We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ups and downs”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sheraton Quito

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Quito
Ranked #4 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
176 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Ups and downs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2009

As always when I am not completely sold on a place, I will just set out the pros and cons of staying here:
Pros
- free airport transfers with some of the rates
- great buffet breakfast which you can have instead of the club level breakfast
- clean, modern and most staff speak english well
- location close to airport (15 minutes in shuttle), very good for early morning flights
- charming bellmen and waiters
- there was always juice and tea available in the lobby which was welcome.
Cons
- manager level staff and above we found to be quite rude and abrupt. They messed up our reservation and refused to honour my club level booking despite my printed out confirmation until they actually called the SPG central centre (I booked directly with Starwoods).
- Similarly when we were using the "free internet" computers in the lobby (since the wireless would not work with our laptop for no apparent reason) we were approached by the onduty manager who took our room number and told us we were only entitled to one hours usage of the computers per day. There were five terminals and in the time we were at the hotel (3 days) we never saw anyone else use them. This made us feel unwelcome and in a hotel of this class where we were paying to stay on the club level and were only downstairs since they could not get the wireless to work, this was unnecessary and distinctly petty. There was no mention of such a policy in any of the documents.
- it is very expensive for Quito, and is far away from the best places to be at night (La Mariscal and the Old Town). Taxis are very cheap however - almost always fixed price which should be $5 to Old Town and $3 to La Mariscal.
- We ordered room service one night we were there, and the wrong food was delivered which took a few phone calls to sort out.
All the cons in isolation would not have been enough to mark down the hotel, but with all of them the lasting impression was one that the hotel did not really appreciate our custom. I would not stay again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tal27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    239
    41
    8
    5
See reviews for
97
157
45
507
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
431 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2009

This place is wonderful and the staff are the most helpful we’ve ever come across. The day we arrived we managed to leave our bag with camera (digital SLR) in a taxi- with all our photos of 15 nights in Peru- and the hotel staff couldn’t do enough for us. The head of security took us to the police station and spent 4 hours all told with us reporting it and trying to track down the taxi driver ([--]- he knew where we were staying and which restaurant he’d dropped us off at).
Anyway- we had a suite that I would have been happy to spend all our time in but Quito is such a beautiful city and we didn’t have enough time to just sit in hotel suites! The hotel is close to the airport, and not as close to the centre of town- but it’s well worth staying here and taking taxis in and back.
We loved this hotel and can’t recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KP58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
135 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2009

Great stay at the Sheraton. Nice location, clean rooms. Airport transportation is very helpful.
They could use a little help with the concierge.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2009

We toured various locations in Ecuador over three weeks and loved returning to Sheraton-Quito; it felt like total luxury! No matter how unsightly we arrived, the friendly doormen and beautiful flower arrangements were welcoming. Simply – the hotel is modern and clean, the rooms are large and well appointed, the staff is OUTSTANDING and we always felt safe.

We expected a standard hotel, but to our surprise we received much more including first-class treatment. Customer service and convenience are top priorities. Our extra luggage was stored by the hotel on three occasions with no problems. The free internet and the complementary airport shuttle were very useful. We ate dinner twice in the hotel and were pleased with the service, selection, and quality of food. A free newspaper (Spanish or English) was delivered everyday. Tea, coffee, and other beverages were always available in the lobby.

A large shopping mall is across the street. At first, this did not seem important but it gave us easy access to bank machines, a pharmacy, and a grocery store (for snacks). It was fun to go shopping and do some comparison pricing. If you don’t make it to Otavalo’s market, then the gift store in the hotel’s lobby had a great selection of souvenirs at reasonable prices.

We highly recommend the Sheraton-Quito and would definitely stay there again, if we returned.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UrsaMinor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2009

This a very comfortable hotel, the complimentary WiFI and cable Internet access are great. The rooms are very modern and comfortable, especially on the 9th and 10th floor (Club level).
The service is great, everyone on staff is very amicable and attentive to your needs.
The room service food is slightly above average, and they really need to expand their options, even though I have to say everything I ordered was perfect and on time.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank car105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2009

We spent 9 days at this hotel over a 14-day vacation - stayed in three different rooms, all pretty good. The service is excellent and the restaurants serve attractive and tasty meals. Free wireless in lobby and lower floors and free PCs off the lobby so you don't need to bring a laptop for 24-hr access. The suites have washers and dryers! Conveniently located on tram line. Minor complaints: The staff consistently left just one bottle of water and one bedtime cookie or one chocolate in a double room quite clearly occupied by two people! I mentioned it several times but for some reason, it never changed. And it seemed that EVERY night we were there, clock alarms in adjacent, unoccupied rooms would go off at midnight. This happened consistently over two weeks. The sound reveberated through the hallways on each floor. Were they set by some disgruntled employee? Very strange. Concierge didn't seem to know anything about Banos.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank autrevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
208 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2009

We stayed two nights after traveling in Ecuador for two weeks.

The hotel is very comfortable and clean with good service. The steam room on the top floor is definitely worth it after the pollution and altitude of Quito.

We would definitely recommend this place.

  • Liked — comfort
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank justravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
1.5 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
0.4 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#5 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
3.9 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#2 of 114 in Quito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
9.8 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
2.0 mi away
NH Collection Quito Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Quito

Property: Sheraton Quito
Address: Avda. Naciones Unidas Y Republica, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Quito
#2 Luxury Hotel in Quito
#12 Romantic Hotel in Quito
#17 Family Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Quito 4.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Quito Hotel Quito
Four Points Quito
Quito Sheraton
Quito Four Points

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing