We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than the average Hilton and terrific for Quito”
Review of Hilton Colon Quito

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Colon Quito
Ranked #21 of 113 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2013

A modern Hilton in a good section of Quito. The typical Hilton experience in a property that is better than your average Hilton in major North American city. Clean and up to date, very nice common areas and bars. Terrific breakfast buffet.

The 'standby upgrade' (something you might get offered via as a Hilton Honors member) to the Club Floor ($13/day) is a very good value (but not if you pay full price). You get a room with the nice city view (towards Old Town) on a high floor and access to the Club lounge (free snacks, beer and wine from 5:00 to 10:00) and a basic (but nice) breakfast. Four beers and you've broken even on that standby upgrade and the view is substantially better.

Ecuador law prohibits the sale of alcohol after 3:00 pm on Sunday. While many (most?) restaurants don't enforce this, the Hilton does. Keep this in mind as you plan your day (it also lessens the value of access to the Club Floor lounge on Sunday).

Service was very good ... efficient and very pleasant staff. We had no problem storing out luggage for a night when we checked out for an overnight trip to Mindo (we stayed at the Hilton a few days, check out, and returned for a few more days.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bud E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonColonQuito, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hilton Colon Quito, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Sir / Madam,

We would like to thank you for your kind review. This will help us to improve our service and motivate to our staff.
Please feel welcome anytime you come back to Quito.

Regards from the middle of the world!

Revenue Manager
Hilton Colon Quito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

746 - 752 of 1,434 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

We participate in the loyalty program with Hilton because we feel that we can always count on quality. The Hilton Colon in Quito was not exception. We had beautiful, very comfortable rooms. The service was exceptional. The only problem was the food, which was only so-so. We really didn't care because we were in a foreign country and we felt at home.

Room Tip: Too bad Trip advisor doesn't let you rate the food! We didn't go to the spa, so I only gave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Readprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonColonQuito, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hilton Colon Quito, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Sir / Madam,

We would like to thank you for your kind review. This will help us to improve our service and motivate to our staff.
Please feel welcome anytime you come back to Quito.

Regards from the middle of the world!

Revenue Manager
Hilton Colon Quito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

A hotel with good facilities and several restaurants serving nice food.
I felt comfortable and secure and there were always taxis waiting in front of the hotel.
This hotel was a part of a planned tour but if I would visit Quito again I would serainly choose this hotel to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dizzylizzy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonColonQuito, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hilton Colon Quito, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Sir / Madam,

We would like to thank you for your kind review. This will help us to improve our service and motivate to our staff.
Please feel welcome anytime you come back to Quito.

Regards from the middle of the world!

Revenue Manager
Hilton Colon Quito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is the place many upscale tours place their guests who are visiting the Galápagos. We were there in July '13 before and after our tour of the Islands. There were many families staying there. This trip seems popular with families. What a great learning experience for kids of all ages! The Hilton was a very nice stay, great breakfast and a restaurant with a sumptuous buffet (we ordered off the menu the second time, tho'. The fajitas are awesome!). The staff were helpful and cheerful. The location was near the craft bazaar and just a 25 min walk to the old town. Quito is an amazing city with lots to see. It warrants a visit just for its own sake.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eliza421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonColonQuito, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hilton Colon Quito, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Sir / Madam,

We would like to thank you for your kind review. This will help us to improve our service and motivate to our staff.
Please feel welcome anytime you come back to Quito.

Regards from the middle of the world!

Revenue Manager
Hilton Colon Quito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The staff at the Hilton were most accommodating, the rooms were great, and it is a great location. It is in walking distance of wonderful restaurants, tourist attractions, the local Market Place, with handmade Handicrafts, very reasonably priced. Be sure to ask the Concierge about taking picture from the Rooftop of the Hotel.....a tip is appreciated

Room Tip: Chose a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skyvixen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonColonQuito, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hilton Colon Quito, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Sir / Madam,

We would like to thank you for your kind review. This will help us to improve our service and motivate to our staff.
Please feel welcome anytime you come back to Quito.

Regards from the middle of the world!

Revenue Manager
Hilton Colon Quito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I just stayed at this hotel for 6 nights, before, in between and after 2 separate G Adventure trips. The buffet breakfast was substantial and very good. The rooms were absolutely great - the bed so incredibly comfortable. The concierge was very helpful in terms of recommendations and directions - went out of their way. My only negative would be that one very tired evening we ordered muchies in the bar which came from the on site cafe - expensive and not very good. The hotel is located in a good area across the street from a wonderful park. We would very much recommend this hotel.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Norma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonColonQuito, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hilton Colon Quito, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Sir / Madam,

We would like to thank you for your kind review. This will help us to improve our service and motivate to our staff.
Please feel welcome anytime you come back to Quito.

Regards from the middle of the world!

Revenue Manager
Hilton Colon Quito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I found this hotel among the better Hilton properties. Efficient, well managed and run, central location with very good services and facilities. It isn't the most romantic place to stay in the Ecuadorian capital, but it has its advantages including a spectacular view from the business lounge and some of the friendliest staff I've ever encountered.

Room Tip: Get high elevation floors facing the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mpk17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonColonQuito, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hilton Colon Quito, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Sir / Madam,

We would like to thank you for your kind review. This will help us to improve our service and motivate to our staff.
Please feel welcome anytime you come back to Quito.

Regards from the middle of the world!

Revenue Manager
Hilton Colon Quito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.9 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
0.8 mi away
Swissotel Quito
Swissotel Quito
#14 of 113 in Quito
1,019 reviews
2.0 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#5 of 113 in Quito
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
NH Collection Quito Royal
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Quito
Sheraton Quito
#6 of 113 in Quito
1,144 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Quito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Colon Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Colon Quito

Address: Avenida Amazonas N 19-14 | and Patria, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Quito
#10 Business Hotel in Quito
#12 Luxury Hotel in Quito
#16 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range: $139 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Colon Quito 4.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in Quito, the capital of Ecuador, the Hilton Colon is only 15 minutes away from Mariscal Sucre International Airport, and is surrounded by cultural, tourist, commercial and financial centers. Our excellent location is only minutes away from the old Colonial ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Colon Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Colon Quito Hotel Quito
Hilton Hotel Quito
Hilton Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing