We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rio Amazonas Internacional
Ranked #27 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“great hotel”
Reviewed November 18, 2007

I recently stayed at the Rio Amazonas for 5 nights before and after a Galapagos adventure. The hotel is in a good location with lots of excellent restaurants nearby. It's not the safest neighbourhood at night, so I took a taxi whenever I needed to venture out. The hotel restaurant has very good food, with excellent prices and excellent service. I never paid more than $10 for a substanial meal. The rooms are large with private bathroom and cabel tv. It was a little noisy at night, especially on the weekend, so I would ask for a room higher up. The front desk staff were excellent and very helpful in getting taxi's or tour guides for day excursions.
Overall I was very pleased with this hotel, and would stay here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjf123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRioAmazonas, Gerente at Hotel Rio Amazonas Internacional, responded to this review, May 13, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments and review, we will take these into concideration for our future guests satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    120
    49
    13
    8
See reviews for
30
63
30
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2007

We stayed at this hotel before and after our Galapagos trip. The hotel itself is really quite nice and the staff very helpful. Rooms are large and comfortable. But most of the rooms face the street and it is NOISY! There is music and voices from nearby restaurants. We heard police sirens and angry voices in the middle of the night. I understand there are some rooms that face away from the street and they are quiet. Try REAL hard to get one of those rooms. The included breakfast, at the 24 hr restaurant next door, was a very nice buffet with lots of options and EXCELLENT fruit.

  • Liked — Spacious room
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dianeinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRioAmazonas, Gerente at Hotel Rio Amazonas Internacional, responded to this review, May 13, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments and review, we will take these into concideration for our future guests satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Rio Amazonas before and after our trip to the Galapagos. We found the staff to be very helpful and the rooms clean and comfortable.
Nice touches were the bathrooms, safe in the room, the full cable service on TV and free Internet service in the lobby. They stored our extra luggage at no charge while we were on our trip. The breakfast in the "Canoa" attached to the hotel was limited, but tasty.
This hotel is certainly in the centre of the action and can be a bit noisy as the week-end approaches but we felt the experience was more authentic than one of the American chain hotels with out enduring too much culture shock.
We had no problems with the taxis that the hotel staff called for us.

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — The Noise
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank D60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRioAmazonas, Gerente at Hotel Rio Amazonas Internacional, responded to this review, May 13, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments and review, we will take these into concideration for our future guests satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2007

We stayed here in Nov 2006. Hotel is nice, business class hotel. Clean efficient. Amazing breakfast in the restaurant next door and always cookies/coffee/tea in the lobby.

Rooms were clean, and fairly "American style". Tvs, large beds, bathrooms with shampoo etc. Lobby staff were helpful and took messages for us regarding our tours etc (we were going to Galapagos).

But the noise at night... You'd have to be a pretty sound sleeper. We tried two rooms, one at the back and one at the front. The back has the nightclubs from a popular party street. The front has the road noise and taxis. We actually found the front alittle bit better. This could all be fixed with better windows.

Location was good. We enjoyed walking the streets and even walked into the historic district (maybe 40 minute walk). There is an absolutely awesome little Indian restaurant a few doors down. We had the most delicious meals for about $3 and and maybe $1 more for "the big beer" Ecuadorian Pilsener. Spices are Indian style, so the vindaloo is super hot.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cat_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRioAmazonas, Gerente at Hotel Rio Amazonas Internacional, responded to this review, May 19, 2016
Thank you for your comments.

we will make sure to get everything fixed for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2007

This is a nice hotel I used for several days in Quito on part of a Galapagos trip. Hotel is clean, with nice employees in, from what I could tell, a safe part of town. Only problem I had was that 100% of the time when I use the yellow taxis parked outside the lobby I was overcharged. If you need a taxi just walk 50 feet to the corner and hail one on the street and for some reason the fare (meter on or not) will be much lower.
There are dozens of tour offices and travel agencies within a block of the hotel to help you book day trips to places like the Otavalo market, Cotopaxi volcano or to the Galapagos islands.

  • Liked — Clean comfortable rooms
  • Disliked — Taxi ripoff
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Moonpieh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRioAmazonas, Gerente at Hotel Rio Amazonas Internacional, responded to this review, May 5, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property, we guarantee our commitment in improving day in and day out our quality service and infrastructure in order to achieve the highest quality standards that this city can offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2007

We had two nights stay and the standard of room and service in the hotel was good. However, there is a night club either in or next to the hotel from which the sound of music (?) was extremely loud and went on both nights until 3.00am. I was kept awake until it stopped. For that reason alone I would not wish to stay there again.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Arnage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRioAmazonas, Gerente at Hotel Rio Amazonas Internacional, responded to this review, May 5, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property, we guarantee our commitment in improving day in and day out our quality service and infrastructure in order to achieve the highest quality standards that this city can offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2006

This is in my view THE place to stay in Quito. I was staying at the Hilton because LP guidebooks said the Hilton was in the center of everything. Well it is not. This hotel is! It is right at the foot of the street where all the cool restaurants, discos, internet cafes are located. It is only about two km from the Hilton but after dark the street connection the two becomes no mans land and you cannot walk it. At the hotel Amazonias you can walk literally across the street and you are on a crowded street full of nightlife which goes to the wee hours of the evening. I loved it because it was so convenient. However, since it is in the middle of everything it can be a bit noisy in you room at night but if you wan peace and quiet go to the Hilton where you may get more quiet. Everything in the hotel was three star. The service was good and I have absolutely no complaints about the place. I would highly recommend it. PS. It is about half the price of the Hilton too.

  • Liked — Location, location, location
  • Disliked — No complaints at all.
  • Tips/Secrets — Down the street there is a custom boot maker where for $85 you can get custom riding, cowboy boots made which would cost you $2,000 in the US.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Taniquan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRioAmazonas, Gerente at Hotel Rio Amazonas Internacional, responded to this review, May 5, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property, we guarantee our commitment in improving day in and day out our quality service and infrastructure in order to achieve the highest quality standards that this city can offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#12 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.1 mi away
NU House Boutique Hotel
NU House Boutique Hotel
#33 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sebastian
Hotel Sebastian
#38 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Hotel Alameda
Mercure Hotel Alameda
#16 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Collection Quito Royal
0.1 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rio Amazonas Internacional? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rio Amazonas Internacional

Property: Hotel Rio Amazonas Internacional
Address: Cordero 1342 & Ave. Amazonas, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rio Amazonas Internacional 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the best and most centric area of the city, The Hotel Rio Amazonas is the best option for lodging. be it that you are traveling for business of pleasure we are alwasy here to serve you. Visit our property that through constant remodeling promotes smart environmental safety practices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rio Amazonas Internacional reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Amazonas Internacional Quito
Rio Amazonas Internacional Hotel
Hotel Rio Amazonas Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing