We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible wifi”
Review of Hotel Quito

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Quito
Ranked #24 of 112 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights before our Galapagos cruise and one night after. This hotel is recommended by Klein Tours and is part of their package. The hotel has an impressive modern lobby. The rooms are dated, the linens are not top hotel standard There is no air conditioning in the rooms which made it stuffy at night. You can open the balcony door but the door bangs. The windows did not open in either room we had. The room and bathroom is clean but basic. The bathroom floods when you take a shower. The breakfast is good but don't bother getting a box breakfast if you leave early...stale cake bread roll with ham and cheese muesli bar bag of chips and an apple and small juice. The view from the restaurant is great. We ate in the restaurant and it's very average in quality. The wifi in this hotel was intermittent and one night they had major problems with the Internet. There is a business centre. The spa area and lift as well as other parts of the hotel smelt of petrol or some other chemical and is unpleasant and possibly toxic. It's also far away from the major areas and you need to take a taxi everywhere Wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 255060Charlie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (803)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

250 - 256 of 803 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

Breakfast at Hotel Quito was awesome and the restaurant view of Quito was fantastic. The room was nice and had everything we needed. Some of the décor was a little dated by US standards but fully functional and clean. Staff were friendly and accommodating, and most were bilingual. There are three hotel computers in the business center for guests to use for printing plane tickets or surfing the web.

Tip: If going to downtown Quito, hail a cab a block from the hotel. You'll spend $3 instead of $5. On Sundays, the park beside the Mercado Artesanal is a great spot to hang with locals enjoying the day. That cab ride was only $2.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelingDog08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

As with the other reviews, the rooms are pretty basic and in need of an upgrade. The bathrooms are really old, the first room I was in the bathroom reminded me of a public restroom! The fact that there is no climate control other than an open window ( to very loud, constant traffic noise) was a total bummer as the rooms are very stuffy. Not a hotel I would recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prdavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My wife and I came here on honeymoon. They charged our card four times, leaving us without money for the remaining 2 weeks of honeymoon, ruining it.

A month later nothing has been done and they refuse to help. Despite providing them with auth codes on all the payments they took they still refuse to help.

Staff have single handedly refused to offer any useful help with this.

Staff in the hotel were rude and stuck up, especially in the restaurant

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClarvisJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This was thee hotel our tour company used this trip. It had all of the expected to include TV in English and free wifi. Our breakfast buffet was included with the stay. Friendly staff assisted with making us comfortable. Near the US embassy if you need to do business there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grammawa44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

The hotel lobby is very nice. The rooms however are pretty run down. The walls are paper thin and you can hear your neighbor cough as well as do their business in the bathroom. The shower has awesome power and was good. The views from the hotel are amazing and they have a great breakfast buffet. Quito hotels are not the best in comparison to other hotels I have stayed in Ecuador but good price in consideration of what you can get in Quito. Not my favorite hotel

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebekah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed here because the tour group we did a trip with had booked us here 1 night at the end and 1 night at the beginning. I believe this is rated 4 stars, but is quite less than that in my opinion. The weather in Ecuador is nice year round, but we wanted to turn on our air because our room was incredibly stuffy; well no air conditioner. So we went to the windows/balcony door. Well this was odd because it opened to a common balcony for numerous rooms, I don't' like that at all, it feels unsafe. So from there we went to the window, which only opens from the far end closest to the wall... and is covered by curtains, so nearly impossibly to get any good airflow into the room. We were put in an old part of the hotel for our second night there on the back end of our trip and had a terrible shower head experience as well. Overall, it wasn't awful, but old and outdated and unsafe if you like to have fresh air and not sure you want to trust your neighbors.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Quito Royal
0.7 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
1 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#17 of 112 in Quito
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
1.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Quito
Wyndham Garden Quito
#9 of 112 in Quito
400 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Alameda
Mercure Hotel Alameda
#16 of 112 in Quito
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Quito

Address: Gonzalez Suarez N27-142, Quito 170107, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 112 Hotels in Quito
Price Range: $94 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Quito 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the most exclusive residential and corporate area. With an incomparable view to the city or valley from every guestroom. The Hotel lays on a 7.5 Acres, superbly located on top of a hill, overlooking Quito's metropolis and volcanoes. Next door to the U.S. Ambassador's Residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing