We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Dann Carlton Quito
Ranked #21 of 111 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here for two days while we prepared for a Galapagos cruise. The room was very nice and typical of business hotels. Nothing spectacular but very well appointed and comfortable. Many airline staff seemed to use this as a base, so we were pleased that they chose this hotel as well. it is located in the financial/business district and many guests fit the bill. the bar/restaurants were standard for a business hotel, nothing great.

Room Tip: try to get a higher floor, while the noise was not a problem for us, Quito never stops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prlaf61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guidetoecuador, General Manager at Hotel Dann Carlton Quito, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hello and thank you very much for posting your review, after staying with us at the Dann Carlton hotel, in Quito. We appreciate very much your opinion, it give us strength and motivation to continue improving our daily service to all our guests.
We hope to have you back in a near future.
Sincerely,
Dann Carlton Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    220
    67
    22
    24
See reviews for
61
108
29
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mill Valley, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

If you just need a place to sleep, the rooms are pretty typical of a business hotel: wireless Internet is good, no robes or other frills. Our small suite has good air conditioning: our son's room has none. But if you need it, service can be inconsistent to poor. I waited forever for coffee at the breakfast buffet, eventually going to the worker's station to serve myself. No concierge on Saturday. No free nottled water in the toom. No acess to a van for 5 people. When the concierge was here, she had no recommendation for a nail salon ( we're here for a wedding) other than to just go out on the street and look for one. Computers were down at the front desk when we arrived and still were down the next morning.

We've been lucky do far with the hot water in the bathrooms. Laundry and dry cleaning sent out at 11AM was back by 5PM on a week day.

In sum, we stay here for the hotel's proximity to our host's home, but I'm sure there are better hotels that are better values for a leisure traveler.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MillValleyFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guidetoecuador, General Manager at Hotel Dann Carlton Quito, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you very much for letting us know about the things that disappointed you during your last stay with us, I´m taking notes of some helpful things you mention so that will help me to improve our service level. We at the Dann Carlton Hotel deeply care about the comfort of our guests; I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
610 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel in Quito which looks like it is new. Enjoyed my stay. Restaurant good for all meals and pretty well stocked bar. Good location and worth a visit. Beware of staying on 5th floor as gym is on 6th and they love noisy aerobics :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guidetoecuador, Manager at Hotel Dann Carlton Quito, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Just a short note to thank you so much for your kind words in your last review for our Hotel, your words encourage us to permanently continue to find the excellence in service and make our guest happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This hotel was filled with roses all throughout the reception and public areas. Roses in all colours and many different arrangements. The hotel was reminiscent of 1930's splendour with beautiful winding staircases and great art work around. The room here was really comfortable and the staff were really attentive. The rea around the hotel is very clean and safe for walking and it is easy to get a tazxi to the old town which they will arrange for you. A really good experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrAnnaSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guidetoecuador, General Manager at Hotel Dann Carlton Quito, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Just a short note to thank you so much for your kind words in your last review for our Hotel, your words encourage us to permanently continue to find the excellence in service and make our guest happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brno
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed for one night only. Suites look nice at first but when you look closely you notice that they are bit old. There is no air conditioning, fortunately opening your window is enough.Though you have to be really good sleeper as I am, because of the planes flying above you :) There was problem with hot water....cause there was none...for my brother....I got at least a little. Did not try food, the prices were ridiculous....USD3,99 for little bottle of Evian.But in walking distance there are some restaurants and also big shopping center so the location is nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pudlik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guidetoecuador, General Manager at Hotel Dann Carlton Quito, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us, I sincerely apologize for the hot water issues during the night you and your brother spent with us, I have no further reports about hot water problems in other rooms, but I will make sure this won’t happen again to another guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mtunzini
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed at Dann Carlton for one night on the way to the Galapagos Islands and for two nights on the way to Miami.
The first night we stayed there our luggage had got lost somewhere between Frankfurt and Quito so we only had the clothes we stood up in. The hotel had arranged to pick us up at the airport.
When we arrived at the hotel (late at night) I asked the receptionist if they had a shaving pack I could use. They said "definitely", but 'phoned me a little later to say they didn't have a kit available.
The problem arose when we stayed for two nights on the way out of the Galapagos Islands, en route to Miami.
We arranged a car to take us to Quito airport for our flight to Miami. We were happy to pay for the hotel car, but the receptionist insisted that the transfer was included in our hotel rate.
We confirmed this at least twice with the hotel reception before we left.
About 400m from the airport the driver (Louis) suddenly stopped at the side of a very busy road and told us in very bad English that we must pay him the fare. We stated that the fare had been already included in our hotel rate and that we had just confirmed this with the hotel a few minutes before.
Louis was adamant that we must pay him and refused to move. We told him to 'phone the hotel and sort it out. He refused to do this. What could we do? We had to make our flight so we paid him the $12 and he took us to the airport.
That same day I E Mailed the hotel to complain about the extortion of money and the effective hijacking.
The hotel took quite a few days to respond. They then stated that the transfer to the airport was not included in our rate and that we should have paid the driver. This is strange because when we originally arrived in Quito on the way to the Galapagos Islands the hotel picked us up at the airport free of charge. Also, bear in mind, that the hotel had categorically confirmed that the transfer to the airport was included in the room rate before we got in the car.
The worst part was that we were effectively hijacked by Louis and had no choice but to pay him the demanded fare. Why didn't he simply 'phone the hotel and sort it out?
Bearing in mind that we had spend more than $500 at the hotel for or stay I don't think that $12 was a lot to worry about.
The hotel's final response was that we should have paid the fare in the first place! Even though we had asked them at least twice if the fare to the airport was included in our room rate and they had confirmed "yes".
In the final analysis the hotel offered to refund the $12. I E Mailed them back and told them to donate the $12 to a charity and to let me know which charity. That was about three weeks ago and I have never received a response.
DON"T USE THIS HOTEL!!!
Our overall rating is very poor because the extortion by the hotel driver outweighs any other hotel benefit or facility.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mtunzini99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guidetoecuador, General Manager at Hotel Dann Carlton Quito, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
With great surprise and attention I´m reading your review from the last time you stayed with us. I must apologize first of all for the unpleasant moment you had to deal with one of the taxi drivers in your way to the airport and for the delay of this response.
Ended during the permanence of the international airport in the city until few weeks ago, most of the hotels include the transportation from/to the airport within the room rates, so we did, but when I read your complain I can easily understand you irritation and probably would´ d react the same way, however I can also feel that this would ´d be so easy to prevent in order to make your stay as enjoyable as you deserve it.
Let me tell you also that although taxi drivers are not part of the hotel staff we are responsible for them in the face of our guests, I can assure you these issues are no longer happening not only because the airport now moved to another far location but also because we using another transportation company with a great professional service.
I hope I have the opportunity to host you again in the near future so I can have chance to change your perception about this particular service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in late. I paid $125 per night. When I first got there I was impressed with the hotel appointments. My bed was clean and comfortable. However, I tv romote did not work. I could hear the elevators move up and down all night. I could also hear people in the hall way as well as traffic noise from outside.
The food tasted bad and the price was ridiculous. 20-30 dollars for nasty food.
Room serves and restaurant people did not speak English at all which made it impossible to order room service.
I had to take a cold shower for 3 days because there was no hot water. I asked the front desk person, who acknowledged a problem with their water system, for a discount on my bill. He totally did not care. He made no effort to accommodate me.
I would not recommend that anyone satay here. Quito has many hotels that don't rip off their customers!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 684Travel_man31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.0 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#4 of 111 in Quito
459 reviews
1.6 mi away
NH Collection Quito Royal
0.3 mi away
Hotel Finlandia
Hotel Finlandia
#29 of 111 in Quito
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
2.0 mi away
Hilton Colon Quito
Hilton Colon Quito
#20 of 111 in Quito
1,360 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Quito
Sheraton Quito
#7 of 111 in Quito
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dann Carlton Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dann Carlton Quito

Property: Hotel Dann Carlton Quito
Address: Av. Republica de El Salvador N 34-377 | Av. República de El Salvador N34-377, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 111 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dann Carlton Quito 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
!Cool, elegant and classic! Quito is the capital of Ecuador has the largest and best-preserved historic center in Latin America; it´s the second highest capital in the world with an elevation of 2,850m above sea level. Its heritage treasure houses Churches, Museums and Cultural Centers. The Hotel is located in the heart of the financial and business center. It is close to the main shopping centers such as Quicentro, United Nations Avenue, Atahualpa Olympic Stadium and just two blocks from La Carolina´s Park. The hotel has 210 rooms, swimming pool, gym, restaurant, bar and 12 meeting rooms for corporate and social events with capacity up to 1100 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dann Carlton Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing