfasts. The hotel set us up with a tour guide who was absolutely fabulous - he spent the day with us touring Quito and then we engaged him for the second day to head to Otovalo. It was a great experience and without his help, it would not have been as great a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErinLeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 368 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2011

This hotel is definitely a great choice for your stay in Quito. The staff was outstanding. The service impeccable. Our room was clean and masterfully appointed. 20 foot ceilings with a canopy king bed. Wow! My wife and I celebrated our 25th anniversary here and were not dissappointed. Very comfortable mattress with a heated blanket for those chilly Quito nights. The breakfast was excellent with eggs cooked to order every morning. Scrambled, fried or poached, all cooked to perfection. Fresh fruit that we just can not get in the US. If you go to South America looking for an American type hotel with McDonalds close by, then maybe you should stay somewhere else. If you are looking to experience Quito as it is, then this is a perfect choice. We were glad to pay $150.00 per night for our king room. Close to Alameda Park and both the historic district and the new district, it is located for the tourist who wants to experience all of the beautiful sites and wonderful food of Quito. We loved it!

Room Tip: The upstairs suite was enormous. Lots of windows in every room. I saw someone mentioned the security...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramsdenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We really liked this hotel, but were not going to do much traveling around Quito itself. We were looking for a non-big-chain place to stay on our way to the Galapagos Islands - and this place was perfect.
The rooms were charming, the hot water bottles at our feet to warm the beds were awesome. the bathrooms were clean and provided great towels and toiletries.
Breakfast was delicious and filling (coffee was fantastic too). They even made us a nice private early breakfast on the morning we left for the Galapagos at 5:00.
I agree that the area was not ideal - however, let's be honest -- what part of Quito doesn't have a little danger?? I never felt particularly safe in the town anywhere.
Our hotel recommended some places to eat in the old town and we took a cab to get there and back. It was easy.
In summary - great for our purposes, charming and lovely. If you want a walkable place, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mms_nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

The hotel was magnificent with large, beautiful rooms. Our room, number 208 had a large sitting room and a canopy king bed. The breakfast was wonderful with fruit, rolls, eggs, etc. etc. The staff was also very accommodating.

Now for the down side. The light in the room was not sufficient to be able to read - we needed to use flashlights at night. There was no central heating - yes, no heating. There were fireplaces, but were not useable. As we were there in October, it was quite cold in the room. There was no elevator and there were many steep stairs to the front door and then more stairs to the second floor. As the ceilings were very high, that made for a lot of stairs at a very high altitude.

Beautiful old mansion, lovely atmosphere, but not convenient to actually stay there. The kind of place it would be better to visit.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the back, as the ones in front can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

The hotel itself is fairly nice, but not really worth the money. You kind of feel like you are in a prison, and it is not safe to leave the hotel (which shouldn't be the case when on holiday). The rooms are unique and are very nice (not like most hotels you stay in). The staff are pleasant and efficient. Breakfasts are good. All in all the hotel is nice, but unless you just want to stay in a hotel i would not stay here again. Most people go to Quito to see the city, and if this is what you want to do, i would not stay in this hotel. Furthermore, do not make phonecalls from your room, they will try and over-charge you. They tried to charge me $80 for a 5 minute international call!

Room Tip: The area looks a little dangerous (mind you we had no hassle)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dr_duddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

My wife and I stayed here during a trip to Quito and the Galapagos. As noted in other posts, it's truley a beautiful old mansion complete with antiques and gardens. The staff was excellent, they accomodated our late arrival, opened the kitchen for us, and ensured we were comfortable throughout our stay. It's within 15 minute walk of the Old Town historic district -- very convenient if you have plans to tour this area. We plan to return to Quito on another trip and will definitly stay here again!

Room Tip: We stayed in a Suite that had a sitting room with fireplace and private garden access -- very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

There's chocolate-smelling soap in the bathroom. The mansion is in a bad neighborhood (or maybe all of Quito is a bad neighborhood?): they literally have to pad-lock the front door at night ... I have no idea how you're supposed to get out in case of a fire ....

Nothing worth seeing or doing within walking distance of the hotel. Otherwise, it's a fine place to sleep: the staff is very courteous, prompts, and responsive. And the rooms are elegant ...
Great breakfast too ...

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GalaxyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
1.1 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Carlota
Carlota
#13 of 116 in Quito
111 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa El Eden
Casa El Eden
#1 of 116 in Quito
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#10 of 116 in Quito
1,264 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Plaza Grande
Hotel Plaza Grande
#31 of 116 in Quito
311 reviews
2.6 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#8 of 116 in Quito
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel

Address: Calle Los Rios N13-134 y Pasaje Ascencio Gandara, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Quito
#7 Spa Hotel in Quito
#12 Luxury Hotel in Quito
Price Range: $126 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This former mansion, built in the 19th century, overlooks Alameda Park and is a 10-minute walk from Quito's historic quarter. It offers luxurious accommodations and free Wi-Fi. Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel is restored in its original charm. The large and spacious rooms and suites all feature a unique decor. Each one differs in size, color and decoration. They have hardwood floors and are equipped with LCD satellite TV, a sitting area and a work desk. Guests can enjoy breakfast in Mansion del Angel's glassed patio. A complimentary tea is served in the communal living room every day at 5 p.M. Ecuadorian and international cuisine is prepared during the evening and room service is available 24/7. This boutique hotel offers a tour desk that can arrange city tours with private guide and several day tours. Transportation to and from the airport is also available. There is 24-hour front desk service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion Del Angel Quito
Mansion Del Angel Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing