We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So Close, yet so far from being perfect” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Dann Carlton Quito

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Dann Carlton Quito
Ranked #23 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So Close, yet so far from being perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed here as a splurge week to celebrate the end of seven and a half month trip. Booked via Hotels.com and got a great rate.

The hotel itself is located in the financial district of Quito. Most taxi drivers know where it is, which is always helpful, although on our arrival we found the only taxi driver who didn't know where it was.

Check-in process was very smooth and dealt with extremely professionally. The room was fantastic, although a little dated - i.e. a flat screen and some redecoration to fix pealing paint would be good for a hotel of this standard.

Wifi worked well, but not well enough for a Skype Video call. Shower was hot with great pressure and the Gym and pool area was better equipped than most in the UK!

Around the hotel there are a multitude of places to eat from the extremely cheep to the incredibly expensive.

The only things that seem to let this place down were the exorbitant prices for drinks (something that the hotel could look at) and the fact that there is a lot of noise from outside that at time made it difficult to sleep, which I suppose you can't expect them to do to much about.

All in all, if I was coming to Quito again, I'd stay there...

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road and not on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BambamStevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    206
    58
    21
    24
See reviews for
57
103
24
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

The hotel is very well located, in the heart of the business area of Quito, rooms are big and comfortable and WI-FI is good and free.

Breakfast is very good, lots of choices and very nice environment at the restaurant. I definitely recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Quito.

Room Tip: New Rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anaranjo12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
533 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

My family and I stayed here on 4 separate occasions during our tours around Ecuador. The general standard is very good, but it is let down by the lack of a quality service. Despite returning frequently it still took more than 10 minutes to book in every time we arrived. The staff laughed our concerns off and happily went about their time wasting. The breakfasts were good with lots of selection, even if some of it was a little strange to see at that time of the day. We had a different room each time so in total saw 8 different rooms. All were generally clean but not all had aircon or indeed a bathplug!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico,CA
Level Contributor
143 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Dann Carlton in July.
Pros: The flower arrangemnt in the lobby is very nice.
Cons: The front desk staff wasn't very friendly. The toilet in our bathroom ran continuously. We had to run the bathroom fan 24/7 or else the room smelled of cigarette smoke that would come in through the bathroom fan vent. We had paid in full $550 before arriving and did not use the mini bar so we expected to leave with a zero balance. No such luck. They suprised us with a $2 per person per day "security fee" which tagged another $18 on to the bill. That was the kick in the tail as we left. I wouldn't stay there again even though we liked the flower arrangement.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicoRanMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

I was here 2 years ago and then now (July 2012). Renovation works are over and now it's a brighter more oxygenised hotel. I stayed at the Smart Floor with a convenient business center. The gym is excellent with marvellous views on the mountains nearby. Service is good. All in all a good option.

Room Tip: Smart floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gilgribaudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellín, Colombia
Level Contributor
215 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

As their "twin brother" hotels in Colombia, I was expecting something good, but not a great as it actually was. My experience was actually very good all around, with only a little mishap in the roomservice (an issue with the food order, but later solved).The service I got at the Third (3rd) floor, specially furnished for executives, was super! Having breakfast in the same floor is even more comfortable and convinient, combined with the services offered in the Business Center.

Now, the noisy neighborhood at times could be an inconvenient as eople have said in the reviews, but I think it's not a big thing. I really recommend it a lot and will certainly go back!

Room Tip: Higher floors or the ones on the Third Floor (Intelligent Floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColombiaJuanSe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

The hotel is going through some renovations and rooms at the rear are not nearly as noisy as those at the front. The executive - Smart floor has great technology and a friendly lounge. Taxis are available outside the hotel. I found it a safe, comfortable and centrally located. It is not particularly touristy. The gym is excellent. The restaurant is quiet but the food is good.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CELlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.0 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#6 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
1.6 mi away
NH Collection Quito Royal
1.1 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Finlandia
Hotel Finlandia
#27 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Quito
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Quito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dann Carlton Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dann Carlton Quito

Property: Hotel Dann Carlton Quito
Address: Av. Republica de El Salvador N 34-377 | Av. República de El Salvador N34-377, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dann Carlton Quito 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is located in the best area of the city, is surrounded by modern buildings, close to offices and companies such as Bayer, Petroecuador, Petroamazonas, Avianca, etc. Within walking distance of the most important Park in the city, "Parque La Carolina", ideal for walking and exercising, its location allows quick access to the route closest to the international airport, which is 30-45 minutes out of town, the Hotel has two towers of rooms and Suites consists of 210 rooms and suites, with King or Queen beds, a Dann Carlton Suite with all amenities, wi-fi free of charge in all rooms and public areas, restaurant offering a wide variety of delicious national and international dishes, a Cafeteria serving breakfast and lunch buffet daily, Room Service, a European style coffee with delicacies in pastry, bakery, coffee, etc. A full gym with a heated swimming pool with retractable roof, hot tub, wet areas for men and women, Squash Court, the hotel also offers 12 comfortable and versatile meeting rooms/ballroom for social events and business meetings, with all the audio and video support and infrastructure, the staff always offers a friendly and professional kind service to all guests and clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Dann Carlton Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing