We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great rooms but food service could be improved” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Los Alpes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Los Alpes
Ranked #59 of 114 Hotels in Quito
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great rooms but food service could be improved”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2011

The hotel is in a great location. There is a police station just round the corner which we found very reassuring, it is relatively quite at night (save for a couple of car alarms) and still within 5 minutes walking distance to all the restaurants in the mariscal area and buses.
The rooms were beautiful and massive, with big comfy beds, heavy drapes, and plenty of extra blankets and pillows (it gets very cold at night and during the day) and completely spotless. But if you have a dust allergy I would advice you bring some medication, because having a huge pile of blankets in your face while sleeping will make you sneeze all night.

It was nice to be able to sit by an open log fire with the rest of the hotels guests in the evenings

The italian restaurant is horrendously expensive ($10 for a plate of spaghetti with a plain tomato sauce), a small cup of tea was $2 and was not very good tea at all. Breakfast was included in our price but it was like getting blood out of a stone. We would have to repeatedly request what we wanted and it would take forever to arrive, all in the wrong order with spaces of about 10 mins between getting your eggs and your toast.

However, the reception staff were extremely helpful in trying to explain our needs to their kitchen staff but more often than not, with poor effect, and gave us very good travel advice for our daily excursions to the surround areas.

Room Tip: ask for a room heater, it gets very cold
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank romainjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    47
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
36
47
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2011

We found this place on Trip Advisor and it lived up to all the great reviews. Our only regret, we only stayed one night. The room was very clean and the low price included a separate room for our teenager.

We had an early morning raft trip so we were not able to have breakfast; however the owner then handed me back a $20 bill since we were going to miss breakfast. A very nice gesture. Later that evening we purchased a nice bottle of wine and enjoyed a very nice time in bar/lobby area.

I am a VERY light sleeper and worried about traffic noise and dogs barking. When we hit the bed around 10 p.m., the room and neighborhood was very quiet and we all had a very good night sleep!

The artwork, room decor, service, and value are all worthy of a five star review.

Room Tip: Room 13, top floor. Perfect for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluefive5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2011

Owner coordinated a taxi to bring our luggage to us at a meeting and get us to the airport on time. Totally trustworthy. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank revisioncc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2011

Tomorrow I depart Los Alpes for Cuenca and am so glad I found this little jewell. The water is hot, the rooms cozy, the atmosphere is cordial, and the price is reasonable. The owners are truly decent and highly accomplished golf champions. A large police station is just around the corner so I always felt safe in my four days here. I give Los Alpes a high rating. It suites my needs to a tee. Remember, breakfast is included.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

We've stayed at Los Alpes on several occasions over a period of 20 years, and would never stay anywhere else in Quito. Great location; safe, and you can walk to park and other areas of interest. The restaurant is charming, and the food is quite good. The place is cozy and comfortable. If you're looking for modern luxuries, go elsewhere, but if you want the old luxuries of hospitality and daily kindnesses, you'll appreciate Los Alpes. Our stay this time was with our kids, ages 9 and 13, and we stayed in the comfortable family suite. Sr. Facchinei and his staff seem willing to do anything to make guests happy-- including getting up early to make breakfast for us when we had an early flight home. It's like staying with friendly relatives.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jwaterdock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, Ecuador
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2011

We traveled to Ecuador to visit the coast but, fortunately, our first night was spent at Los Alpes. We arrived very late and were immediately shown to our room. Quite quaint but very comfortable. Breakfast was prepared for us when we wandered downstairs at some very late hour. The Proprietor, Claudio, Sr., greeted us at breakfast and helped us plan a brief excursion into the city. We visited the Museum Claudio recommended (free) and spent time there examining the archeological and the historical artifacts. We then quickly visited the Quito market. We returned to Los Alpes on our way home and enjoyed the same sterling service and an excellent meal in house.
We found Los Alpes on this site and are grateful for that.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank docputter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
313 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2010

I enjoyed the quirkiness and open hospitatlity of Los Alpes as well as a good location. I really can't speak to the rooms as I wasn't allowed to view other rooms. Upon check-in I was given room 7 and was concerned being over the check-in it could be noisy. I asked twice to see another room but each time was told this room is fine (hotel prob 25% occupancy). I also was told there would be a discount if I stayed 3-4 nights but at check-out it was full price that was finally discountedmto the agreed on price which was a bit uncomfortable. Returning after travels to Otalavo, I was given room 4 which faces the street. Now, both of these rooms were good but in such a location to be noisy from the street and I was interested in a back/garden room. I didn't attempt to see other rooms even though there were only a couple occupied. Again at chack-out the price was not as quoted and took some negotiation to bring it to the agreed upon price. For these reasons I give it an average rating.

Breakfast was average but served by nice staff. Dinner one night of spaghetti carbonara was decent but nothing special. I'd choose to eat out at some of the fine local places next time.

Good wifi

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.2 mi away
Barnard Hotel
Barnard Hotel
#42 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.5 mi away
Antinea
Antinea
#36 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Cartuja
Hotel La Cartuja
#40 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sierra Madre
Hotel Sierra Madre
#54 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casa Q Hotel
Casa Q Hotel
#33 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yellow House Hotel
Yellow House Hotel
#30 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Alpes

Property: Los Alpes
Address: Tamayo 233 y Jorge Washington, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Los Alpes 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Los Alpes has been providing a warm welcome in the heart of Quito for thirty years. The hotel is in an excellent location for tourists and business travellers alike. Breakfast is included and there is free access to the internet using the hotel's computers as well as by a wireless connection. All rooms have a television and a telephone as well as an en-suite bathroom or shower. The communal areas include a sunny balcony with views across the city and a seating area next to the restaurant where our guests can warm themselves by a real fire in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Los Alpes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Alpes Quito
Los Alpes Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing