We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, friendly, comfortable, great location.”
Review of Los Alpes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Los Alpes
Ranked #62 of 111 Hotels in Quito
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Just returned from Quito. This hostal is in good location closed to Police station so always felt safe and lot of restaurants in walking distant. This place ( a house converted to hostal) was clean, well decor, comfortable and everyone that works there was really nice, friendly and helpful. Good hot shower and free hot breakfast (serve from 7am to 9am) and free 2 water bottles in room. There was no heater but the room was never really cold at night so provided blankets kept us comfy and no problem sleeping. We got a good quiet night sleeping. Can get wake up call and taxi to airport. Only thing was now the nearby was a new construction of higher building which in the future will block a good view of mountains from the room. But with their hospitality, location and reasonable price will return in the future.

Room Tip: You can ask them to show every available room before pick one..it's no problem with them.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cooloffanywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
There are newer reviews for Los Alpes
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 145 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2012

The decor is fairly weird however the hotel has anything one may need.
ONly reason not giving 5 stars is that we were promised a breakfast in the morning but only received some toast and tea because we had an early flight out of quito.
Also a bit pricey for what it is.

Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank omegakos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

A rambling place with lots of photos, statues, etc. Our party of 5 was given plenty of space, and we left luggage there while we took a side trip. The owners were helpful and friendly. We ate at their restaurant one night, and it was not the cheapest meal we had in Quito, but it was the best. One thing to note: the nights get cool, but not cold, so few places turn on the heat. If you want warmth without the weight of wool blankets, bring your own down throw. This is true of a few places we stayed.

Room Tip: Rooms off the front street will probably be a little warmer, and quieter on some nights, but the fro...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Be careful to ask about prices and lock it down. We were told the room was one prices and we were charged a lot more the next morning. All was decent but we would have preferred to stay in a lower priced hostel for the same experience.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hmpowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Traveling again in Ecuador, my wife and I returned to our favorite hotel in the whole world, Hotel Los Alpes, an economical and welcoming romantic home away from home. Perched halfway up the valley about 5 minutes cab ride (US$2 in 2011) from Quito’s colonial Centro Historico, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, it hides behind rich greenery off a quiet side street near the former US Embassy. A set of cow bells rigged to the heavy wooden front door announces entry into a paneled front lobby and den with fireplace and bar. The Italian proprietor, Don Claudio, and his wife have filled every wall and nook with marvelous relics, porcelains, antique clocks and an eclectic collection of paintings, each piece with a story if you can, and you should, afford the time. The wood staircase creaks on the way to the dozen rooms upstairs and the solarium overlooking a tile-roof courtyard. We prefer sleeping in the back, with the window wide open in order to watch the changing light on 4000 meter Volcan Pinchincha. With easy walking or cheap taxi access to the most interesting end of the city. The best part: upon each return, enjoying the warm but sophisticated hospitality of the owner, bellman/bartender and intimate in-house restaurant. Included breakfast, WIFI, well-traveled clientele and unlimited charm.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

This is a very comfortable, welcoming and pleasant little hotel. I have been to Quito several times but usually stay in private homes and this is the first time I’ve stayed in a hotel, but I must say that it didn’t feel like a hotel. When I came back after a long day (I was there for a conference and research), it really felt like I was coming back home. This is in part due to the fact that the place itself has a comfortable, cozy, homey feel and in part due to the friendliness of the staff. Every single person who worked there, from the owners to the night staff, always greeted me with a big smile and everyone was very helpful and accommodating.

The room was very clean and comfortable. Yes, it can be a bit cool in the morning, but that is typical for Quito (private homes don’t have heat either) and I was never really uncomfortably cold.

The location is great, in a pleasant residential neighbourhood close to the historic centre and within walking distance (10 minutes) of the main restaurant/bar/cafe district. They have wi-fi and there is a computer room if you don’t want to bring your own laptop. They stored my baggage while I went out of town for a few days, which is very convenient. Also, my flight left late in the day and they let me stay in my room at no extra charge until 4:00pm...very accommodating.

Quito has plenty of chain hotels, but I would highly recommend this place to anyone who wants a warmer, friendlier experience. The rates are very reasonable and it is great value. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pascalluu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

The hotel is in a great location. There is a police station just round the corner which we found very reassuring, it is relatively quite at night (save for a couple of car alarms) and still within 5 minutes walking distance to all the restaurants in the mariscal area and buses.
The rooms were beautiful and massive, with big comfy beds, heavy drapes, and plenty of extra blankets and pillows (it gets very cold at night and during the day) and completely spotless. But if you have a dust allergy I would advice you bring some medication, because having a huge pile of blankets in your face while sleeping will make you sneeze all night.

It was nice to be able to sit by an open log fire with the rest of the hotels guests in the evenings

The italian restaurant is horrendously expensive ($10 for a plate of spaghetti with a plain tomato sauce), a small cup of tea was $2 and was not very good tea at all. Breakfast was included in our price but it was like getting blood out of a stone. We would have to repeatedly request what we wanted and it would take forever to arrive, all in the wrong order with spaces of about 10 mins between getting your eggs and your toast.

However, the reception staff were extremely helpful in trying to explain our needs to their kitchen staff but more often than not, with poor effect, and gave us very good travel advice for our daily excursions to the surround areas.

Room Tip: ask for a room heater, it gets very cold
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank romainjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Cartuja
Hotel La Cartuja
#44 of 111 in Quito
175 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sebastian
Hotel Sebastian
#38 of 111 in Quito
193 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Art Hotel Silberstein
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sierra Madre
Hotel Sierra Madre
#58 of 111 in Quito
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tambo Real Hotel
Tambo Real Hotel
#56 of 111 in Quito
55 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostal Zentrum
Hostal Zentrum
#34 of 111 in Quito
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Alpes

Address: Tamayo 233 y Jorge Washington, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Quito
Price Range: $63 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Los Alpes 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Los Alpes has been providing a warm welcome in the heart of Quito for thirty years. The hotel is in an excellent location for tourists and business travellers alike. Breakfast is included and there is free access to the internet using the hotel's computers as well as by a wireless connection. All rooms have a television and a telephone as well as an en-suite bathroom or shower. The communal areas include a sunny balcony with views across the city and a seating area next to the restaurant where our guests can warm themselves by a real fire in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Los Alpes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Alpes Quito
Los Alpes Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing