We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveler rating
77
47
15
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
47
15
3
3
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 145 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Los Alpes for one week and really enjoyed it. Because it’s in a large house (that is beautifully and artistically decorated), it feels more like a Bed and Breakfast than a hotel. Also, for the most part, the hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. They arranged an excellent driver for us to go to Otavalo who was fun to talk to (but didn’t speak a word of English) and very efficient. Our room was quite large (especially compared to hotel rooms in Europe) with a sitting area and writing desk. When we arranged to have our laundry done through the hotel, the service was fast and cheap. They also hung up my husband’s shirts in the closet. The rest of the clothes were placed on the bed, neatly folded. Internet access was included in the room charge. They do serve dinner at the hotel which is very convenient (although we never tried it, due to the many diverse restaurant choices in New Town). For what we wanted to do, we thought the location was excellent, just a few short blocks from the Artisan Market and great restaurants. (We had no problems at all walking around Quito at night. Just use common sense.) Our only minor complaint was that the room didn’t have enough heat and we could find no thermostat to adjust it (although we never asked the hotel about this, giving them a chance to remedy the situation). Overall, it’s an excellent choice and we would highly recommend Hotel Los Alpes.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank idratherbtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2009

We stayed in the family suite, two bedrooms with a connecting sitting room. The rooms were more than satisfactory and the value was tremendous. Señor Claudio and his staff were always ready to answer our questions and satisfy our every need. We made use of the laundry service, the wireless internet, and even room service (which may not be advertised). The breakfast is complete but has little variety. The location is reasonably convenient, just two blocks from a main thoroughfare and bus stop. La Mariscal is within walking distance, about a mile.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjlanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2009

We booked Los Alpes because of the high reviews from Trip Advisor. Even though it was adequate I would not have rated it as high. But for the money you pay, the value is good. As two women traveling on our own, we were not comfortable with the area. It is in a nice enough neighborhood but we did not see any restaurants within walking distance. The hotel seemed isolated but it is very quiet.
The public area of the hotel is fine, nice areas to sit, to have a drink or to just enjoy the warmth from the fireplace. The dining room is bright and the food was very good. The staff was wonderful, very helpful and the service is excellent. We stayed in two rooms off of the main floor with its own sitting area. The rooms and bathrooms are tired and worn but clean. My girlfriend's room was not very comfortable as the mattress was very lumpy and the bathroom was a bit shabby.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel if you just need a place for a short time or if you en route to other towns. If you are watching your $$ this is a very good place to stay in Quito. My girlfriend and I did stay one night and then stayed at Mansion De Angel for the rest of our visit to Ecuador. A little more pricey, but we loved it! Better location for us.
FYI---unless you are staying at the high-end hotels, most places do not have heat. Bring warm pjs. They will provide space heaters in the rooms but it can be a little cool in the mornings.
We loved Ecuador and can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank counselorDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2009

I loved everything about this place. The location is within walking distance of major historical sites in the city as well as the main entertainment district (and close to the light rail line as well).

The room had antique furnishings in good contition and was very comfortable. There was a small balcony, large closet and cable tv with many movie/sports channels.

The service was outstanding. I had dinner and breakfast several times on-site as well as beverages from the bar. The staff also ironed some clothes for no additional charge and gave recommendations for the area. There are safe deposit boxes at the front desk as well.

For a price of $50USD I thought the Hotel Los Alpes was a steal.

Stayed: November 2008
Thank rjc260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2008

This hotel exceeded our expectations. For $70 a night + tax we had 2 huge rooms with huge closets, a sitting area, and a private big bathroom with hot water (you just have to wait for it, which seemed typical in Ecuador) and a beautiful breakfast for 2 adults and one child. What a darling place!!! It was perfectly located and safe. We walked all over the city from there and felt so safe the entire time. The entire staff is so kind and helpful. We spent our first 3 nights in Ecuador here and it was perfect. Our "room," which was more like a small apartment, was so comfortable and cute, with plenty of blankets. One bedroom had a queen bed, and the other had 2 twins so it could easily sleep a family of 4. After 8 pm the area is almost silent. We never ate in the restaurant for dinner so we can't comment on that, but it was so nice to come in from a day of walking to find a gorgeous fire in the lobby and a very nice bar tender/waiter waiting to serve us what we wanted, if we wanted something. I would definitely stay at Los Alpes again when we return to Quito. We were hoping we were there on our last night in Ecuador. Unfortunately we stayed at a famous hotel that had no hot water and felt like we were sleeping in a loud street on a fancy bed.
A great place to go that we didn't read about in any guidebooks: the Metropolitan Park just above the ritzy Carolina neighborhood. Gorgeous views, amazing hiking, birdwatching and butterflies. Some other hotel guests saw llamas there and our son loved the amazing jungle gym that had a zip line like nothing you would ever seen in the USA. Best of all, it was free--but our driver had to keep asking people how to get there because he had never heard of it.
We also felt completely safe walking all over the city, which had been a concern for us.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank scubamaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews