We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Beauty in Perfect Location at a Great Price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
Ranked #23 of 112 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2007

A conversion of a formal and beautiful mansion, this hotel is in a perfect location for activities. It is walking distance to Plaza Foch where all the reataurants and bars are. It is very safe and secure.
The rooms are gorgeous and fresh rose petals are strewn on the bed upon your arrival. The bathrooms are large and nicely appointed with quality towels, robes, and ameities.

The canopy beds are beautifully outfitted and very comfortable.
Long stem roses and tiger liliy arrangements adorn the room.
Breakfast is served on an upstairs glass terrace with a lovely view of the mountains. The breakfast is hot and adequate but nothing to write home about.

Very helfpul and accomodating staff who speak some English.
YOu cannot go wrong with this choice-just book early as they only have 6 rooms. Because the building is so old, many of the lower level rooms are quite noisy with people coming in and out. I suggest a room on the 3rd floor-even tough there are no elevators, it is worth the hike up.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank shendrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 358 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2007

Conflicting reports in my pretravel computer research led me to cancel my reservation at this lovely hotel. Given the choice, we opt for high quality boutique hotels, rather than corporate hotels; safety, as well as service still play critically in our decisions. On our first few nights, we stayed elsewhere in Quito, until I decided to take a dollar taxi ride to go see this place for myself. After talking into an intercom and being buzzed in , I discovered we had been seen by a videocam located somewhere on the block. Behind the entrance gate was a perfectly charming home, full of beautiful antiques, yet cozy, and with a rooftop glassenclosed atrium. Luckily,we were able to secure a booking for a couple of days. We found this small hotel safe, friendly, beautiful and reasonable priced.The price was inclusive of breakfast. The service was excellent . Also, they arranged taxi's and car services when needed and the price negotiated for us in advance to prevent any confusion.
For a real authentic feeling of the atmosphere of Ecuador in a luxurious surrounding, we loved this place.

Stayed: May 2007
6  Thank GrahamCrackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2007

We stayed here as our first night of an upmarket package. Located on a fairly quiet back street in the newer part of the city (where most of the big hotels are located) it's an extraordinary conversion of an
old house (we'd guess about a century old), furnished with antiques in top-quality B&B style. Our room on the top floor was extremely pleasant, and the service was extremely courteous and personal - including the special early breakfast they arranged for us. If you're looking for an alternative to the usual chain hotel product, this could be it. Warning: there's no restaurant service for dinner, but interesting places are within an easy walk.

Stayed: February 2007
2  Thank London Frequent Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2007

We stayed at the Mansion del Angel for one night in Nov. 06. After staying at the Hilton Colon Quito, we wanted a to get a different view of Quito. The hotel is in a large former house and it’s decorated with antiques and angels. It was interesting to imagine what it must have been like to live in the house. Our room was small, but clean with a nice bathroom with a large shower. It also had satellite TV with a few US stations from Miami. The staff was helpful with our bags, directions, and even wine glasses/opener for a bottle we had brought with us. We had to leave very early the next morning, but they had toast and coffee waiting for us.

The only downside of the hotel is that it doesn’t have a restaurant and there didn’t seem to be many good ones nearby. You have to get a taxi to get to most of the sights in town.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Seat24A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2007

We stayed here for five days and really enjoyed it. It is a boutique hotel, i.e., used to be a large house now converted to a hotel. The location is good; bars and restaurants are only a few blocks away. The staff were very friendly and helpful; breakfast in the top floor conservatory was very good and the rooms lovely.

If you want to stay somewhere and get the feel of Quito rather than a corporate international hotel, then this is the place to stay. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HippoHol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2006

My friend and I stayed in Quito the first four nites of Sep after spending time in the Galapagos....My friend had a room on the second floor above mine and I was on the ground floor at the bottom of the stairs...Security was great...they had to buzz you in/out and even had a camera at the front gate so they could see who they were letting in/out...I even slept with my window opened! The breakfast room was bright and sunny on the third floor glass enclosed rooftop terrace....fresh fruit juice( a different choice every day ) and the best made to order pancakes....the staff was helpful and welcoming..the Mansion is full of antiques and fresh flowers....my bed linens had either been ironed or sprayed with lavendar water and there was popurri and wonderful smells everywere..like staying in a friends house
I had been to Quito twice before and always stayed in the Mariscal area (which is lovely with great restaurants and shopping) but it has been years and the Mansion was not a B&B back then..I'm so glad it is now, cause I wll definetly return....

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2006

On arrival we were allocated a room whose door was between the garden gate and the main door of the hotel. Concerned about the lack of security of the room's position, we asked to be moved inside and our request was granted.
Unfortunately, our security concerns proved to be only too well-founded. The very next morning as we were leaving the hotel, one of our bags was snatched from within the hall area of the hotel. Unlike almost every other premises we visited in Quito, there was no security presence at the main entrance; and the reception desk is situated at the back of the hotel well away from the front door. A team of thieves was able to enter the building and abscond with our bag with apparent ease, unchallenged by hotel staff.
The hotel had very minimal staff during our stay; and those on duty that morning were very unhelpful and apparently unconcerned about the theft. The main focus of the receptionist on duty was how we would pay for the (largely reverse charge) telephone calls we made to cancel all our credit cards.
As a result of the theft we had to spend additional time in Quito to file police reports and obtain new passports and visas, with the result that we entirely missed our second week planned trip to the Galapagos and we returned home early.
I would certainly not under any circumstances consider staying at the Mansion again.

Stayed: August 2006
27  Thank CeePea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.6 mi away
Casa El Eden
Casa El Eden
#1 of 112 in Quito
300 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#11 of 112 in Quito
1,219 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#5 of 112 in Quito
542 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
10.5 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel

Address: Calle Los Rios N13-134 y Pasaje Ascencio Gandara, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Quito
#7 Spa Hotel in Quito
#13 Luxury Hotel in Quito
Price Range: $125 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This former mansion, built in the 19th century, overlooks Alameda Park and is a 10-minute walk from Quito's historic quarter. It offers luxurious accommodations and free Wi-Fi. Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel is restored in its original charm. The large and spacious rooms and suites all feature a unique decor. Each one differs in size, color and decoration. They have hardwood floors and are equipped with LCD satellite TV, a sitting area and a work desk. Guests can enjoy breakfast in Mansion del Angel's glassed patio. A complimentary tea is served in the communal living room every day at 5 p.M. Ecuadorian and international cuisine is prepared during the evening and room service is available 24/7. This boutique hotel offers a tour desk that can arrange city tours with private guide and several day tours. Transportation to and from the airport is also available. There is 24-hour front desk service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion Del Angel Quito
Mansion Del Angel Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing