We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel, dodgy area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
Ranked #22 of 112 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2011

The hotel itself is fairly nice, but not really worth the money. You kind of feel like you are in a prison, and it is not safe to leave the hotel (which shouldn't be the case when on holiday). The rooms are unique and are very nice (not like most hotels you stay in). The staff are pleasant and efficient. Breakfasts are good. All in all the hotel is nice, but unless you just want to stay in a hotel i would not stay here again. Most people go to Quito to see the city, and if this is what you want to do, i would not stay in this hotel. Furthermore, do not make phonecalls from your room, they will try and over-charge you. They tried to charge me $80 for a 5 minute international call!

Room Tip: The area looks a little dangerous (mind you we had no hassle)
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dr_duddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
There are newer reviews for Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 351 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2011

My wife and I stayed here during a trip to Quito and the Galapagos. As noted in other posts, it's truley a beautiful old mansion complete with antiques and gardens. The staff was excellent, they accomodated our late arrival, opened the kitchen for us, and ensured we were comfortable throughout our stay. It's within 15 minute walk of the Old Town historic district -- very convenient if you have plans to tour this area. We plan to return to Quito on another trip and will definitly stay here again!

Room Tip: We stayed in a Suite that had a sitting room with fireplace and private garden access -- very nice!
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

There's chocolate-smelling soap in the bathroom. The mansion is in a bad neighborhood (or maybe all of Quito is a bad neighborhood?): they literally have to pad-lock the front door at night ... I have no idea how you're supposed to get out in case of a fire ....

Nothing worth seeing or doing within walking distance of the hotel. Otherwise, it's a fine place to sleep: the staff is very courteous, prompts, and responsive. And the rooms are elegant ...
Great breakfast too ...

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GalaxyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stayed here based on the reviews i had read, and managed to get a great 2 night deal on hotel.com.
The hotel is gorgeous, we were upgraded to a suite and having spent 3 nights in the Amazon the space, luxury and beautiful setting was perfect. The staff are wonderful and there are so many extra little touches - the heated bathroom floor, the Angel chocolate on your pillow at night, the breakfast setting.....you even get poached eggs!
The location is great for Old and New Towns and we were sorry to leave. if you want luxury but not in a inpersonal hotel then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelseastella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

We traveled to Quito and around Ecuador this past Spring with 2 other couples. We stayed at this hotel on 3 separate occasions during our almost 3 weeks of travel. We found it to be beautiful, comfortable, friendly, and extremely clean. The staff could not have been more pleasant. They allowed us to leave part of luggage with them when we went to the Galapagos for a week and again when we had a long weekend in the Amazon basin. We had laundry done by the staff and it was nicely cleaned and efficient. The morning breakfast was delicious. I rated the hotel as "very good" rather than excellent because it is not overly luxurious, and it is not in a fancy area. Having said that, the staff easily arranged our cabs for dinners and the fare was so cheap it was almost free. Overall, Mansion del Angel is lovely. The refurbishing of this old home was done beautifully which I loved. Everyone in our group was happy that we did not stay in a more touristy area as we enjoyed the quiet evenings. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

My wife and I stayed either side of a wonderful trip to the Galapagos Islands. Lupe, Panola, Javier, Danny, Andres, Byron, Patricia and Beatrice were always prepared to go that extra mile to make our stay memorable. The decor is absolutely fabulous and the rooms make you feel like royalty. The breakfast, high tea and dinner were excellent as was the personal service. This is our first review on trip advisor but we felt compelled to do so as the staff, service and interior were absolutely first class. Please stay here if you wish to avoid the big corporate hotel chains and would prefer a memorable high quality experience.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor and had no issue with noise
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Stayed here as part of our trip to the Galapagos. Staff very attentive. Breakfast and afternoon teas superb!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OhSusannaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
1.1 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#10 of 112 in Quito
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#7 of 112 in Quito
496 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#3 of 112 in Quito
683 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carlota
Carlota
#19 of 112 in Quito
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel

Address: Calle Los Rios N13-134 y Pasaje Ascencio Gandara, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Quito
#8 Spa Hotel in Quito
#13 Family Hotel in Quito
#13 Luxury Hotel in Quito
Price Range: $125 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This former mansion, built in the 19th century, overlooks Alameda Park and is a 10-minute walk from Quito's historic quarter. It offers luxurious accommodations and free Wi-Fi. Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel is restored in its original charm. The large and spacious rooms and suites all feature a unique decor. Each one differs in size, color and decoration. They have hardwood floors and are equipped with LCD satellite TV, a sitting area and a work desk. Guests can enjoy breakfast in Mansion del Angel's glassed patio. A complimentary tea is served in the communal living room every day at 5 p.M. Ecuadorian and international cuisine is prepared during the evening and room service is available 24/7. This boutique hotel offers a tour desk that can arrange city tours with private guide and several day tours. Transportation to and from the airport is also available. There is 24-hour front desk service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion Del Angel Quito
Mansion Del Angel Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing