We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and stylish”
Review of Hilton Colon Quito

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Colon Quito
Ranked #20 of 111 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Leighton Buzzard UK
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Modern and stylish”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Large modern hotel. Big rooms, comfortable beds, good free wi-fi, large flat screen TV, efficient staff, amazing breakfast buffet. I do not know why a previous reviewer said there was no heating as there is a control on the wall for heating and cooling. Tea/coffee maker but no fridge.

Room Tip: There is no alcohol available in Ecuador on Sunday, only with food in restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burcottbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonColonQuito, Director of Sales at Hilton Colon Quito, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Madam,

On behalf of Hilton Quito, we want to thank you for your kind message. I will make sure to pass it to our staff in order to motivate them and improve every time our service.

We were all pleased to exceed your expectations.

Kind regards,
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    503
    171
    62
    33
See reviews for
194
423
122
394
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This hotel is a most-welcome sight after travelling from the 'new' Quito airport - took us an hour and 45 minutes on the way in the first time; then and hour and 15 back; same on the way in again but only 1/2 hour by cab at 3 a.m. on way back - choose a cab (not an SUV or bus) from the hotel - cabs/cars can go throught he tunnel; saves time and only $30.
The hotel staff is etremely accommodating; polite; and helpful. Both at the desk and at the info desk - booked us a great tour of Mount Cotapxi in an SUV with an awesome English-speaking guide and only 5 people in total. The rooms are really nice; bathrooms have everything you need; beds/comforters are very soft - overall would rate the rooms high. Don't forget to check out the pool & workout room - just ask at the desk how to get there - it is not obvious! The wrok-out room is really decent - lots of machines to choose from; a change room/showers & towels/fresh water available. The outdoor rooftop pool is small but very nice & very warm.
The only downfall was the restaurant - the main dining one - the service is awful; food is so slow (we waited for 45 minutes for a salad and a tuna sandwich - and then the order was wrong); no one helps you when you walk in because they want you to choose the $23/plate buffet - which looked great but way too much food for us - we went there twice and both times - the service was awful! Room service one night was quicker!
We had a VIP package and were allowed to use the 17th floor executive suite -- highly recommend this option - we had free breakfast; alcohol; snacks (which were pretty awesome) and free wifi/computer usage - this was a great perk with a great view!
I loved the hotel - but the altitude in the city si a bit much for sea-level people - and the room gets really really dry. We drank the hotel water but it didn't quench our thirst at all.

Room Tip: tipping is not expected in Quito - but they appreciate tips. check your bill in the restaurants beca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schefferville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonColonQuito, Director Comercial at Hilton Colon Quito, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

We would like to thank you for your kind message left on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to know that you had a great experience in our hotel and the sites around it.

Your review will motivate us to improve our service.

Regards from the Middle of the world,
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Well situated facing the Park and Mariscal district....surrounded by restaurants and stores, though the hipper end a few blocks away. But about location here. The street noise can be heard from your rooms and lots of traffic all the way around.

Rooms are nice: comfy beds, coffee machine in room and good toiletries. It is the basic standard layout of chain hotels. Hallways and other rooms quite sterile but functional.

Pool and gym in the other building but you can walk to through international halls.

Lunch Buffett had a great variety, bit of everything and simply quite a lot. Good deal and good meal. But when I went on a Thursday afternoon was absolutely packed, lots of sharing of tables.

Staff was attentive and helpful.

Overall a good stay

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kareny13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonColonQuito, Director Comercial at Hilton Colon Quito, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

We would like to thank you for your kind message left on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to know that you had a good experience in our hotel and the sites around it.

Your review will motivate us to improve our service.

Regards from the Middle of the world,
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We were very surprised to find that this hotel doesn't have heat--I guess they seldom need it. Meanwhile, I ended up crawling under the covers to keep from turning entirely blue. Other than this, the hotel offers wonderful value. The room was nice, good internet access. The main desk and service area offered answers to any of our questions. They serve you a nice fruit drink on arrival and have bottled water. They did a good job on laundering our clothing. We tended to prefer the sushi joint but also liked the main restaurant--it served both ala carte dishes and from the buffet. The buffet is wonderful at both breakfast and lunch. Breakfast buffet tickets came with our room. The service in the restaurants were really good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfharper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lexington, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The Hilton Colon is an excellent oasis in Quito. The rooms are up to international standard. Hiltons Honors members are treated really well. The hotel is convenient (a 20 minute walk to the old city). Service is impeccable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonColonQuito, Director of Sales at Hilton Colon Quito, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Mr,

Thank you for your comment, we are glad to have met your expectations during your stay with us. We hope to welcome you again in your next family or business trip to Quito.
Sending our warmest regards from all the Hilton Colon's Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

I love this hotel. The rooms are big and airy and the bed is 6 feet wide so plenty of room to stretch out. The conceriage are extremely helpful and nothing seems too much trouble.
My only gripe would be the restraunt. If you go there in the evening the service is painfully slow compared to European standards.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Harbison-Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

This is a typical Hilton hotel in that the staff are all extremely helpful and courteous, the rooms are of an excellent quality, beds are large and the linen is all crisp and fresh. Breakfast included in the room rate was great, but at $140 a night, the rate was quite steep given this is in Ecuador where prices are much lower. I especially found it excessive that in order to use the wifi in the room you had to pay an extra $10 a night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AG018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonColonQuito, Director of Sales at Hilton Colon Quito, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review!
We appreciate your comment and we are glad to read that your stay with us was enjoyable meeting brand expectations. We encourage our guests to visit our lounge and public areas with free Wi-Fi service. For exclusivity and room-use privacy we do provide a Wi-Fi with a small fee; however we have noted and consider your opinion to improve our quality and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.9 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
1.6 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#2 of 111 in Quito
669 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#13 of 111 in Quito
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
2.0 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#5 of 111 in Quito
459 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Alameda
Mercure Hotel Alameda
#16 of 111 in Quito
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Colon Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Colon Quito

Property: Hilton Colon Quito
Address: Avenida Amazonas N19-14 | and Patria, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Quito
#9 Family Hotel in Quito
#10 Business Hotel in Quito
#11 Luxury Hotel in Quito
#16 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Colon Quito 4.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in Quito, the capital of Ecuador, the Hilton Colon is only 15 minutes away from Mariscal Sucre International Airport, and is surrounded by cultural, tourist, commercial and financial centers. Our excellent location is only minutes away from the old Colonial ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Colon Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Colon Quito Hotel Quito
Hilton Hotel Quito
Hilton Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing